160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 stars! What an excellent recipe! I cut the recipe in half and left out the chili powder as I used a hot salsa. Also didn't need to thicken the sauce as it came out just right and there was the perfect amount of it too. The cumin is great in this recipe, adds so much flavour. I will be making this again soon!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! October 25, 2002

Very good. Like Evie I used mild salsa and only one tsp of chili powder, but I could have used the full amount I could not taste it. I only used two chicken breasts so I had a little sauce left over. I thickened the sauce with potato flakes, first time I tried this and it worked great no more messing with flour or corn starch for me.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John W Wenzelburger April 22, 2004

This was terrific! I used tomato paste instead of ketchup, and added some minced garlic as well - other than that I followed the recipe. And it was so easy too! We had it with salsa rice, broccoli, and a sliced cucumber/sour cream salad. Highly recommend trying this one!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phantom2010 February 06, 2011

Made this tonight and it was great. I did make one change, I used pork chops instead of chicken! They came out very flavorful. I do think next time I will use "hot" salsa instead of mild. I was afraid of too much "heat" for my taste. Next time I'll marinate the pork or chicken for several hours in the mixture. We loved the flavor and it was very quick and easy. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka March 12, 2011

This was great! My 17-year old daughter even posted on Facebook that she'd just had possibly the best dinner ever. Will definitely make it again, and may try adding veges to it next time. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanaWama August 18, 2010

I'd make this again, but not as written. I made it as written for my first try.

I used mild salsa, one of my favorites. I think the sweetness from the ketchup, and from the honey was too much for the dish. As another reviewer suggested, I think I'd replace ketchup with tomato paste on the next go-round.

I'd cut back the honey atleast by half, if not more. Think I'd also dice jalapenos, onions, and garlic and mix in.

Good recipe and will be made again, with modifications.

Could be good sprinkled with lime juice, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen July 13, 2012

Great recipe! I skipped the honey and made on the stove top. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa September 08, 2011

Our family LOVED this dish! Our picky 6 year-old even ate her entire chicken breast and that rarely happens. There's a fine line between zesty and spicy and this toed it perfectly. I did add a teaspoon of chopped garlic in water and I used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard since that's what I had on hand and it turned out great. It was also quick to assemble which is a God send for me. I also agree with dale!, I did not have to do anything to the sauce. It stayed on top of the chicken breasts and kind of caramelized while it was cooking. It was so good! Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness May 19, 2011

So yummy. My roommates and I loved this. The flavor of the sauce was excellent. Not too sweet and not too spicy. I made it with medium salsa and also added just a little pinch of red pepper flakes with the other seasonings. It was the perfect weeknight dinner. Especially since it was a little out of the ordinary. I will be making this many more times I am sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PtldGrl March 13, 2011

No leftovers on this dish. I did not need to use cornstarch either. What I changed was using honey which I did not have I used agave instead and it turned out just fine. I will make this dish again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nilotic Deva March 09, 2011
Zesty Low-Fat Chicken Breasts