33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DH is a meat and potato kinda guy... but he loved this! I used it over chicken breast and cheese tortellini with sun-dried tomato french bread. Fanstastic - thanks for posting! Update 12/07: I love the 'skinny' version of this Pesto Sauce: I use a high quality white wine, double the amount called for and toss in some lemon juice in place of the full zest - then reduce the olive oil by about half. I also use reduced fat parmesan cheese. Fantastic! I've also noticed that (oddly enough) I preferthe cashews over pine nuts in this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 December 06, 2007

I enjoyed this pesto, especially the addition of fresh spinach to it, which I've never done. The only issue I had was that I found three garlic cloves to be WAY too strong for me, and I love garlic. Obviously, its "zesto" pesto, so I should have anticipated that, but I found that I had to cut the overly intense garlic with some more nuts and oil. I do have to say that the flavor mellowed after two days in the fridge. As far as pesto recipes go, this one is a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MikesWife115 October 18, 2007

This pesto tastes light and is so refreshing! I used a little less olive oil (just added the oil until it came to the right consistency.) I served it with linguine and the family actually favored this dish more after the pasta had cooled, kind of like a pasta salad. Next time, I'll serve the pesto & pasta as a side dish instead of a main meal because I think chicken, fish or steak would go great with this. I'll also try adding this pesto to crostinis and maybe top them with a little feta. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elli2cook May 02, 2007

I had this pesto served raw over zucchini noodles, yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn K. October 05, 2013

Love this! I had a stash in the freezer and just pulled the last of it out. Can't wait to make some more! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon April 11, 2011

My DH loved this and he is the pickiest eater I know so thank you for the recipe! I love the use of spinach in this. The only thing I would change about this recipe is to add the juice from the lemon. Once I did, it tasted much better. I felt it needed the extra "zing". I also substituted pumpkin seeds for the pine nuts (they are waaay too expensive) and it turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC February 16, 2010

What a great idea to add spinach to the good ol' pesto. It added a wonderful flavor and a few more nutrients. I used it to make whole wheat penne and Mozzarella-Stuffed Pesto Turkey Meatballs. Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp February 04, 2010

Absolutely delicious! I can see why this won the contest. I decreased the amount of oil and salt. The spinach, wine and cashews blend into the final flavor, so that shouldn't scare anyone off. It went very well with a lemon pepper pappardelle. Thanks for your creation, Evelyn, it was very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito August 23, 2009

This is a wonderful Pesto recipe. I am not normally a big spinach fan...but oh this is soooo good! No wonder it won a RSC contest!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ July 16, 2009

Okay, let me confess that I was previously not the biggest Pesto fan. I thought it was okay. But no more...this is a great Pesto recipe! For my batch, I used several types of basil from our fall garden explosion, giving the end product a pretty green and purple dotted color. Spinach makes this pesto a bit less intense than some others, but seems to make the basil taste and smell even fresher. Cashews bump up the nutty flavor and texture, and I now like them more than pine nuts. I did make some minor changes. I added 1/4 cup of green olives, because I had a feeling that another layer of salty/sweet would work, and it did. I was out of white wine (argh!), so I substituted Sanpellegrino Limonata (Italian Lemon Soda). Next time I will make sure there is wine in the house before I start, but the Limonata did not hurt it a bit. In fact, it is probably a good non-alcoholic option. But wow, double the recipe if you want enough Pesto to make it to the pasta. Wandering spoons may cause it to mysteriously disappear. (FYI: a double recipe stuffs a Cuisinart to the brim.) By the way, Basil is very good for you. It's a great source of vitamin K, flavonoids, has anti-inflammatory properties, as well as being a natural anti-bacterial herb that can help make uncooked food (such as garden greens) safer to eat. 5+ stars. Thank you, evelyn/athens

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemon-yellow December 05, 2008
Zesto Pesto