102 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW.. this was great! When I initially boil the rice, I throw in a cinnamon stick and cook it with the rice. I prefer my pudding a little more creamier and sweeter, so I used 3/4 cup of sugar and 2 cups of milk initially and 1 more cup of milk when i added the egg. I also let the pudding cook for an additional 18 min over med heat (stiring occasionaly so the milk doesn't burn) to create more of a custard in the pudding. When i remove it from the heat, I remove the cinnamon sticks and sprinke ground cinnamon on the top. I keep a bowl of this in my fridge at all times and take it for my breakfast at work. Thank you!!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bex C February 10, 2008

This was rich, creamy, and delicious. The directions and measurements are very accurate. I used short grain rice and it came out very creamy. I love rice pudding - my grandmother makes a version that is completely different which I adore, but this recipe was every bit as tasty and also deserving of 5 stars.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather December 08, 2002

My family & I loved this pudding! I doubled the recipe & it was eaten in a day, which is outstanding considering my partner or daughter are not big fans of rice puds! I sprinkled 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon in with the rice to start with, omitted the raisins & butter, but it turned out excellent and I have been asked to make it again tonight! My mum has a favourite recipe which she bakes in the oven, but this was faster, and dare I say, much creamier & tastier! Thanks for sharing, yum yum yum!! =)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jannz August 22, 2010

used 2 C. cooked rice, non fat milk, one pan,and tempered the egg with a little of the hot rice mixture. Absolutely the BEST!! Thank you Barb.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol G. January 29, 2012

Wonderful recipe! I love rice pudding and this is an awesome one. I used instant rice since that's all I had. I used 1 1/2 cups instant rice cooked in 1 1/2 cups water (according to package directions). I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and doubled the vanilla. I loved it sprinkled with cinnamon on top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks October 23, 2012

I don't know. I'm having the hardest time finding a rice pudding recipe that rocks my world. It was too dry for my taste, but since I'm not an expert pudding maker, I probably messed it up...any suggestions?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Makarios309 April 30, 2003

One of my favorites! I had evaporated milk to use and so I did 1 cup evaporated milk and 1 cup skim milk. It was super rich and creamy without the guilt of cream!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buffalo Gal 75 February 20, 2011

YUM! What a great, creamy pudding recipe! This is exactly what I was looking for, and had a shorter cooking time than a lot of other recipes here on the Zaar. I didn't change a thing (besides omitting the raisins) and thought it was perfect! I will be making this again for sure! Thanks for sharing! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 June 09, 2010

My gram always made baked rice pudding and though I liked it, this is so much better! No idea what cozy shack is, but this is probably the best rice pudding I have ever had. I didn't cook the first part until it was thick, just until slightly reduced then added the remaining milk and egg and let it cook til thick, like homemade pudding. Creamy, dreamy, fabulous! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia March 07, 2010

So easy and so tasty. I am very happy I came across this recipe. It will definitely be in my favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lplarocque May 28, 2015
Yummy Creamy Rice Pudding