9 Reviews

My, this smells good! And tastes good, too. Through some quirk of the Japanese marketing system, I found a package of Za'atar in my local supermarket. Then, I found some perfect small tomatoes. What I wasn't able to find was feta cheese, so this review is for the salad without cheese. Actually, although I did think of adding other things, I left it as just tomatoes. It is delicious. Thank you very much for sharing this lovely recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao July 03, 2012

Perfection! And just what the doctor ordered, a nice, cooling, tomato salad, on a hot summer day! I just ate this for my whole dinner it was so good. I had some white balsamic vinegar, and it was so tasty, I could of slurped up the dressing on it's own. I made my own Za'tar mix, so this really turned out great. Made for ZWT Zee Zesties!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 13, 2010

This was great. DH isn't a fan of raw tomatoes or feta but he really enjoyed this. Made for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 13, 2010

Very tasty and refreshing. I will try this with cider vinegar next time, since the balsamico made it a bit murky after marinating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare April 05, 2010

Yummy, yummy, yummy! Made it to go along with out bbq and turned out great! I substituted a different kind of cheese for the feta, since I was sent fresh cheese from Palestine (hehe) and the salad turned out great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pali's Favorites September 21, 2008

I had this for lunch and really enjoyed the flavors! I used homemade zaatar, and red and yellow tomatoes. Thanks! Made for Rqmadan Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 14, 2008

This was an excellent salad. I added cucumber & thinly sliced onions to the tomatoes. DH is enjoying a second helping as I write this. Made for Ramadan Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh September 10, 2008

This was delicious & so easy! I used 3 large tomatoes straight from the farmstand. I also like how you can re-use the dressing - assuming dd doesn't DRINK it, lol. Made for Ramadan tag, 9/08.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo September 09, 2008

Made & reviewed for NA*ME Ramadan Tag. This really is a delicious salad & is so simple to make. I love how you can re-use the dressing too ;) I used 4 medium sized vine ripened tomatoes for this........Thanks Jamilah for a fab salad recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia September 08, 2008
Za'atar Marinated Tomato Salad