43 Reviews

Great soup! I used green beans, spinach, and red bell pepper for the optional ingredients. I lowered the sodium a bit by using low-sodium chicken broth, no salt added tomatoes, and omitting the salt. I used the original version this time, but look forward to trying out the others. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews April 10, 2011

I needed to make a large pot of vegetable soup to kick start my return to Weight Watchers, and this recipe is perfect! It was great as posted, but I plan to try the variations to keep from getting bored. Unlike other reviews, I did not find any ingredient overpowered...a wonderful combination.
Made for the Sharon 123 Cookathon

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo November 04, 2010

I know that cabbage is really good for you especially when trying to lose weight, but I felt they overpowered everything else; all I could taste was the cabbage which was a shame considering all the other goodies in the soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini November 02, 2010

This soup is so healthy and taste great. I used reduced-fat, reduced-sodium chicken broth. I used eggplant instead of the green beans. The seasonings are perfect. Thanks Sharon :) Made for your cookathon

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 18, 2010

I made the original recipe! Delicious! I plan on trying the variations in the future. The only change I'd make is to reduce the onions a bit...they were a little strong for me, but it was probably my onion. I agree...this makes way more than 4 servings, but I can freeze it for future lunches. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 16, 2010

I was able to use some garden fresh veggies in this healthful, very tasty soup. Can easily be adapted to use whatever vegetables are in season. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' June 04, 2010

What's not to like?!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iknitok May 02, 2010

I used Chef Kate's roasted vegetable stock. This was delicious soup. My one change was to saute the onions and celery in a tablespoon of oil briefly, no zero fat but close. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully December 16, 2009

This was a very good soup, but in my opinion the tomatoes overpowered everything else. Next time I will use only a small can (14.5 oz.). Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp October 18, 2009

WOW -- what a great recipe to make us all invent another recipe from! Pretty much stuck to the basic this first time -- used zuchinni, green bell pepper -- only had beef broth and that worked fine. At the last minute, put some cold chicken breast (leftover from another meal) on the table -- we shredded that right into the soup and sprinkled some parmesan on top. I'm looking forward to having this often when there are leftover veggies again. Also like the way it comes together -- can be working on cutting the next veggie to add to the pot while the pot is doing the work!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook August 08, 2009
Zero Fat Soup