421 Reviews

This was my first attempt at pie...of any kind. Oh..MAN! Was it ever good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 February 03, 2003

This is the best apple pie I have ever made!It was so simple to make and tastes amazing!It's like an apple crumble pie.I also added 1/2 tsp cloves along with the cinnamon.The pecans on top taste even better when they're toasted for a few minutes.Delicious!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny November 06, 2011

Good, but way too sweet. I cut back on the sugar in the filling and in the topping by about a third, but still too sweet, especially when butterscotch topping is called for on top! I'd make this again, but next time I'd half the sugar in the filling and half the whole crumble mixture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy k. December 27, 2010

This was soooo good!! My husband said I made a mistake making this because now he'll want it all of the time. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lismarie August 01, 2010

Very nice pie - all the flavors blend nicely. I made as written, with peeled Fugi apples, along with a cherry pie for Father's Day. This time of year, I assumed the fresh sour cherry pie would be everyone's first choice, but I am proud to say this apple pie held it's own. I am going to make it again soon for an upcoming bake sale. It is unique enough to stand out - but not too weird that kids don't love it, too! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLashier June 20, 2010

That was such an AWESOME recipe!! I did not use quite as many apples, any pecans or caramel(my DH does not like any of that) but it was sooo good! I served it with some Vanilla ice cream. I also used a Pillsbury crust for the bottom instead of making my own. Thank you!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeniferbz February 02, 2004

Awesome ! I cut the sugar by 1/2 for the topping and the bottom, althought I drzziled the apples with a bit of caramel syrup. Great recipe, will make again. thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conniecooks February 19, 2012

Yummy and easy. Will definitely make again. The only thing I did differently is I added extra cinnamon. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa2222 December 21, 2010

This pie was the best apple pie I've ever had in my entire life and I'm not exaggerating. It was easy to make (it was my first time ever making a homemade pie) and I can't tell you how delicious it was! You're really going to have to try it for yourself. I'd give it 10 stars if I could

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaymzt November 28, 2010

This pie is sooo good! I made it for Thanksgiving and this have been voted our new pie to have every year! I made with gala apples that I peeled and thinly sliced. I didn't put the pecans on because DH doesn't like them. Will be making this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH November 28, 2010
Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie