Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Za'atar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Za'atar

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2010

      Wonderful!! I also used the savory. So far tried in Cucumber Yogurt Za'atar Salad (How I Like It ). I would make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I love zaatar! growing up my mom would open a container of Pillsbury biscuit's spread on the EVOO and Za'atar and bake and yum yum yum! The smell was all over the house and it was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Lord knows I can use some mind clearing! Whatever the metaphysical effects, this is worth making for the flavor. Terrific on pitas or warm bread. Thanks, Ev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      evelyn/athens, I prepared a half-batch of your zaatar mix so I'd have it to use in chia's vegetable tagine. This is such a lovely blend of spices...adds a lot of depth. I used savory rather than thyme, and was pleased as punch to have a great use for the really big bag of sumac I bought recently. I can see sprinkling your zaatar over all manner of dishes. It'd be great in scrambled eggs or as the main spice for a quiche coupled with zucchini, spinach, and swiss. Wow, I'm now ready to go make breakfast and it's only just past dinner time! :) Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      Never had this seasoning before and it's excellent. I had all the individual spices on hand and needed just 1/2 tsp of zaatar for Mizzy's Lentil Salad #89654. I made just a small amount using the ingredients proportionately and loved the remaining seasoning mixed with the olive oil and spread on toasted bread. What a treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Delicious, great spice mix! Came out perfect and will use this recipe for sure!
      Prepared and used for Za'atar Bread Rolls (Manaiesh Bi Za'atar) #142472
      Thank a lot Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      Anything, well almost anything to sharpen my kids' minds. I made this and seasoned their favorite breakfast toast; cottage cheese and toast with it. Of course a little studying wouldn't hurt. Thanks for sharing. Oh sorry, very tastey, kids like it better then the seasoning I usually use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Besides strengthening and clearing the mind it awakens the taste buds. Thanks for posting this delish yummy condiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Za'atar

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.2
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    50%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1563.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 23.6 g
    94%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sumaq

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites