Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Za'atar Bread Rolls (Manaiesh Bi Za'atar) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Za'atar Bread Rolls (Manaiesh Bi Za'atar)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2012

      This bread is fantastic! I used the manual method and the directions were easy to follow and produced wonderful results. The bread came out soft and light and we just loved the za'atar topping. Thanks for sharing a keeper! Made for the Best of 2011 event, recommended by awalde

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      I made this yesterday using the machine to do the mixing and kneading. We had friends for dinner and she had said that she would like to try something simple to see if she liked Middle East flavors. She loved this bread and is ready to try something "more daring". Thanks CG, I now have a budding convert to the fabulous flavors of NA/ME cuisine. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      I love it! The rolls are delightfully light and tender, and the za'atar is a good accompaniment. I used 2 tablespoons honey instead of sugar, out of personal preference. I needed about 3 tablespoons extra flour, maybe because of the honey. The recipe yielded 6 rolls of about 145 grams each. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us. While I like the za'atar, I'm also thinking of different toppings for these excellent rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This bread was so incredibly quick and easy to make, and the texture is wonderful! I almost removed one star because I ended up needing to use almost a full cup of flour more than what the recipe called for, but I figured that it depends on the flour used and other factors. The texture of this bread is very soft, and the dough is excellent! I may consider adding more za'atar to the outside next time, or maybe even add za'atar to the dough itself, since I love it that much! Made for January NA*ME Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      A friend of mine served something like this several months ago and I wanted to make something to go with a soup tonight. This recipe was perfect! I would love to make it in whole spelt flour sometime when my white-flour-loving kids aren't around.

      The rolls came out light and yummy. I have commercial za'atar with sesame seeds, and good fresh olive oil. I used the amounts in the recipe and was delighted. Each roll was lightly coated in delicious za'atar. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Yummy, tasty and irresistible bread rolls!
      We love them with the delicious topping of Za'atar #65710. Could not have been better!
      It was very easy to prepare using the knead machine. I placed the roll on the foil, flattened, added little oil and topped with Za'tar. Lovely! I can imagine this as mini rolls as appetizer as well!
      I served this to soak the juice ot my Turkish Lamb and Quince Stew! Done for NA*ME Cookgame!
      Thanks a lot for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      Good rolls! Though as much as I love za'atar, 2 tablespoons were more than adequate (I used homemade--Evelyn's recipe). Next time, I'd like to try baking them on a stone and mixing in a bit of whole grain flour -- maybe substituting honey for the sugar. I made mine in the stand mixer and finished the kneading by hand

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      These came out very light and fluffy. I am not usually successful at bread making, but I think these came out great! I used a bread machine, and like another reviewer, felt the dough was very wet, so added an additional 1/2 cup flour. It was still extremely soft. I let it rise in the bread machine after the dough cycle ended because it was still extremely wet and I didn't want to handle it. I used a wooden board with a ton of flour and it was still an ooey, gooey mess to work with, but I did manage to get torpedo shapes and put them on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. I mistakenly put the oil and za atar on before the final rising, but they turned out fine. Made for ZWT #6 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe. The rolls turned out perfectly light. I used my own za'atar recipe and was very pleased with the result. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I bought za'atar spice mix in a mahgrebien store (they are fresh). I was glad to see this recipe. I used 2 tablespoon. Me and DH loved these bread rolls. The taste of the za'atar is great. My son liked it a bit less. I made it in my bread machine. It seemed like it needed more flour so I added almost 1/2 cup but a little bit at a time. The bread rolls are tender and taste very good. Thanks Cookgirl :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      These are awesome rolls. Lite, airy and with a nice texture. Easy to make with a short rising time that makes them go together fast for when you're in a hurry. I used Za'atar that I'd brought bake from Egypt so did not make my own and did add 1 teaspoon of course salt to the topping and used my Kitchen Aid as I've no bread machine. This make wonderful sandwich rolls. Made for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Everyone loved these rolls so I'm sure I'll be making them again! They are so light and airy and with the zaatar on top...just great! Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT6 Queens of Quisine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      These are so light and fluffy with just a hint of the Za'atar in each bite. Super easy to make! I proofed the yeast and then put everything in the bread machine and let it run the whole dough cycle. Perfection! My fingerprint dents did not stay but not a big deal. These are fabulous plain or for sandwiches! Great recipe Cookgirl! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Za'atar Bread Rolls (Manaiesh Bi Za'atar)

    Serving Size: 1 (791 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 399.2
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    38%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 790.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    za'atar spice mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes