Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zankou Chicken's Lebanese Garlic Sauce (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zankou Chicken's Lebanese Garlic Sauce (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2010

      Extreme garlicness (as you say) and extreme deliciousness! We just loved this, and want to figure out how else to serve it. I halved the salt and oil (so it was thicker, but that was OK with us) and used a really good olive oil, which I think made a huge difference. Served 5 for us, since we couldn't get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      GREAT! I have never been to a Zankou Chicken restaurant even though I am from SoCal. I will have to check one out to see how this version of the sauce compares to the original. That said, the sauce I made following this recipe is REALLY OUTSTANDING, and I am going to bake a chicken tomorrow so I can try it that way. I think I used less potatoes, but the consistency is a lot like home made mayonnaise, which is exactly the way I wanted it. It emulsified perfectly. Thanks for sharing such a great "copycat" recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      This is as good as any I have had in a restaurant, absolutely divine! Just have to be careful how much potato is added otherwise it becomes garlic mashed potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This is an incredible recipe. Easy!!!!! We have gone to Zankou and Sevan Chicken and love their chicken. Basically, we go there for their garlic sauce. Now I can make it myself which is the best. Sandi did a great job describing how to make the sauce and it went exactly how she said. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      A great alternative to the traditional method (which does not use potato and has you stirring away for an hour). I found this tasted almost as good as traditional garlic sauce and is far easier to make but unfortunately with the potato it does not keep for more than a few days before it turns. It was throroughly enjoyed by my family! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Insanely good!!! Oh my goodness--my entire family loved it!!! And my food processor didn't complain one bit. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Sooo good. I have never been to Zankou but I know Grand Chicken in Pasadena is similar and they have garlic spread there that I am addicted to! This recipe is 4 stars as is - I thought the lemon sort of over powered the garlic too much so I added probably about a half to a full head of garlic MORE. I know that sounds crazy but it seriously made the sauce taste exactly like the one at Grand. The texture is a bit different but that doesn't matter to me. Definitely watch the amount of potato you add - use just enough to thicken and make sure you taste it before you put more in! You don't want too much potato flavor. THANK YOU for you posting this.. for real.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      Delicious! Just like my taita's recipe! Whipped up nice and thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

    • on January 15, 2014

      When I made this it was definitely as good as Zankou. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Great sauce and very similar to Zankou and other Lebanese places. It's milder than the version we like but just like Zankou's own version, so next time I make it, I'm going to increase the garlic and lemon juice. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Well...I've made this twice and it turned out terrible both times. The first time it may have been because I used red potatoes...it turned out gluey and off tasting. The second time I used russet potatoes and blended them in at the end with my immersion blender so they wouldn't get that gluey texture and I ended up with garlic mashed potatoes...maybe my potatoes were too large? I think an amount of mashed potato would make it easier. I LOVE Zankou and go there every time I'm near one of their locations and this didn't even resemble their garlic sauce to me. Oh well...I'll just have to stick to the non-potato sauces at home like Thoom - Arabic Garlic Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Excellent! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is the real deal. Make some, you won't regret it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Wow! This recipe is simply incredible! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Oh man this recipe is amazing! just like this Lebanese restaurant I use to eat at in AZ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zankou Chicken's Lebanese Garlic Sauce (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.3
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    67%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 352.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites