Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zesty Low-Fat Chicken Breasts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zesty Low-Fat Chicken Breasts

    Average Rating:

    159 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 159

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2002

      5 stars! What an excellent recipe! I cut the recipe in half and left out the chili powder as I used a hot salsa. Also didn't need to thicken the sauce as it came out just right and there was the perfect amount of it too. The cumin is great in this recipe, adds so much flavour. I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      Very good. Like Evie I used mild salsa and only one tsp of chili powder, but I could have used the full amount I could not taste it. I only used two chicken breasts so I had a little sauce left over. I thickened the sauce with potato flakes, first time I tried this and it worked great no more messing with flour or corn starch for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      This was terrific! I used tomato paste instead of ketchup, and added some minced garlic as well - other than that I followed the recipe. And it was so easy too! We had it with salsa rice, broccoli, and a sliced cucumber/sour cream salad. Highly recommend trying this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      Made this tonight and it was great. I did make one change, I used pork chops instead of chicken! They came out very flavorful. I do think next time I will use "hot" salsa instead of mild. I was afraid of too much "heat" for my taste. Next time I'll marinate the pork or chicken for several hours in the mixture. We loved the flavor and it was very quick and easy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      This was great! My 17-year old daughter even posted on Facebook that she'd just had possibly the best dinner ever. Will definitely make it again, and may try adding veges to it next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I'd make this again, but not as written. I made it as written for my first try.

      I used mild salsa, one of my favorites. I think the sweetness from the ketchup, and from the honey was too much for the dish. As another reviewer suggested, I think I'd replace ketchup with tomato paste on the next go-round.

      I'd cut back the honey atleast by half, if not more. Think I'd also dice jalapenos, onions, and garlic and mix in.

      Good recipe and will be made again, with modifications.

      Could be good sprinkled with lime juice, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Great recipe! I skipped the honey and made on the stove top. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Our family LOVED this dish! Our picky 6 year-old even ate her entire chicken breast and that rarely happens. There's a fine line between zesty and spicy and this toed it perfectly. I did add a teaspoon of chopped garlic in water and I used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard since that's what I had on hand and it turned out great. It was also quick to assemble which is a God send for me. I also agree with dale!, I did not have to do anything to the sauce. It stayed on top of the chicken breasts and kind of caramelized while it was cooking. It was so good! Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      So yummy. My roommates and I loved this. The flavor of the sauce was excellent. Not too sweet and not too spicy. I made it with medium salsa and also added just a little pinch of red pepper flakes with the other seasonings. It was the perfect weeknight dinner. Especially since it was a little out of the ordinary. I will be making this many more times I am sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      I love this recipe! A friend (fellow food.com-er) sent it to me and I've been hooked ever since! So easy and quick - can make on a weeknight after work or for a dinner party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      I made this chicken this afternoon and thought the smell was wonderful while cooking. It was nice and moist and had a very unique flavor. I followed the recipe exactly as written and did use the cumin. At first I wasn't sure I liked it very much, but the more I ate, the better it got. I had more several times throughout the day and now I am sure that this is a real keeper. Thank you very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      Great flavours in this easy recipe. I used chicken thigh fillets, mild salsa, 1 tsp chili powder and didnt thicken with the cornflour. Its a definite keeper, thanks Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      love this recipe. So tasty and easy. I use chicken thighs for extra flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      THis was super easy!!! Im not a big cumin fan and so even the small amount was too much for me. With that being said, it was a nice recipe, and will try again, this time with out the cumin, and probably added garlic, and maybe some onion powder, and possible poultry seasoning. thanks for the post

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2013

      This is an excellent recipe. It is the perfect sweet and salty blend. I have made this recipe several times; sometimes I bake it and other times I have just put it in an electric skillet. It comes out perfect every time. My whole family really enjoys this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      The sauce is tasty, but the chicken is bland. Perhaps if you season the chicken the day before, then cook with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Very good! I used freshly made salsa from the grocery store and did not use ketchup. Instead of ketchup I simply added more salsa. Everything else I did as directed. This is too spicy for my 6 year old but it is great for the rest of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      Was not my favorite. It was just OK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      Absolutely yummy, and so easy and inexpensive! Made this for dinner last night and the hubby and I loved it! The only thing I changed was spicy brown mustard as I had no dijon on hand. Also, I used homemade garden fresh, medium-hot salsa that was a gift from a friend, and no-fructose ketchup to make it even more healthy. Had to cook for 30 min as the chicken breasts I had were very large, but it still came out nice and juicy and perfectly flavored. Will definitely make again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      DELICIOUS LOW FAT RECIPE! I only had regular mustard so I used that and medium salsa. No cornstarch needed, was perfect! Will make this at least once every two weeks! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zesty Low-Fat Chicken Breasts

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.8
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    13%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 654.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 19.1 g
    76%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites