Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yummy Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2002

      Great recipe, polly. On my next batch though, I'm going to add more banana and a smidgen of banana extract for a little more distinct banana flavour. I made them as muffins and they were done after about 45 minutes. I took about 1/2 of them, along with a stick of butter, to work and left them by the coffee maker. They were gone within an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2002

      Mmmmmmm ... I made muffins (complete recipe: 18), baked them for 25 minutes ... I also added banana extract ... thanks, this one is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      This bread recipe is excellent! It was indeed very, very moist and has a wonderful flavor. I used really, really over-ripe bananas and I added 1/2 tsp. banana extract. If you make the loaf rather than muffins, allow the bread to cool a bit in the pan first - it smelled so good that I just couldn't wait for it to cool. When I tried to take the still warm loaf out of the pan, it split in half because it is so tender. We dug in anyway - and is was delicious! A real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2002

      This is by far the best banna bread we have had. It is very easy to make. It browns up very nicely when cooked. Tryed it first in a loaf and the very next day we made another batch in mini muffins for the kids lunches.....Yummy is right !! UPDATE: A hint for Banana Bread lovers such as myself. I was recently over at my sisters house and while getting Ice cubes for a drink I saw Whole frozen Bananas in her freezer. This is a great idea when you only have one or two bananas left. Throw them in the freezer ( with peel on ) , collecting them until you get around to making the bread. No more waste of bananas in our house. We made a batch yesterday from the frozen ones and it was equally as good as using fresh bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      Moist! No, dripping moist! Wonderful flavor, texture. Baked up nicely as a loaf of bread. I used a little more banana and pecans. I think I'll toast the pecans before I add them next time. Great recipe, Polly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

      This is without a doubt 5 STAR Banana Bread. Very moist and flavorful. I used 4 small, very ripe bananas, and needed no additional flavoring. I've tried many banana bread recipes and this one very well be the best I've tried! Don't tell my Mom!! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      Tossed everything in the Breadmaker and 1 hr and 50 minutes later it was done. Great texture and taste. Added 1/2 t of pumpkin pie spice and increased the walnuts. It was a little brown but it did not affect the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      I am new to this site and this is the first recipe I tried. I had a few sorry-looking bananas in the house and needed to use them. We really enjoyed this bread. It is nice and moist and it has a buttery flavor. I omitted the nuts but it turned out great. I do have another banana bread recipe I use but I will alternate it with this one if I have sour cream in the house. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      This is a wonderfully moist banana bread. I made it last night and when I came into the kitchen this morning HALF of it was already gone. Its a good thing I have some more over ripe bananas, because i can see i am going to have to make some more tonight! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2002

      It is really easy to make and it tastes "yummy",but for some unknown reason, mine fell. I've never had anything fall on me. I followed that recipe exactly as above, so it's hard to make a comment when it didn't turn out like it should have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      This is by far the best banana bread I have ever tasted, and everyone that has tried it is in agreement on this. I have made it 4 times and have tried things differently each time. I found that the best way to get a smooth consistency of the bananas is to add all liquid/soft ingredients first, then add all dry ingredients. I also have been adding chopped cashews instead of walnuts. It is fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      YUMMY,YUMMY, the best Banana that I have ever made. I've made a lot of Banana Bread, I've been married for 55 years,also, had child Day Care. Moist,Tasty, you name it, It is GREAT. I doubled the recipe. made 2 loaves plus 6 muffins added Choclate chips to the muffins.Yummy. Thank you for the recipe will be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      This was a very good banana bread, but it didn't "knock my socks off". I used chopped walnuts, sprinkled a little over the top, along with some cinnamon. I think some cinnamon in the batter would have made this even tastier, which I will do next time. It is a very moist bread, though...really yummy with a little bit of cream cheese spread over top:) Thanks for posting ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      yummy is the word! i made a few substitutions- molasses and rice syrup for the sugar, 1/2 whole wheat flour, cottage cheese instead of sour cream and added a little apple sauce. so basically it wasn't the same recipe at all but a great inspiration! i made mini muffins for my boys and they loved them. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      Yummy is right! This is the best Banana bread ever. I made it yesterday afternoon and it is almost gone. The only problem I see is I can't stop at one slice. Thanks for sharing! Sherry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      Found this fab. Left out the nuts. Very moist Made 6 muffins as well as loaf, and only cooked for 30min. Will definately do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This recipe was fantastic.Yummy, yummy I have made this for every family gathering we have, and there are alot of them.Everyone should try this recipe.I also added banana extract 2 tsps. to be exact.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      Yummy is right.Simple to make and it has a wonderful flavor.Will make again for gifts and company.Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      This is the BEST banana bread I have ever had! It smelled wonderful while cooking and tasted even better. Very moist and delicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      This a great recipe, and it sure is Yummy banana bread, a great way to use up those black banana. I have made in large loaf, and mini loaf pan. And both have turned out great, Thank you .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.4
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    39%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 119.6 mg
    39%
    Sodium 741.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 42.4 g
    169%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites