Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Get Healthy Your Way

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    Totally Satisfying. Totally Made by You.
    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    The 16 Benefits You Won't Believe
    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    Bust Your Cravings and Button Your Jeans!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zesty Low-Fat Chicken Breasts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zesty Low-Fat Chicken Breasts

    Average Rating:

    160 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 160

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2002

      5 stars! What an excellent recipe! I cut the recipe in half and left out the chili powder as I used a hot salsa. Also didn't need to thicken the sauce as it came out just right and there was the perfect amount of it too. The cumin is great in this recipe, adds so much flavour. I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      Very good. Like Evie I used mild salsa and only one tsp of chili powder, but I could have used the full amount I could not taste it. I only used two chicken breasts so I had a little sauce left over. I thickened the sauce with potato flakes, first time I tried this and it worked great no more messing with flour or corn starch for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      This was terrific! I used tomato paste instead of ketchup, and added some minced garlic as well - other than that I followed the recipe. And it was so easy too! We had it with salsa rice, broccoli, and a sliced cucumber/sour cream salad. Highly recommend trying this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      Made this tonight and it was great. I did make one change, I used pork chops instead of chicken! They came out very flavorful. I do think next time I will use "hot" salsa instead of mild. I was afraid of too much "heat" for my taste. Next time I'll marinate the pork or chicken for several hours in the mixture. We loved the flavor and it was very quick and easy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      This was great! My 17-year old daughter even posted on Facebook that she'd just had possibly the best dinner ever. Will definitely make it again, and may try adding veges to it next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I'd make this again, but not as written. I made it as written for my first try.

      I used mild salsa, one of my favorites. I think the sweetness from the ketchup, and from the honey was too much for the dish. As another reviewer suggested, I think I'd replace ketchup with tomato paste on the next go-round.

      I'd cut back the honey atleast by half, if not more. Think I'd also dice jalapenos, onions, and garlic and mix in.

      Good recipe and will be made again, with modifications.

      Could be good sprinkled with lime juice, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Great recipe! I skipped the honey and made on the stove top. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Our family LOVED this dish! Our picky 6 year-old even ate her entire chicken breast and that rarely happens. There's a fine line between zesty and spicy and this toed it perfectly. I did add a teaspoon of chopped garlic in water and I used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard since that's what I had on hand and it turned out great. It was also quick to assemble which is a God send for me. I also agree with dale!, I did not have to do anything to the sauce. It stayed on top of the chicken breasts and kind of caramelized while it was cooking. It was so good! Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      So yummy. My roommates and I loved this. The flavor of the sauce was excellent. Not too sweet and not too spicy. I made it with medium salsa and also added just a little pinch of red pepper flakes with the other seasonings. It was the perfect weeknight dinner. Especially since it was a little out of the ordinary. I will be making this many more times I am sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      No leftovers on this dish. I did not need to use cornstarch either. What I changed was using honey which I did not have I used agave instead and it turned out just fine. I will make this dish again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      I love this recipe! A friend (fellow food.com-er) sent it to me and I've been hooked ever since! So easy and quick - can make on a weeknight after work or for a dinner party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      This was a great dish! We had this with rice and asparagus. My man doesn't care for barbecue sauce but, this had more kick than a standard barbecue chicken and he really liked this one! Thanks for a quick, easy and healthy new chicken dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      I really loved this but my husband says it's a high 3 or a low 4. Based on the other reviews I used equal parts ketchup and salsa. The salsa I had was a medium southwest style with corn and beans mixed in. Very tasty. I didn't have dijon so I used spicy brown mustard. It came out great. I served it with brown rice cooked in chicken broth and steamed string beans. I liked the consistentcy of the sauce so I didn't thicken it. The sauce was excellent on the rice! Will definitely add this into our regular rotation!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      I made this chicken this afternoon and thought the smell was wonderful while cooking. It was nice and moist and had a very unique flavor. I followed the recipe exactly as written and did use the cumin. At first I wasn't sure I liked it very much, but the more I ate, the better it got. I had more several times throughout the day and now I am sure that this is a real keeper. Thank you very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      Great flavours in this easy recipe. I used chicken thigh fillets, mild salsa, 1 tsp chili powder and didnt thicken with the cornflour. Its a definite keeper, thanks Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2014

      This is a great recipe. I don't usually change anything about it, and I've made it at least a dozen times. The sauce never needs to be thickened, it usually stays on the breast just fine. My kids eat this without any problems, and that's a big deal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      love this recipe. So tasty and easy. I use chicken thighs for extra flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      THis was super easy!!! Im not a big cumin fan and so even the small amount was too much for me. With that being said, it was a nice recipe, and will try again, this time with out the cumin, and probably added garlic, and maybe some onion powder, and possible poultry seasoning. thanks for the post

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2013

      This is an excellent recipe. It is the perfect sweet and salty blend. I have made this recipe several times; sometimes I bake it and other times I have just put it in an electric skillet. It comes out perfect every time. My whole family really enjoys this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      The sauce is tasty, but the chicken is bland. Perhaps if you season the chicken the day before, then cook with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zesty Low-Fat Chicken Breasts

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.8
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    13%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 654.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 19.1 g
    76%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes