11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was fantastic! I used 2.25 lb meat, increased the garlic and worcestershire sauce, chopped onion and fresh parsley. My crock pot was filled to the brim. I would make this again in a heart beat! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz January 07, 2010

This is one of the best slow-cooker recipes I have made, I made this in a crockpot, next time I will double the recipe and will try it on top of the stove, I increased the wine to 1/2 cup, and also incresed the garlic to about 3 tablespoons, I love the addition of cabbage in this stew, what a great recipe Parsley, thanks for sharing!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz December 11, 2006

I only gave 4 stars as I modified the recipe base on my cupboard/family preferences. Very delicious- I used cream of mushroom soup (condensed) instead of gravy; no wine on hand; omitted celery and cabbage; added pasta shells last hour of cooking on "high" as it needed thickening and I did not want to use corn starch. A keeper-thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runningirl October 02, 2011

We LOVED this. I used beef broth and boullion paste instead of gravy, Walnut Creek Merlot, stewed and petite diced tomatoes, some Liquid Smoke, and no cabbage. Started it too late to do the slow cooker, so did it on the stove in a dutch oven, This tasted so so good, with just some bacon and potato bread made in the breadmaker and a glass of the merlot to accompany it. This one will become a traditional dish for us, I can tell already! Thanks, Parsley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Annie Bananie February 21, 2009

This was very tasty. I halved the recipe but used the full amount of gravy and red wine. I added corn starch dissolved in water at the end to thicken it up. Oh yeah, and I left out the cabbage- it was one ingredient that scared my boyfriend. I think I'll add it in next time. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Profesora 82 November 26, 2008

Had all the ingredients for 1/2 recipe yesterday, to go in the crockpot. Since I will be having surgery late this week, figured we could have 1 meal and freeze another, for when I didn't feel like cooking. It is a nice, basic beef stew recipe - where you could add almost any favorite ingredient or spice. I used the entire can of gravy and ALL the potatoes, and had a nice saucy stew and plenty left for another meal. There was a slight sweetness, maybe the cabbage or thyme, but it was not intrusive. Thanks for posting, *Parsley*. Janey

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney March 17, 2007

mmmmmmmmmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fudgie2 January 31, 2007

Absolutely delicious! I halved the recipe, because my crock pot is little. I also made the following changes, for cost/family allergy reasons: 1 chopped onion instead of pearl onions, omitted peas (daughter allergic), used 2 c. gluten-free beef stock instead of beef gravy, omitted wine, used dried parsley instead of fresh (1 tblsp. for half recipe). I thickened the stew toward the end of cooking with corn starch mixed with cold water (then turned it up to high and let it simmer a bit). Everyone loves this dinner - fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoannCD December 09, 2006

This is truly an outstanding stew! I loved the flavor this combination creates. The changes I made were adding 3 pounds of stew beef, 16 oz of pearl onions, 1 can of beef broth combined with 3 TBS of beef gravy powder and I used dried parsley instead of fresh. One half hour before serving I mixed 1/3 cup of flour with some water and and stirred it into the stew to create a thicker gravy. I served with some crispy French rolls and our supper was perfect! Thanks so much for a wonderful supper, Parsley!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev October 25, 2006

Great stew! I substituted a small onion for the pearl onion and used 1 cup of beef broth and 1 cup of brown gravy (from mix) instead of the can of gravy. This stew tastes fantastic! And so easy! Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steeldove October 16, 2006
Yummy Slow Cooker Beef Stew