19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed the recipe using all ingredients. And then I got this stupid idea of using a lot more oil. Well the chicken didn't get crispy although all the spices pretty well stayed on the chicken they were greasy and soggy. Because of the way I fried it it did not taste that great so I can not rate this recipe my fault, I know. Not sure if I'll try to make it again. So sorry Saturn but I just want people to know when it says fry in a little oil, do it, there's a reason.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 13, 2011

Fantastic recipe. So flavorful and easy! I did have to double the spices to sufficiently cover 2 large chicken breasts (approx. 9 oz. each). NOTE: If increasing spices, DON'T double the salt as it will make it too salty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bolistoli June 19, 2012

This is a great combination! I combined all the spices (minus the salt), rubbed it on the chicken, and grilled it on the George Foreman. Very good! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 February 10, 2010

Wonderful!! I double the recipe for three pounds of chicken tenders but no all spice and kept the salt at one recipe's worth. If you have an empty shaker, put all the spices in it and mix them up. Makes for everything nice and even. Also, left out the oil and used olive oil cooking spray and a non-stick spray. Tastes great!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Francine88 December 02, 2013

Here's an instance when I wish I had followed the original recipe rather than reviewers' suggestions. I doubled the spices as so many cooks recommended--and wish I hadn't. We thought the spices overwhelmed the chicken. It's a great combination, but next time I will stick to Saturn's original spice amounts. The allspice was a pleasant surprise and gave wonderful flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers February 03, 2010

My mouth is still dancing for joy! I used 1/2 tsp of chili powder, 1/2 tsp of Mrs. Dash's Chipotle seasoning & 1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash's lemon pepper and normal cumin & garlic. I used olive oil as it is healthier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abba Gimel January 16, 2010

I have this cookbook too! It's fantastic, as is this recipe. It has a bit of a kick to it, but isn't something I'd describe as spicy. The chicken is so juicy and tender it takes barely any effort to cut through it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 April 25, 2009

I made this tonight and used tenderloins instead of breast. I tripled the spices to get the additional coverage. We liked it but I think I'd add a little less chilli if making for bf again, he is not as much of a chilli fan. So quick and easy to make. I think next time I may try adding the spices to some cream and cooking in a cream sauce?? Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Princess April 04, 2009

I left out the optional allspice. I doubled the spice amounts to get a nice coating on the chicken. I didn't measure the oil in the pan so I probably cooked it in more oil than the recipe called for. Very good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon March 18, 2009

I liked it the first time I made it, but the second time I doubled (maybe even tripled the amount of spices) and it was great. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulinka March 16, 2009
Zesty Chicken Sauté