14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This bread is fantastic! I used the manual method and the directions were easy to follow and produced wonderful results. The bread came out soft and light and we just loved the za'atar topping. Thanks for sharing a keeper! Made for the Best of 2011 event, recommended by awalde

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 01, 2012

I made this yesterday using the machine to do the mixing and kneading. We had friends for dinner and she had said that she would like to try something simple to see if she liked Middle East flavors. She loved this bread and is ready to try something "more daring". Thanks CG, I now have a budding convert to the fabulous flavors of NA/ME cuisine. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 30, 2014

I love it! The rolls are delightfully light and tender, and the za'atar is a good accompaniment. I used 2 tablespoons honey instead of sugar, out of personal preference. I needed about 3 tablespoons extra flour, maybe because of the honey. The recipe yielded 6 rolls of about 145 grams each. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us. While I like the za'atar, I'm also thinking of different toppings for these excellent rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao January 18, 2014

This bread was so incredibly quick and easy to make, and the texture is wonderful! I almost removed one star because I ended up needing to use almost a full cup of flour more than what the recipe called for, but I figured that it depends on the flour used and other factors. The texture of this bread is very soft, and the dough is excellent! I may consider adding more za'atar to the outside next time, or maybe even add za'atar to the dough itself, since I love it that much! Made for January NA*ME Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sephardi Kitchen January 31, 2012

A friend of mine served something like this several months ago and I wanted to make something to go with a soup tonight. This recipe was perfect! I would love to make it in whole spelt flour sometime when my white-flour-loving kids aren't around.

The rolls came out light and yummy. I have commercial za'atar with sesame seeds, and good fresh olive oil. I used the amounts in the recipe and was delighted. Each roll was lightly coated in delicious za'atar. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basya January 22, 2012

Yummy, tasty and irresistible bread rolls!
We love them with the delicious topping of Za'atar #65710. Could not have been better!
It was very easy to prepare using the knead machine. I placed the roll on the foil, flattened, added little oil and topped with Za'tar. Lovely! I can imagine this as mini rolls as appetizer as well!
I served this to soak the juice ot my Turkish Lamb and Quince Stew! Done for NA*ME Cookgame!
Thanks a lot for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde September 24, 2011

Good rolls! Though as much as I love za'atar, 2 tablespoons were more than adequate (I used homemade--Evelyn's recipe). Next time, I'd like to try baking them on a stone and mixing in a bit of whole grain flour -- maybe substituting honey for the sugar. I made mine in the stand mixer and finished the kneading by hand

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate March 31, 2011

These came out very light and fluffy. I am not usually successful at bread making, but I think these came out great! I used a bread machine, and like another reviewer, felt the dough was very wet, so added an additional 1/2 cup flour. It was still extremely soft. I let it rise in the bread machine after the dough cycle ended because it was still extremely wet and I didn't want to handle it. I used a wooden board with a ton of flour and it was still an ooey, gooey mess to work with, but I did manage to get torpedo shapes and put them on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. I mistakenly put the oil and za atar on before the final rising, but they turned out fine. Made for ZWT #6 Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens June 22, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe. The rolls turned out perfectly light. I used my own za'atar recipe and was very pleased with the result. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover June 18, 2010

I bought za'atar spice mix in a mahgrebien store (they are fresh). I was glad to see this recipe. I used 2 tablespoon. Me and DH loved these bread rolls. The taste of the za'atar is great. My son liked it a bit less. I made it in my bread machine. It seemed like it needed more flour so I added almost 1/2 cup but a little bit at a time. The bread rolls are tender and taste very good. Thanks Cookgirl :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 12, 2010
Za'atar Bread Rolls (Manaiesh Bi Za'atar)