16 Reviews

I made this for the first time on Christmas Eve, which was incredibly risky! It was SO delicious, I could not stop eating it; and everyone else in my family loved it, too. I have never used tofu before (which made me nervous), so I used 6 oz. of tofu with 2-3 ounces of Vegenaise and 2-3 oz of cashew cream. It was so tasty but looked a bit dry, so I mixed in a splash of water before baking to loosen it up a bit. Worked like a charm, and I did that again to reheat it during our party. I will absolutely make this again and again and try to turn it into a casserole with rice, like another reviewer said. Thanks for making my first tofu experience a huge success! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss December 26, 2012

I first made this for my guys during the Super Bowl. As they were devouring the stuff, my husband asked what was in it. I only wish I could have filmed it when they heard tofu! Since then, we have enjoyed it numerous times, in fact, my non-cooking 17 year old is even willing to help make it! (He is more generous with the cayenne than I am though; I prefer just under 1/4 tsp.) It is so nice to indulge in something so decadent, that turns out to be not decadent at all. Thanks for a new family favorite recipe--I have a feeling this one will be getting made at college in a year!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mangomom June 11, 2009

I expected a lot more from this recipe considering the reviews. This recipe would need a lot of tweaking for me to serve it. I had to un-veganize it just to make it edible, which nullified the whole point of making it. I think if you used unmarinated artichoke hearts, got rid of the parsley, cayenne and basil and instead added a can or two of diced, roasted green chilies, some veganaise and some cashew paste, you might have something worth eating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anika.mccarter January 24, 2015

To heck with this as a dip. I serve i proudly as a side dish, and, once again, it draw raves. I have other recipes for the famous (or infamous) artichoke spinach dip, and I love it. But here I am, trying to o gluten free and dairy free, and voila, this is the answer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anton Ego October 19, 2014

Made this dip for my deer hunting, meat and potatoes eating family for a New Years Eve get together and everyone LOVED it. My dad's response was "There ain't nothin' vegan about this, it's DELICIOUS". I doubled the recipe but only had one package of silken tofu, so I used an 8oz tub of vegan cream cheese and doubled everything else except the nutritional yeast. The only thing that I might try next time is add a little bit of vegan mozzarella. Although when I mentioned this to my sister, she said she liked it better this way because it was easier to eat :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica F. January 01, 2014

I followed the recipe exactly and it was a little bland for me. It was ok, but it's nothing that I would make again. My rating comes from someone who has only been vegan for several months, so I may still have unrealistic expectations. But thank you for posting your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QuirkyVeganPun May 12, 2013

Very good!! I used to make a spinach artichoke dip using tofutti vegan cream cheese but this was even better. I only used 2 TBS vinegar and one TBS of the brine from the artichokes. I used fresh spinach and I also used a bit of mesquite sea salt. Served it up with some European style bread and it was delicious! Will definitely make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peaceful Vegan March 30, 2013

This recipe is awesome! Highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizz Clements February 05, 2012

Excellent! I think I substituted white pepper and crushed red pepper flakes. We will definitely be making this again, will probably need to double it next time. . . .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsFunner September 24, 2011

This recipe is AMAZING!!! I've made it for a wedding shower, birthday party, and for dinner parties. EVERYONE loves it.. I always have tons of compliments, and request for this recipe. Conveniently, I can direct them here. You'll want to eat the whole pan. Give it a try! Meat eaters and vegans alike love this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nessywessy1 May 24, 2011
Yummy Vegan Spinach Artichoke Dip