Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yummy Low-Fat Mac & Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy Low-Fat Mac & Cheese

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2008

      This was very tasty, but a little dry. (However, fresh out of the oven it looked so creamy and good!) I didn't get to try it fresh out of the oven, but I had it reheated in the microwave. Very good for lowfat mac and cheese, but it doesn't reheat well, and it makes a huge batch. I will make it again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I made this recipe over the weekend as a side with a baked ham. No one guessed it was low fat! I made just as written except I had a bit less sour cream than I thought, so I substituted plain nonfat yogurt for about 1/4 of a cup, and it tasted just fine. The mac and cheese was much creamier than I thought it'd be, a very welcome surprise. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      My hubby is a BIG FAN of Kraft mac n' cheese--unfortunately I am trying to cook healthier for him! I read the reviews before I started (always a good thing!) & halved the recipe but doubled the spices for more flavor. The cheese sauce was a cinch to whip up--& I used whole wheat mac. Instead of breadcrumbs, I topped it w/ more low fat cheddar for an extra cheesy flavor. Hubby enjoyed it--WOW! I don't know how this will re-heat, as some folks had issues with that--but my sweetie likes mac n' cheese warmed up--so hopefully this will be a keeper!! Thank u for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      This really is yummy!! I'm a big fan of Stouffers too, but I can't handle all those calories anymore. This will be my new favorite. I divided into 2 casseroles, one without the crumb topping for the freezer. Made for PAC Fall '07.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      For low fat this is definitely a 5! From his bachelor days, DH is used to the creaminess of Stouffers' frozen super fatty macaroni and cheese and said this needed more cheese, yet he did clean his plate in record time! I added extra paprika and lots of black pepper and thought it was wonderful - honestly I prefer this to Stouffers which is way too rich. Very easy and definitely yummy - one of my new favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      Absolutely fantastic!! To make it even healthier I used whole wheat pasta (which my kids normally turn their noses up at) and used liquid egg substitute instead of the egg. I substituted 1c Great Value light 3 cheese blend and 4 oz of Velveeta for the 2 cups of cheese called for and used 3/4 c evaporated skim milk and 3/4 cup of water in place of the fat free milk as I didn't have any on hand. This is thee BEST Mac and cheese I've ever made...low fat or not!! A definite keeper. My family couldn't believe that I was eating something soo creamy and fattening...LOL and they all wanted seconds...even with the WW noodles! Shhh...my secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      actually was very easy to make i add my own things which was turkey meat as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      This was really, really good--but, based on others' reviews, I preempitvely made a double batch of sauce, and added 1 1/2 recipes of it (I saved the remainder for broccoli with cheese sauce, or whatever). However, instead of 4 c. of cheese, I used 3, and I still used only one egg and 1 c. of sour cream. It made the recipe very creamy and tasted way more fatteniing than it really is. I also used panko crumbs, mixed with melted "I Can't Believe it's Not Butter Light", for the top. As I said, it was delicious--but I think adding extra sauce made a difference. Thank you, reviewers, for prompting me to do that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I want to give this 4 stars, but I can't justify it. It just doesn't really have a lot of flavor. I ended up adding a bunch of pepper and salt to it. I cooked it at 350F for 25 minutes, ate some, then cooked it for about 8 more minutes at 400F. The crisp parts at the edge were the best. EDIT: I heated some of the leftovers in a skillet today as a side for dinner. I added some ground red and black pepper, jalapenos, and rotel. I let it cook long enough to crisp the cheese. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I'm new to low fat recipes, (my husband is trying to lose weight). I found this to be good but a little dry. Low fat cheese doesn't seem to melt right. If I make this again I will add some onions and maybe some garlic. My husband liked it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Outstanding! Especially for it being lower in fat/calories than most mac & cheese recipes. The only thing I did different was use low fat sour cream instead of nonfat (because that's what I had on hand). I added cut up turkey sausage to the mix for a more complete meal. Served with a side of steamed veggies. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy Low-Fat Mac & Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.8
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    15%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 41.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 223.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat cheddar cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes