421 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to give this recipe 5 stars because I made it for the first time yesterday, entered the pie in our local Park District's Pie Contest and won the 'Best Tasting Pie' award! That says alot about the recipe because I am not a very experienced pie maker at all. For future reference, it took 4 large Granny Smith apples to get my 6 cups of sliced apples for the recipe. I peeled and cored the apples and cut them into 12 slices each. Thanks for the great recipe.

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 28, 2002

The BEST ever apple pie! I was going to post this same recipe, but I first did a search to see if it were posted yet. My neighbor, Jill, brought this pie to us when a friennd of my husbands and his family were killed in a car accident. My husband kept asking me everyday for about a week to get the recipe from Jill. I finally got it and it's the ONLY apple pie recipe I use! I also use Granny Smith apples and I peel and slice them very thin. I use only about 4 - 4 1/2 cups of sliced apples and it works perfect for a normal size 9-inch pastry.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. July 10, 2002

I always considered myself a good cook, but not a great baker until I made this pie! It is absolutely perfect!!! It is the first pie that I made that actually was totally devoured. Since I don't bake that much I did use Pillsbury's Pie Crust and baked it for 5 minutes in a 350 degree oven first and used MacIntosh apples instead of Granny Smith because we just went apple picking with the kids and had a ton :). Other than that, the only other thing I used differently was instead of regular cinnamon I used Pampered Chef's Cinnamon Plus (lots of parties I went to :)) and sprinkled some on top of the crumb topping before baking as well. Anyone who loves pecan pie would also love this recipe. So many people thought that it was a pecan pie with apples because of the consistency. The only other note I would mention is that you should completely cool the pie before cutting. My husband couldn't wait to get into it while it was still warm and it oozed out a bit, but the cooled pie was absolute perfection. Great Recipe Wendy...10 stars!!!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caliente Cucina October 19, 2008

I am a *STAR* when I make this recipe! Love it-- you CANNOT skip the caramel and the pecans, they simply makes this pie a winner and it looks gourmet when it's all done! This pie is mounded HIGH when it goes in the oven and the shell is jam packed so put it on a cookie sheet or you'll be smelling burned sugar all over your oven. I use frozen pie crust in the tin and I pre-bake for 8 minutes until lightly golden brown otherwise it gets mushy. LOVE IT. The only apple pie I bake!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrandNewJen October 07, 2009

I made this for my mother who is down to her last few weeks left to live. She doesn't have much appetite, but is eating this 2 to 3X a day now (and not much of anything else)! Thanks for posting a great recipe. This is one that I make often and will always remember w/a smile thinking of mom....

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC September 15, 2009

I am not going to rate this as I had changed the original recipe drastically...but I did use it as a guide. I had used some fresh apples off of my friend's tree and some Granny Smith. I made my own pie shell using JackieOhNo!'s Single Flaky Pie Crust (Food Processor). I took into account other comments regarding how sweet the filling and toppings were, so I cut the filling down to 1/4 cup sugar. The topping I changed to 2/3 cup brown sugar, 1/4 tsp salt and 6T butter and kept the rest the same. I used my Easy Caramel Sauce (Omac) for the final topping and omitted the pecans. Although the other apple I used was tart, it was soft and didn't hold up against the Granny Smith, so the pie flattened out somewhat. But that did not diminish from the taste. As my DH grew up on different pies, he loved this one, so I would do this one again, with my changes!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl August 16, 2009

I took this pie to Thanksgiving with about forty people and in the middle of dessert someone yelled, "Hey! Who made the caramel apple pie?" I claimed it from across the room and he yelled back a request for the following year, with others chiming in with the same. It was my first Thanksgiving with the boyfriend's family, so thank you for making me look good! This is definitely an easy, impressive dish not to be passed over! Gold star recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunsetHappy April 19, 2008

oh, WOW! apple pies have always been a specialty of mine, but this one really knocked it out of the park!! i made one for my neighbor who is elderly, and has confessed to me that she doesn't bake, and one for my friend's parents as a thank-you gift. they are PHENOMENAL! i used a mix of actually four different apples (fuji, gala, golden delicious, and granny smith), and the melange of flavors was amazing. i also added a squeeze or two of maple syrup to the apple mixture, which, for me, enhances the moisture of the pie. thank you so much, as i WILL be bringing a double batch to the thanksgiving family dinner! DEFINITELY five stars!
****post-thanksgiving UPDATE***literally, honestly the FIRST dessert to go. with nearly 20 eaters, this pie didn't have a chance! i had to make another, on the spot..seriously!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Froggus. April 22, 2011

I entered this pie in a local contest over the fourth of July and won first place! I used the "No Roll Pie Crust" #51537, and used Red Delicious and Granny Smith apples (half and half).Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The secret is to really pile the apples high and then push the topping onto them with your hands to kind of pack it on. I also cooked the crust for about 10 minutes before filling it.It looks wonderful and tastes increadible! Thank you Wendy for a winner.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty Stuckey July 07, 2003

This pie is to die for if you like caramel apples! I made it as a thank you to my sister and bil. Once it was cut, they were asking me when I could make it again and for the recipe. I did leave out the pecans because my sister dislikes them and I used a combination of granny smith, yellow delicious, and fuji apples. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone who likes apple pie.....YUMMY!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana February 23, 2003
Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie