Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yummy Veggie (Or Turkey) Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy Veggie (Or Turkey) Chili

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2010

      I did put all of the cumin in and we loved it! What a wonderful chili for a cool damp day. Thanks Maito for posting. Made for Spanish forum event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      I know this is supposed to be a red meat free recipe but I didn't have ground turkey. So, I used ground beef. A half pound of meat didn't seem to be enough so I added another half pound. To keep it moist I also added a half cup of beef bouillon. I'm glad I increased the amounts because my husband, 9YO son, and I gobbled it all up. This was good with cheddar cheese melted on top with tortilla chips to scoop and munch. Thanks for sharing Maito.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Have always maintained one cannot have too many Chili recipes - having enjoyed this version I now have added another to my cookbook. Delicious with the vegetables making for eye appeal. Used lean meat, added the optional fennel because I happen to love the flavor it imparts and went light on the lemon. Next time will double the recipe to assure some gets to the freezer! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Excellent! Definitely going to be one of my favorite chili recipes. I love the addition of the lemon and the sweetness of the carrots. The carrots were still a little crunchy though I thinly sliced them (by hand--so room for error) and cooked as directed. Used 1 tsp of cayenne...just right when out of the pan but a few hours later too hot. Will use less next time. ;) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This was the lightest and brightest chili I ever tasted! It was mostly the lemon (I used both juice and zest) that made it that way, but the vegetables, wine and taco seasoning made this recipe too. I omitted the fennel seed because I had none and used small red beans instead of kidney beans. I omitted the ground turkey of course because BF and I are vegetarians. I topped with Italian flat leaf parsley (good substitute for cilantro which my BF isn't fond of) and grated cheddar cheese. My BF really appreciated this too. One of the best chili recipes I've ever tried, thanks Maito!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      A very satisfying meal! It seemed like lots of spices and I wasn't sure about the large amount of lemon juice and wine, but it WORKS and the thin sauce is delicious, great for corn muffin-dunking. We used turkey breast with practically no fat and it tasted great after soaking up all the juices and spices. All we had in the house for red wines were the really good ones - don't know if that made a difference in the flavor but this was a nice excuse to open a bottle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Yummy is right! Made this last night in our -15 degree weather to warm us up and it sure did. I used at least a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper, probably more. I included the ground turkey and did not add the lemon zest (did add the lemon juice though) - very hearty, spicy and filling. Didn't add any of the possible toppings, it was great without them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      We enjoyed this healthy chili! I made it exactly as written except that when I went to get the red wine, I found we only had white, so I subbed some chicken broth for the wine. I thought it tasted great this way, dh thought it could really use the wine. The only question i had was whether to drain the beans--it didn't say, so I didn't drain them, and that worked fine. Served this with sour cream and corn chips. Thanks Maito!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      A Terrific chili, i cheated used buffalo because its just as lean, and loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy Veggie (Or Turkey) Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (497 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.0
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    16%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 916.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.8 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 16.6 g
    66%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites