14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy to make and yes they are yummy! We used fresh picked black berries from our field and ate them warm out of the oven. I loved that I had all the ingredients on hand too! The kids really enjoyed helping make them and eating them! We didn't make the glaze, but they we very good without.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leahcooks July 18, 2010

Delicious! Very tasty, moist with a very distinct strawberry flavour!! The orange glaze adds a nice touch, too. I used vanilla yogurt as that is what I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 04, 2010

These were very yummy! I did blueberry instead of strawberry since I have frozen blueberries in the freezer. I didn't crush them - just added them in. Worked great! I also found the glaze on the runny side. As another posted stated - less juice would work. Overall - the kids scarfed them up! Made for the February 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast February 05, 2010

I loved the flavor but was not fond of the texture. They were a kind of gummy. Mine also stuck terribly to paper liners as another post noted. We will definitely enjoy what is made but I'm not likely to repeat. Edit: Back to add a star. I refrigerated these overnight. No more paper sticking and they are great cold. I also cheated a bit and added cream cheese frosting. These are rapidly disappearing now. I am very likely to repeat this one now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZaarAddict August 24, 2008

Great recipe! I used frozen raspberries instead of strawberries and substituted whole wheat flour. The glaze was too runny; next time I'd use about 2 teaspoons of juice and try lemon juice instead of orange (to better complement the raspberries). Otherwise, these muffins are delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paradawks March 26, 2008

Really impressed with this recipe, wasn't sure when I looked at the mix, it seemed really stodgy, but they worked out really nicely, very fluffy. I didn't have the problem with them sticking to the cups that the person below had. I used Onken strawberry yogurt with wholegrains and blueberries, which I didn't crush. They burst when baking and lovely purple juice ran down the tops of the muffins making them look really pretty. Agree the cinnamon is a must and it's just enough to give a nice flavour, doesn't taste cinnamony. Smelled amazing when baking too. Will definitely be making these again. Only made 12 though, but maybe I fill my cups a bit more than other people!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samurai jen March 09, 2008

Mine tasted good but they were soggy :(. But i only put in 1 1/2 c. flour... Oops! They were good once I added the extra flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmelyn Johnson February 19, 2008

Great recipe! Makes lots of muffins! I used mulberries from our treel, mixed spice and forest berry yoghurt. The crushed berries made the batter a dark crimson but the smell when cooking was lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee October 26, 2007

I really loved the flavor of these, but had one big problem... I lost about half of each muffin because it was severly stuck to the paper liner. I would love to make these again, can anyone tell me where I went wrong? I will edit my review if I can get them right. I did change the strawberries to rasperries and they were wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 March 16, 2007

These are GREAT! I really ran with this one and made a lot of changes to make them super healthy and lower calorie, etc. I used 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of the sugar, and non-fat plain yogurt. I also did NOT use oil, but used a small container of baby food. (Prunes works, as well as bananas, or you could just puree a banana.) I agree with the other poster that the cinnamon is a must here. I used only egg whites, and added some extract. (Vanilla worked, and I used banana the second time.) I'll post up my version of this AWESOME recipe so check it out! Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear March 09, 2007
Yummy Yogurt Berry Muffins