108 Reviews

Great dish! None left! Will definitely be doing this again! I've been looking for something similar to stuffed manicotti and this is pretty much it. Not as expensive.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpgoehring August 14, 2013

Very good. I did change it up quite a bit but used the main recipe as a core. I added two fresh tomatoes, two cloves of minced garlic, 1/4 chopped green olives, and spinach to the sauce and seasoned with fresh oregano and garlic salt. Added asiago cheese to the topping

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieWalraven September 28, 2011

Wow is this ever easy! I got home at 6:15, made this and was eating by 7:15. This is good, however, I can see that the spaghetti sauce that you use needs to be very flavorful. Mine was not. I did add fresh mushrooms and next time I will add alot of spices to the ground beef mixture, as I felt it was a little bland (could be due to the sauce I used). My husband asked if this was like an upside down pizza, and I agree it has that kind of flavor. I will fix this again adding more spice and vegies, maybe olives and bell pepper. But for ease this can't be beat. Thank you for posting Bamabelle.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: March 03, 2011

Excellent! This tastes great & is super easy! I had to make a few adjustments based on what we had. I used pizza dough rather than the crescent rolls & I also had to use ricotta cheese so I just added a few tablespoons of milk to get it a little thinner like sour cream. I used a jar of pizza sauce rather than the spaghetti sauce, only used a cup of the mozzarella, & added pepperoni to the filling and on top of the crust. I also spiced it up a little with some fresh basil, oregano, garlic, salt, pepper, etc. We had the leftovers tonight and we both agreed that it was even better than the first night, which we didn't think would be possible! Thank you so much for a winner on all counts!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen July 07, 2011

Thanks so much! I added more sauce as indicated in other posts and melted in about a handful of spinach. My husband NEVER eats vegetables and said he liked it! Banner day at our house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KRB October 18, 2010

Quick, easy, and good. I substituted vegetarian grounds for the beef, and it worked fine. I had to cook it about 10 extra minutes to cook the crescent rolls all the way through, but when it was done it was very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarsieQ September 08, 2008

I love that this is quick and easy and the flavor is delicious. I think what it is missing is some pasta, though! The next time I think I would mix some cooked mini-penne pasta or even macaroni. It just tasted like there should be something else with the meat mixture. The sour cream and mozzarella cheese combination tasted like ricotta cheese so this dish has a taste similar to lasagna without all the work. I had to bake mine for 25 minutes to make sure the crescent roll topping was cooked through. I initially found this recipe in the Better Home and Gardens Biggest Book of Italian Recipes. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 05, 2008

This is simple and relatively quick to make! Definitely need to season up the meat for full flavor. Another perfect use for crescent rolls! YUM.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DividedBlue_EyedSky November 19, 2012

This was a great recipe. I followed the advice of other reviewers and seasoned the ground beef with garlic powder and seasoned salt while that and the onions (I used a whole, chopped onion) were cooking. I also used a bit more sour cream to get the cheese mixture to a consistency that I could spread. After seeing the main picture for the casserole, I also added pepperonis to the top before baking. It reminded me of a really wonderful pizza sloppy joe. It got great reviews across the board from our family. The only thing that was misleading was that this was described as "zesty" and I found nothing in the ingredients to create that zestiness. I wound up adding somewhere between 1/4 and 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes and it turned out great. Thanks for posting! It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness June 27, 2012

Very good recipe. I made this and we really liked it. Its a good base recipe and anything can be added with it. Thank you for sharing with great recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 20, 2012
Zesty Italian Crescent Casserole