44 Reviews

I needed to make a large pot of vegetable soup to kick start my return to Weight Watchers, and this recipe is perfect! It was great as posted, but I plan to try the variations to keep from getting bored. Unlike other reviews, I did not find any ingredient overpowered...a wonderful combination.
Made for the Sharon 123 Cookathon

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo November 04, 2010

I made the original recipe! Delicious! I plan on trying the variations in the future. The only change I'd make is to reduce the onions a bit...they were a little strong for me, but it was probably my onion. I agree...this makes way more than 4 servings, but I can freeze it for future lunches. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 16, 2010

What's not to like?!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iknitok May 02, 2010

I used Chef Kate's roasted vegetable stock. This was delicious soup. My one change was to saute the onions and celery in a tablespoon of oil briefly, no zero fat but close. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully December 16, 2009

I love the versatility of this delicious soup. It turned into a 'clean out the fridge and freezer' soup. I used chicken flavoured broth, frozen oriental mix veggies, spinach and red pepper. I didn't have any dill so left that out. I love the bit of bite that the vinegar adds. Made for 'and the Secret Ingredient is' tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario April 22, 2009

Another soup we soup lovers enjoyed! Being a Moosewood recipe I had no doubt that it would be one that would be a winner at our house. Great to have the options - this time around used cauliflower, cabbage and a mix of red and green peppers - and happy I had thought to pick up some fresh dill. Thank you - delicious! Made for Auz/NZ Swap.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry April 21, 2009

the vinegar really makes this. thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne April 12, 2009

Wonderful, hearty-healthy soup filled with all the good stuff :) ~great instruction/suggestions and extra option ideas...sure to be a mainstay now in my recipe rotation...like other reviewers; I knew we would like it {{we LOVE our cabbage here :) }} -so I doubled and then some it...improvising a bit here and there to accommodate what was at hand and to handle favorites more heavily...ended up using ,lemon and Braggs and mixing some stewed and crushed tomatoes in with the diced {{cleaned out the pantry some :) }}- I can pretty much live off stuff like this...this is my kind of cooking :) Thanks Sharon :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free March 14, 2009

Yeah! I love healthy, no-guilt soups, especially when they taste this great! Thanks for another wonderful recipe Sharon! Made for "Eat your veggies" Asian tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam December 22, 2008

For sure 5 star - This is my kind of soup, Healthy, loaded with flavor and very low cal. When it was cooking the aroma was Mmmmm. This will be a regular lunch soup. It really is 6 servings unless this is your whole dinner meal Thanks Sharon for another super recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 19, 2008
Zero Fat Soup