421 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Holy cow! This pie is awesome, but super sweet! I'm wondering if I accidentally put to much sugar into the apples...maybe next time I'll 1/2 the sugar. Otherwse it was great, and I didn't even put the caramel sauce or nuts on top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thumbs September 22, 2009

Oh my gosh....this is to die for. So good. I used a big deep dish pie plate and used 1 1/2 times the amounts of everything. I did need to cook it for an extra 15 minutes becasuse it was so big, but it turned out perfectly. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 September 19, 2009

Like this needs another review but... =o) I got rave reviews on this pie. Made it for labor day and, within minutes of cutting, it was gone! I RAN OUT!!! lol not everyone got a taste so, I've decided, the next time, I'll just have to make 2! =o) Great recipe and thank you soooo much for posting! I also left off the pecans and used Kittencal's caramel sauce recipe which was just the icing on the cake - er pie. =o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherlangston23 September 14, 2009

My mother in law always asks me to make this for Thanksgiving. I am glad it's already posted, best when served cold!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! September 12, 2009

A great apple pie - I press the pecans into the topping and bake them in (covering with foil for the first bit of cooking so they don't burn) and drizzle a generous amount of caramel at the end of cooking. The topping keeps everything moist inside and the caramel adds that extra flavour. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Squirrel September 03, 2009

made it today but changed a few things, i did not have cinamon so i made it shredded coconut. i mixed that with the apples and sugar. and for the crunchy part mixed coconut milk and the shreded coconut together with brown sugar boiled dat on fire until it thickens and poured it ontop of the pie and put it in the oven it was amazing and it had dat tangy caramel taste to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adusei.cecilia September 03, 2009

This is wonderful - seemingly sinful. I had a guy tell me apple pie was his favorite, so in an attempt to impress him, I made him this recipe. I'd never made an apple pie before, but you gotta figure 240 or so 5 star reviews, everyone can't be wrong! I made it, wasn't too hard, just peeling the apples was kind of a pain. I think probably the canned apples might be a good quick substitute. I also used the premade crust Pillsbury so that I could give it away in an aluminum pie pan. I made two pies at the same time with 9 cups of cut up apples mixing gala and granny smith. They went in as heaping pies, and even after cooling were something mounded. My feeling is I probably could have used less apples. But, they were awesome and gave one to my friend who absolutely loved it. This definitely is a five-star and award winner at that! Thanks so much for sharing your granny's recipe, Wendy N! It's great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita August 31, 2009

Outstanding pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Nataly* August 31, 2009

Amazing! I used Granny Smith apples like suggested, and it worked out wonderfully. The pie was absolutely delicious. I gave my mom the recipe, and she used gala apples. She said it was wonderful, but her pie was a bit runny. Use the Granny Smith's- they are more tart and have a bit less moisture. Thanks so much for sharing. I am getting ready to make this again for my husband to take to the station tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
History Teacher August 30, 2009

Great Pie! I didn't have pecans, so used walnuts, and it was still great! My family all loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammyzBoyz August 24, 2009
Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie