Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zesto Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zesto Pesto

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2007

      DH is a meat and potato kinda guy... but he loved this! I used it over chicken breast and cheese tortellini with sun-dried tomato french bread. Fanstastic - thanks for posting! Update 12/07: I love the 'skinny' version of this Pesto Sauce: I use a high quality white wine, double the amount called for and toss in some lemon juice in place of the full zest - then reduce the olive oil by about half. I also use reduced fat parmesan cheese. Fantastic! I've also noticed that (oddly enough) I preferthe cashews over pine nuts in this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      I enjoyed this pesto, especially the addition of fresh spinach to it, which I've never done. The only issue I had was that I found three garlic cloves to be WAY too strong for me, and I love garlic. Obviously, its "zesto" pesto, so I should have anticipated that, but I found that I had to cut the overly intense garlic with some more nuts and oil. I do have to say that the flavor mellowed after two days in the fridge. As far as pesto recipes go, this one is a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This pesto tastes light and is so refreshing! I used a little less olive oil (just added the oil until it came to the right consistency.) I served it with linguine and the family actually favored this dish more after the pasta had cooled, kind of like a pasta salad. Next time, I'll serve the pesto & pasta as a side dish instead of a main meal because I think chicken, fish or steak would go great with this. I'll also try adding this pesto to crostinis and maybe top them with a little feta. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      I had this pesto served raw over zucchini noodles, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Love this! I had a stash in the freezer and just pulled the last of it out. Can't wait to make some more! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      My DH loved this and he is the pickiest eater I know so thank you for the recipe! I love the use of spinach in this. The only thing I would change about this recipe is to add the juice from the lemon. Once I did, it tasted much better. I felt it needed the extra "zing". I also substituted pumpkin seeds for the pine nuts (they are waaay too expensive) and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      What a great idea to add spinach to the good ol' pesto. It added a wonderful flavor and a few more nutrients. I used it to make whole wheat penne and Mozzarella-Stuffed Pesto Turkey Meatballs. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! I can see why this won the contest. I decreased the amount of oil and salt. The spinach, wine and cashews blend into the final flavor, so that shouldn't scare anyone off. It went very well with a lemon pepper pappardelle. Thanks for your creation, Evelyn, it was very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      This is a wonderful Pesto recipe. I am not normally a big spinach fan...but oh this is soooo good! No wonder it won a RSC contest!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Okay, let me confess that I was previously not the biggest Pesto fan. I thought it was okay. But no more...this is a great Pesto recipe! For my batch, I used several types of basil from our fall garden explosion, giving the end product a pretty green and purple dotted color. Spinach makes this pesto a bit less intense than some others, but seems to make the basil taste and smell even fresher. Cashews bump up the nutty flavor and texture, and I now like them more than pine nuts. I did make some minor changes. I added 1/4 cup of green olives, because I had a feeling that another layer of salty/sweet would work, and it did. I was out of white wine (argh!), so I substituted Sanpellegrino Limonata (Italian Lemon Soda). Next time I will make sure there is wine in the house before I start, but the Limonata did not hurt it a bit. In fact, it is probably a good non-alcoholic option. But wow, double the recipe if you want enough Pesto to make it to the pasta. Wandering spoons may cause it to mysteriously disappear. (FYI: a double recipe stuffs a Cuisinart to the brim.) By the way, Basil is very good for you. It's a great source of vitamin K, flavonoids, has anti-inflammatory properties, as well as being a natural anti-bacterial herb that can help make uncooked food (such as garden greens) safer to eat. 5+ stars. Thank you, evelyn/athens

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This is delicious. I served it over Sea Scallops. It was a huge hit. Thanks for The Recipie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      This was a really delicious tweaking of a classic, thanks for the interesting recipe Evelyn, this is so good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      It was the first time that I made pesto. I always bought a jar from the market and I often enjoyed in the restaurants. But now I admire myself and Evelyn. It was perfect and so easy to make. I used pine nuts and reduced the olive oil. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      I just realized that I've never reviewed this though it was a repeat recipe for me over the summer when I had fresh basil at hand. This is truly a special pesto. I got cashews to make it, as these were more of a pesto novelty for me and, believe me, the result was sinfully delicious. I'm sure it will be on my table again many, many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      Oh wow, this is so fabulous! I haven't even put it on pasta yet and I'm licking the bowl. This is the best pesto I've ever made and I've made quite a few recipes. Thanks, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      good, and makes a good amount

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      Absolutely wonderful pesto!! I followed the rules except used Mauna Loa roasted macadamia baking pieces (from Trader Joe) rather than cashews. The snails always eat my garden basil, so Trader Joe to the rescue. They carry a big clamshell box for $1.89 this time of year. A salad spinner comes in handy to completely dry the baby spinach and basil. The Cuisinart and microplane zester make quick work of the final preparation, so I used all my favorite kitchen toys!! The addition of a bit of wine and lemon zest have to be the secrets to a marvelous mixture with a greener than grass color. We now discard all other pesto recipes. This one wins my Blue Ribbon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      This was my first attempt at homemade pesto and it turned out to be amazing. I made the pine nut version and I will definitely be making this over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      I had to see this: Evelyn's winning recipe, 2004. And I printed it immediately. I only have to read a recipe to know what it will be like, and this is excellent. Can't wait to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      This was excellent. I served it one night as an appetizer on toasted baguette and the next evening I put it on pasta. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zesto Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 846.6
     
    Calories from Fat 364
    43%
    Total Fat 40.5 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 11.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 607.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.5 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes