14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I halved the baking soda, cut the sugar down a little bit, and replaced the blueberries with strawberries. Because I didn't have milk in the house, I used three tablespoons half and half and two of water. Then, I cooked it for 1 minute, 45 seconds. It almost--but didn't-- spilled over my largest mug, and came out just a bit undercooked-- a little like a bread pudding.

And it was delicious! Without a doubt best microwave cake I've tried yet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runningfoodie May 24, 2011

I made these using only peaches and in large ramekins. They did boil over a bit, but not a big deal. They were really delicious and I will definitely be making these again. Oh, I also added a sprinkling of nutmeg over the top of the peaches (last step). Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate July 19, 2010

Three stars because it was good but I made a lot of changes. Changes: half ww and half white flour, 3 Tbsp Splenda, and 1/4 tsp baking powder. Seemed plenty sweet with less of the sweetener, so I won't use more than that. I used a 16 oz measuring cup as my mug and am glad I did because it bubbled up almost to that 2 cup mark! I cooked it 2 1/2 minutes and it was still a little gooey at the bottom, but that may be just my microwave. All of that being said, great use for the blueberries sitting in my fridge and a quick healthy snack for me- thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech June 21, 2009

Wonderful little cake! I didn't have any problems with it making a mess in my microwave. I did alter it a bit. I put in the 4 Tbs ww flour, 2 Tbs of turbinado sugar, 1 Tbs brown sugar, 1/4 tsp baking powder, a pinch of salt, 4 Tbs milk and about 1 tsp blueberries. After sprinkling it with a little bit of sugar, I cooked it exactly 2 minutes on high in a medium sized mug. I will definitely try this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneBigFamily April 14, 2009

This cake is amazing with a few modifications. I halfed the recipe and quartered the baking powder and had a nice cake that did not explode. (I also just in case used a quart glass measuring cup.) Since I did not have whole wheat flour or splenda I substitured regular sugar and AP flour straight in. Those who like a batter less sweet may want to cut down the sugar if you try this method. Overall, this is def a quick cake I would make again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Psalm AKA Typo Qween April 11, 2009

I cut the baking powder down to 1/4 teaspoon after reading the reviews, used 2 packets of splenda, sucanat in place of brown sugar, and didn't measure the blueberries. I watched this in the microwave while it cooked, stopping once after a minute and half to let it fall a touch before restarting. At 2 minutes this was done to the consistency of bread pudding, and one out of 2 of my kids liked it. I had no problem eating the second mug cake, however. No real mess in the microwave, but there were a couple of spots from popping berries. Not a big deal. Made this in a latte mug, rather than a regular size coffee mug. After baking, it settled from the top of the mug halfway down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie May 15, 2015

Amazing! I made this in an xl mug with all purpose flour and followed the directions to a T! Scrumptious :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 16, 2015

It was too sweet. All the blueberries fell to the bottom. The mug kept overflowing and I had to add 2:00 minutes to the time. The last two might have just been a high altitude problem. I will not be using your recipe again. It made such a mess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillian S. September 10, 2013

This cake exploded (literally exploded) all over my microwave. I think the recipe calls for too much baking powder or something because this did not work. I dumped what was left of the mixture into a cake pan and baked it for a while and it did taste ok, however I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissSoup August 07, 2013

Warning - use a large mug! I used a regular mug. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to mix it well, so I mixed the dry ingredients in a ziplock bag, then added it and the milk in parts. It rose above the mug a good 3 inches, but didn't make a mess. I made it exactly as written and cooked for 1.5 min. Next time I'll cut down on the baking poser a bit, and add some vanilla & cinnamon since it was a tad plain. Thanks for a quick snack - just what I needed, from thought to mouth in 5 minutes. Thanks Galleguita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 July 08, 2012
Yummy Microwave Blueberry Mug Cake