421 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this pie! I just won an apple pie contest with this recipe! It perfect exactly as its written! Thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pammac2324 October 07, 2012

I didn't make the final topping, just the pie and the crumb topping - still, insanely good! A wonderful apple pie even when you take the caramel part out of the equation, but rest assured, I will try the full version too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee October 06, 2012

This is without a doubt a blue ribbon apple pie! Just make it and add it to your holiday menus! Thank you Wendy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie in North Carolina September 04, 2012

My husband signed me up for an apple pie baking contest for his work even though I have never made an apple pie in my life, and I don't even like apple pie! But thankfully I found this recipe because it won the contest!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redhead in OK August 09, 2012

My daughter made this for me for Mother's Day by my request. I have had this recipe saved in my "Want to Try" cookbook for a long time and was waiting for the right occasion to try it. I must say that it turned out perfect! She loaded it up with lots of granny smith apples and added the topping and it was beautiful. And the taste lived up to my expectations of how good it would be. The filling was just the right sweetness and the streusel topping was fantastic. I loved it so much that I have requested it for my birthday too, which is tomorrow. This is by far my favorite apple pie. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas May 29, 2012

Wonderful pie! My husband think dessert means chocolate and hardly ever eats pie, but he is obsessed with this pie. I use refrigerated pie crust and leave off the caramel ice cream topping and the pecans. They just aren't necessary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comfortandjoy April 21, 2012

This is a delicous pie that has become a staple at our house for parties and get-togethers. I also like to use 4 Granny Smiths like some other reviewers mentioned, but I like to soak them in a little lemon juice as I cut them up. This both prevents them from browning and gives them just a little extra "kick" to counteract all the sweetness of the pie. The top crust is so crunchy and yummy, I think my husband would be happy to eat that alone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BuckeyeSara March 28, 2012

Made three of these for Pi Day....so good... so perfect....this is the best pie recipe ever !!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggieelizabeth_11030301 March 14, 2012

My first time making an apple pie and I'm so glad I picked this one! It was so easy! I used Splenda instead of sugar and 3 different variety of apples. My husband came home and all I heard from the kitchen was "WOW, OMG, WOW", over and over. Big hit, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debberd2 February 17, 2012
Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie