421 Reviews

I can see why this pie won a bake-off! I used about 3 large granny smiths, and added a pinch of tapioca to the filling. My dinner guests laughed as they saw the hugely mounded pie being prepared for the oven. "When are the blackbirds popping out?" he asked. The taste was incredible, and enjoyed by all. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat December 01, 2002

This was so easy, crunchy, delicious, etc. I have given out the recipe to everyone who tastes it. I will make it again and again! My husband said it was the best he had ever eaten. I agree. Bev B.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev Becket November 06, 2002

YUMMY is right. This is one of the simplest(and best tasting) pies I have ever made. I peeled the Granny Smith's and it took about 6-7 apples to make 6 cups. DH now wants my Mom and I to have a pie bakeoff so he can see how this compares to her 1st place winning apple pecan pie. Baking times were perfect...this is a winner!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura36 October 06, 2002

I made this for Christmas Eve. I also made the pie without the caramel and pecans only the crumb. Everyone raved about how delicious they were and completely finished the pies Christmas morning. This is a must have recipe! It is very easy. The only difference is that I added one tsp of fresh lemon to the apples. Great!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kera December 26, 2014

Our Middle School principal doesn't like cake, so for his birthday, we had a pie contest. He was the judge. This was the first pie I've ever made. With this wonderful recipe, I WON!! It is easy and delicious. I also bought an apple peeler at Target ($20) which made this even faster and lots of fun. I followed the recipe just as written. I doubled it so I made 2 pies. My 2 teenage sons and husband loved it too. The topping is amazing. I bought a Pillsbury-Ritz deep dish pie crust. Everyone thought the crust tasted homemade and delicious. I cooked it for 5 minutes prior to filling. WONDERFUL recipe. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauraleet November 09, 2014

The entire family LOVES this pie. I only use Honeycrisp apples, I like their texture and flavor with the seasonings in the recipe. I don't use the Carmel or pecans on the top, since we prefer simple Apple pie. I have to work on the crust, and times...just for my own preferences. <br/>Wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes November 02, 2014

This recipe doesn't need any more reviews, but I'll add that I made 2, they were excellent & baking time ended up being a little longer. Allow the pie to cool before cutting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau September 08, 2014

Everyone loved this pie! The only modification i made was that i used walnuts instead of pecans because that is what i had on hand. I will definately make this again, thank you for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnsdeere September 01, 2014

The best apple pie I have ever made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
house_wife_in_training January 17, 2014

I made this pie yesterday for Thanksgiving and it was the first one to go, everyone loved it! It is seriously the best apple pie I have ever tasted. I definitely give it a 5 star rating

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ally J. November 29, 2013
Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie