12 Reviews

This was really, really good--but, based on others' reviews, I preempitvely made a double batch of sauce, and added 1 1/2 recipes of it (I saved the remainder for broccoli with cheese sauce, or whatever). However, instead of 4 c. of cheese, I used 3, and I still used only one egg and 1 c. of sour cream. It made the recipe very creamy and tasted way more fatteniing than it really is. I also used panko crumbs, mixed with melted "I Can't Believe it's Not Butter Light", for the top. As I said, it was delicious--but I think adding extra sauce made a difference. Thank you, reviewers, for prompting me to do that!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaron80 March 02, 2012

My hubby is a BIG FAN of Kraft mac n' cheese--unfortunately I am trying to cook healthier for him! I read the reviews before I started (always a good thing!) & halved the recipe but doubled the spices for more flavor. The cheese sauce was a cinch to whip up--& I used whole wheat mac. Instead of breadcrumbs, I topped it w/ more low fat cheddar for an extra cheesy flavor. Hubby enjoyed it--WOW! I don't know how this will re-heat, as some folks had issues with that--but my sweetie likes mac n' cheese warmed up--so hopefully this will be a keeper!! Thank u for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS December 20, 2010

This was very tasty, but a little dry. (However, fresh out of the oven it looked so creamy and good!) I didn't get to try it fresh out of the oven, but I had it reheated in the microwave. Very good for lowfat mac and cheese, but it doesn't reheat well, and it makes a huge batch. I will make it again. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amievv821 March 20, 2008

I made this recipe over the weekend as a side with a baked ham. No one guessed it was low fat! I made just as written except I had a bit less sour cream than I thought, so I substituted plain nonfat yogurt for about 1/4 of a cup, and it tasted just fine. The mac and cheese was much creamier than I thought it'd be, a very welcome surprise. Thanks for such a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissaK1 February 18, 2008

This really is yummy!! I'm a big fan of Stouffers too, but I can't handle all those calories anymore. This will be my new favorite. I divided into 2 casseroles, one without the crumb topping for the freezer. Made for PAC Fall '07.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn September 13, 2007

For low fat this is definitely a 5! From his bachelor days, DH is used to the creaminess of Stouffers' frozen super fatty macaroni and cheese and said this needed more cheese, yet he did clean his plate in record time! I added extra paprika and lots of black pepper and thought it was wonderful - honestly I prefer this to Stouffers which is way too rich. Very easy and definitely yummy - one of my new favorites!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen September 03, 2007

Absolutely fantastic!! To make it even healthier I used whole wheat pasta (which my kids normally turn their noses up at) and used liquid egg substitute instead of the egg. I substituted 1c Great Value light 3 cheese blend and 4 oz of Velveeta for the 2 cups of cheese called for and used 3/4 c evaporated skim milk and 3/4 cup of water in place of the fat free milk as I didn't have any on hand. This is thee BEST Mac and cheese I've ever made...low fat or not!! A definite keeper. My family couldn't believe that I was eating something soo creamy and fattening...LOL and they all wanted seconds...even with the WW noodles! Shhh...my secret!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looni30 March 11, 2013

Outstanding! Especially for it being lower in fat/calories than most mac & cheese recipes. The only thing I did different was use low fat sour cream instead of nonfat (because that's what I had on hand). I added cut up turkey sausage to the mix for a more complete meal. Served with a side of steamed veggies. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lingering_Dream January 02, 2008

This did not taste low fat at all! So creamy and amazing. Loved the crunchy topping too. We had this for dinner and then had leftovers for lunch the next day. Just delicious! Will definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog June 30, 2016

actually was very easy to make i add my own things which was turkey meat as well

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
youngjama_11557321 March 10, 2013
Yummy Low-Fat Mac & Cheese