Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yummy Caramel Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy Caramel Frosting

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2002

      There was plenty of icing left over with this recipe. I cannot describe in writing how yummy this was. Just trust me. I used this frosting with Inez's Old Fashioned Spice Cake #41292. It is a perfect marriage of frosting and cake. I love the maple flavouring in the icing. Thank you Inez. I think that this icing is a real winner. By the way, it is funny that you mentioned that your granddaughter likes this icing with Chocolate cake because my daughter commented that she would like to try your chocolate cake with this icing. Hmm I wonder if this is girl thing. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Excellent! I love homemade frosting and once you taste this, you'll realize that canned frosting is nothing like the real thing. Rich, with wonderful caramel flavor and a fudgy texture. Enough for my 13 x 9 cake, but I would probably increase the amount for a layer cake since I hate to get caught short with frosting. Used mine with a chocolate cake. Only change I'd make would be to reduce the powdered sugar. I used about 3 1/2 cups, and my frosting was very thick. Next time I'd start with 3 cups. Thanks, MizzNezz, for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      This was really good - but I found that 4 cups of confec. sugar was way too much - I had to add about 1/4 cup of milk to get it to become less brick like! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      This is a very yummy frosting. I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe MizzNezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I loved the flavor of this but also had to add milk when I was beating this to lighted it up. It was great on spice cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      I made this recipe on 9/26/12 as part of " MizzNezz's Cook-A-Thon ". Since I didn't want the full recipe, it was reduced by half. Since I love almost anything that has maple the full amount of extract was used.I did have a small problem though, the frosting was a bit on the thin side but that was my fault too much milk was added after adding too much sugar. But in the end it turned out pretty good. This was used to frost Old Fashioned Spice Cake. I've never made a Caramel Frosting before,so I was a little hesitant to say the least. But this is a recipe that I highly recommend to anyone. Thanks for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      This was a wonderful icing recipe. I loved the taste of it, and so did my husband. I could hardly keep him out of it while trying to frost my cake! I didn't use the maple flavoring, just wanted it to taste like caramel. I did have a problem getting it to the right spreading consistency, but that was my problem. I used approximately 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. 4 cups would have been way too much in my opinion. I kept having to add milk by the tablespoon unti I finally got it right. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      OH SO GOOD! I used this for the "caramel" in my Caramel Apple Cupcakes for my son's birthday celebration at school. All of the kids LOVED it! I will be using this for my caramel frosting needs from here on out. THANKS FOR POSTING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Made this for the Caramel Cake I had baked. As suggested, I did not let the sauce cool before adding the confectioners sugar and flavoring. This frosting is delicious and the birthday boy loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Very good. I loved this and couldn't stop eating it while it was warm. It hardened up a bit, just like any other caramel frosting I have tried, so I stuck it in the microwave for a few seconds when it hardened up. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Good flavor, but i had trouble spreading because it dried up quickly, however if you spread it immediatly you may be fine (i waited about 5 minutes, while stirring)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      Thanks for the posting. I too used it to drizzle over the Sour Crewam Banana Bundt Cake (Chef 109553 Lvs2Cook). Fantastic together. I also did not have any maple flavoring but it still had a light maple taste that was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Yummy! This was awesome! I put this on my banana cake and it was a great combination of flavors. Easy to make, too! Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Wow! This is so good. I had never made caramel frosting before and was very pleased with how this turned out. It was super easy and very rich and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      this is wonderful. i use this for my banana cake and the customers at the deli i bake for are always requesting this - it walks out the door as fast as i can make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      This really is yummy. I halved the recipe, and used dark brown sugar as I wanted a rich taste. It was quick and easy, and makes a great icing for chocolate cake. I had some left over, and put it in the fridge - I keep stealing spoonfuls as it tastes like penuche fudge. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      Totally loved this! I left out the maple flavoring as well, since I didn't have any. I used this on the sour cream banana cake (Sour Cream Banana Bundt Cake) from here. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      This frosting is delicious! I baked MiZZNezz' Vanilla Pound Cake and used this frosting with it. I needed only half the measure of frosting for one full 9X13 cake. Thanks MizzNezz - your recipes are sure winners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      This was delicious! I frosted a chocolate cake with it and we all devoured it! It made plenty which is good because I love lots of icing on cakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2004

      I baked some cupcakes today to celebrate the birthday of a family friend. He is partial to caramels, so I thought this would be the perfect frosting. It was really creamy and smooth. It began to get a little dry as I was frosting the cakes, but I added a drop of milk, and it was fine. I didn't use the maple flavoring, but the frosting turned out great even without it! I still have lots of frosting left in the refrigerator for another use. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy Caramel Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.4
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    19%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 21.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 83.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 74.7 g
    298%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites