Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    419 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 419

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2010

      Great recipe. everyone loves it and requests that I make it. I don't use the Caramel sauce, I peel the apples and slice thin and I use a mixtre of apples depending on sweet/tart-ness. I was out of pie crusts so I recently made it as an apple crisp with the crumb topping as the base and the topping. It was soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Wow! Just made this yesterday for Mother's Day - what a hit!! I only got a small sliver, so I saved the last piece for myself today :) Everybody loved it! I didn't change anything. I also used 3 large granny smith apples sliced thinly with the skin on. I'm not sure if my crust wasn't thick enough, but it was a little dark around the edges, even after covering with the foil for 25 mins at the beginning of bake, so next time, I'll leave the foil on a little longer. Other than that - this is definitely a winner - will absolutely make again and again. Thanks Wendy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I made it two days ago, and its gone. ( i live in a family of 4.) I didnt have any caramel sauce, so i made my own out of brown sugar, flour, melted butter, and vanilla. Have 2 pie shells handy =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Fantastic pie, we had it for Easter dessert. It is sweet so a little goes a long way, but it is sooo good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

    • on March 03, 2010

      After years of failed experiments and awful recipes, we've hit the winner here. The pie is THE BEST apple pie I've ever had. I modified a couple of things, since i like to keep all aspects as homemade as possible. I used a pie crust recipe that is oil based instead of lard/crisco based -- Was perfect for this pie. I also went ahead and made my own caramel sauce, which gave this pie an extra kick it wouldn't otherwise have. I would make a little more crumb topping and definitely stick with metal pans -- I also used granny smith, which were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This pie did not do the trick for me. The filling was nothing special, and the crunchy topping was heavy and too tough. I baked this in a glass pie plate: the crust was not done enough, perhaps if I had used a metal pie plate, or blind baked, it would have been. On the plus side, the apple filling held together very well, even while a bit warm. This would be a good beginner recipe, nothing tricky, but not a showstopper, either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Wow...I made this for valentines day and my boyfriend helped make it....He said it was the best apple pie he has ever tasted! I agree! I forgot to peel the apples prior to adding them in the sugar/cinnamon mixture but it still came out fabulous! I used Hershey caramel syrup with whole pecans and served the pie with cinnamon and caramel ice-cream. FANTASTIC!! MAKE THIS PIE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I can see why this recipe is so highly rate. I have people roll their eyes up in their head in sheer delight at the first bite! I also use Granny Smith apples. I make my foil crust sheild a little tall to hold all the goodies in until it bakes down and it works perfectly! Thanks so much for making me a 'pie hero'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This is very similar to the recipie that my Grandma used, but without the "final topping" and rolled oats. I think both ways are good, but I recommend adding a dash of cloves and nutmeg to both the filling and the crumb topping. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      AWESOME pie! We certainly enjoyed, and it's different than any I've tried. I did use a refrigerated crust, to ease my prep time, and I used 2 apples I had that were humungous! I also kept my crust edge covered the whole duration of baking, and it still browned nicely. Thanks so much for sharing, Wendy W88; this will be on my table again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      My son, a beginning baker, made this pie for a youth fair. We kept a little aside and baked in a muffin pan to taste, and it was delicious. The pie received very high scores from the judges as well. He used granny smith apples, peeled and cored and sliced very thin, and used a full 6 cups. Now I just need to get him to make it again for us..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Great pie! I liked not peeling the apples. It gave more texture to the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Wonderful! It seemed like too many apples and too much crumb topping, but I just piled everything into a nice mound in a regular frozen pie crust and it baked down nicely. Just the right amount of everything! I used Granny Smith apples and did not peel them. Perfect! I did have to cover mine with more foil than the recipe states to keep it from over browning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      SO AWESOME!! Very delicious!! Reminded me a little of apple crisp. Everyone LOVED this delicious piece of heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Yes, another review. This pie is super fantastic! The apples were too many for my 9" pie crust so I made 2 pies and it worked out perfectly. I didn't buy the ice cream caramel because I had the caramel bits left over from Christmas. I sprinkled about 1/4 cup on the top of each pie the last 10 minutes of baking. Also, I kept my crust covered the entire time and it too was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I don't think I will ever go back to the old way of making apple pie! This version of apple pie is defiantly a keeper! The caramel topping made it that much better! My husband was not too fond of the nuts, so next time I will try without.(But it was still good, I like the crunch!) I know I will be making this again.. thanks for sharing! 5 stars! :) p.s. I used Kittencal's Brown Sugar Caramel Sauce or Ice Cream Topping for the caramel sauce! I highly recommend it- fast, easy, and home-made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I made this for a holiday party this past weekend and it was well received. I think next time I will increase the cinnamon a bit because of personal preference. My boyfriend also wants me to add what he calls some "filling." I'll try adding a bit of tapioca or gelatin and see if that works better for US. The pie is certainly wonderful as is however!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.3
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    35%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 30.6 mg
    10%
    Sodium 182.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 49.2 g
    197%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites