26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy and very good comfort food. I made the whiskey sauce and another lemon one. Was good with both. Great way to use leftover bread. I love bread pudding! Thanx Barb!1

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE January 01, 2003

AMAZING IS ALL I CAN SAY. Thank you Barb for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caligirl0115 July 18, 2014

Ms Gertz, this is the only recipe I use for bread pudding. I've made it many times and apologize for not reviewing before now. I shop for Pannetone during the Christmas season just to make your recipe! One Pannetonne makes 2 8-inch pans or 1 9x13 pan full. If using the smaller pans, one goes to a neighbor or to the freezer to savor later. The whisky sauce is a keeper too. Many thanks for posting as it is a comfort food that reminds me of my Mom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmallTownGirl February 05, 2011

perfectly delicious!!!! i used 7 pieces of white bread and skim milk. sooooo delicious! thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chungry1 February 07, 2010

This pudding lives up to it's name-yummy! My interpretation included using cranberry-orange bread (which I left out to dry slightly), vanilla soy milk, and 1/2 cup splenda. I didn't make the whiskey sauce. Instead. I took a vanilla pudding cup & warmed the contents slightly in the microwave, then I stirred in some Southern Comfort. This was enough for 2 servings. I topped it with cool whip ultra-lite & it was YUMMY! Made for Let's Party,Dec'09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? December 06, 2009

My best recipe so far for bread pudding. I omitted the cinnamon (since I have been baking so many dishes with cinnamon lately) but added pecan nuts instead. YUMMY since they were on top and roasted really well...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martine in Tremelo November 25, 2009

Absolutely delicious. I had some leftover New Year challah with raisins that was getting pretty stale so I cubed it the night before making the pudding and left it sitting in the dish to dry out. I used the ingredients exactly as written except that I doubled the recipe and made it in a 13x9" glass pyrex pan. It came out buttery delicious and did not need any sauce. It wasn't too dense but still cut nicely. I cut it into squares and brought it into work and it was gone before I knew it. This will be my go-to bread pudding recipe for now on. I can't wait to see how it tastes cold - if it ever lasts that long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adie September 22, 2009

Used raisins and made the whiskey sauce! This was fantastic! and super fast to make. Thanks, Barb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO August 30, 2009

Very yummy thank you! I left out the raisins and did not serve it with the whiskey sauce and it was great. My family gobbled ita ll up!! It was perfect served warm on a cold rainy night like last night! Thanks much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle-Mommy of 3 February 08, 2009

Loved the bread pudding. I used some really nice french bread and it turned out fantastic. Since I didn't have enough ingredients for the whiskey sauce, I used a vanilla glaze that another bread pudding recipe recommended which was a nice combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raygan March 02, 2008
Yummy Bread Pudding