12 Reviews

We loved this recipe. I halved the ingredients (except the vanilla) and added a mix of 1 TBS. sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon to the top before baking. Served warm with vanilla ice cream, this is pure old-fashioned, nurturing soul food. I'll make it often. Thanks!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maddie in Boston March 07, 2003

I loved it!! Was very quick and easy to make. I left mine in the fridge two hours and turned out perfect!!!! I preffered to eat it cold rather than warm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pete_jodie March 06, 2009

This was pretty good. I did use fat free milk and omited the butter to make it even more healthy for my kids. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Of Quads & Trips August 18, 2008

SUPERB! This was totally awsome. Pretty guilt free and yummy. Made this for Super Bowl Sunday. Family was impressed and delighted! I had mixed feelings about this recipe because of so many reviews stating on how "mushy" it turned out. Mine came out perfecto! I used a multi-grain bread and followed the recipe perfectly. Was super easy too. The only reason I can think it came out too mushy is perhaps they did not use enough bread and or did not leave it in the fridge over night. I noticed that two hours in the fridge it still looked kind of "runny" so in fear of it being mushy I left it in over night. I would NOT change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 February 03, 2008

I feel really horrible leaving such negative feedback on this, but this was a HUGE disappointment. I was really excited about this recipe, since I love pineapple and I love bread pudding. Also, I'm on a low-fat diet. I followed the recipe exactly, but ended up with a horrible, mushy mess. I tried baking it even longer in hopes of getting some of the liquid to firm up, but that didn't help either. No one in my family could even eat it; not even with the addition of whipped topping. We ended up throwing the entire thing out :-[ I *might* give this one another try, since everyone else's reviews were very good. Unfortunately, my experience wasn't the same. Sorry :-[

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oneprimalscream January 12, 2008

I really enjoyed this one. I used whole wheat bread and it was still quite tasty. I agree with the other comments that a sprinkling of a little cinnamon and sugar on the top would make this perfect. I had the leftovers the next day and the flavors were intensified and even more delish. I will surely use this one for a long time to come. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pookiebooty2000 August 11, 2007

i loved this bread pudding, tasted even better the day after. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Je see ka February 21, 2007

We enjoyed this for dessert last night (and had the left-overs for breakfast this morning). Mine fit perfectly in a 7x11 baking dish. Because it is a low-fat recipe, it won't brown much on top, so here are some suggestions: sprinkle the top with a little cinnamon sugar, or give it a minute under the broiler at the end, or drizzle the top with some Vanilla Yogurt for a pretty presentation. I submitted a photo of the dish as it came out of the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva January 09, 2007

This was a very tasty recipe. My oldest son couldn't believe it was healthy and he also couldn't stop eating it. I sprinkled just a tsp of brn sugar and cinnamon on top to add flavor. Will prepare again!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rfollis August 09, 2006

This was excellent! I made it using Low-Fat Raisin Bread #55562 as the base. I used only egg whites (I don't buy the egg replacers usually) and needed 6 large egg whites. I served it with homemade low-fat vanilla ice cream and it tasted decadent although it wasn't! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit September 07, 2004
Yummy Low Cal-Low Fat Pineapple Bread Pudding