Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zarela's Famous Creamy Rice Casserole from Aaron Sanchez Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zarela's Famous Creamy Rice Casserole from Aaron Sanchez

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2011

      I liked this a lot- I'm soooo full right now!! Added a can of chickpeas and served it for meatless Monday. Also used 2 cans of diced roasted green chilies instead of doing the hard work myself. I didn't use all the rice, just as much as the wet ingredients would allow and still ended up with a ton. This will be a great potluck go-to. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      Delish!!! Will be making this again, and again. Family loved it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      oh, this was sooooooooo good. I made a couple changes...I followed the previous reviewers advice and added the can of cream of chicken soup. I also used 2 cans of chopped mild chiles in place of the poblanos, and served with a little salsa. Fantastic! I could have licked the plate clean! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      I thought this was delicious! I added a can of cream of chicken soup because it definitely looked like there wasnt enough sour cream mixture and I didnt have any extra on hand. Definitely will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This was delicious! I will definitely be making this again even though I thought roasting the poblano peppers and peeling them was a bit of a pain but well worth it. My kids loved it too. My somewhat picky 4 yr old told me he wanted to eat it every day! I made it exactly as stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      For the dryness try: 2 c. sour cream 1/2 cup onion finely chopped 1 small garlic clove finely minced 1/4 c. cilantro finely chopped salt to taste Combine all ingredients and let stand for 5 minutes to blend flavors

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I, too, saw this on the Food Network, and couldn't wait to make this dish. It was as great as Aaron had described, truly one of the most flavourful, richest dishes I've ever had, up there with fresh morels sauteed with onion, garlic, salt, pepper, butter and cream. The only thing I'd change (although this dish is perfect for my taste) is the addition of the 1/4 cup of onions that are added to the sour cream. As they go into the baking dish raw, they do not cook completely, and some people I'd normally serve this to aren't too fond of raw, crunchy onions. But, for my taste, the dish is truly perfect as-is. This crunch of raw onions was actually a highlight to my taste buds. Wow! Thanks, Aaron's Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      I felt like it needed a little more of the sour cream mix. The taste was very good, but a little dry. I made 1/2 recipe. Will try it again tweaking the moisture a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I love Aaron Sanchez...this is an amazing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zarela's Famous Creamy Rice Casserole from Aaron Sanchez

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 900.2
     
    Calories from Fat 379
    42%
    Total Fat 42.1 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 23.4 g
    117%
    Cholesterol 103.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1600.2 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 106.2 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites