8 Reviews

This is a really "snappy" hot salsa. Great flavor and easy to put together. I used pickled jalapeno's and canned diced tomatoes. It's great on fried spuds and want to use it on breakfast burritos. So glad you're sharing Jewish recipes, Mirjam. I love the cuisine even though I can't cook Kosher. Homemade Challa and Bagels are to die for! Thanks so much. Laudee C.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee September 24, 2002

Great salsa - I used some pickled jalapenos I had in the fridge and it turned out really good. My family usually likes milder salsa but had nothing but compliments about this one.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim Hartsell November 24, 2002

This is a nice salsa. It is tasty and easy to prepare. I followed all ingredients and instructions as listed. I served it as the salsa topping for Spicy Ground Chicken. Next time I would probably make it hotter and I felt it was missing something. Maybe onions? I added more salt. I like the other reviewer's suggestion of roasting the garlic. All in all, we enjoyed the salsa and thought it was good. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 09, 2008

I made this for my husband because he loves spicy-hot stuff. I put in 3 big jalapenos with their seeds! He totally loved it and had to create a special dish to eat it with. Scrambled eggs wrapped in a tortilla with cheese and zchug, topped with sour cream and black pepper. He *raved* about this and ate about half the batch! I'll definitely be making this again. I hope I can find out how to pronounce this correctly, although "Z-Chug" is kind of fun. Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 May 30, 2008

This is the best salsa I have eaten and it is so easy to make. Use more jalapeno chiles for a truely Hot salsa. We also used minced roasted garlic to give it a smokey flavor. This is a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brad March 04, 2007

Oh, did the chile fans love this! They nearly gobbled it all up in a short period of time. I had a 1.25 lbs tomatoes so used 3 jalapeno peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky January 02, 2006

This is very very good! I did the garlic and chilies by hand on a cutting board with some coarse cooking salt; no processor is why. I also used the vinegared hot peppers that we use here in Morocco at 1 and 1/2 pepper as they are HOT! This is wonderful on soft scrambled eggs with pan toasted Moroccan flat bread for a late supper!! Fabulous, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hajar Elizabeth October 23, 2005

Definitely spicy and good! The only thing I would add is some onion blended up with the peppers. Very nice! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) October 22, 2005
Zchug - Yemenite Hot Salsa