Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yummy and Super Easy Crock Pot Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy and Super Easy Crock Pot Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2002

      Last winter, I made oatmeal in the crockpot just about every week. I like to substitute apple juice for the water and I sometimes add dried cranberries as well as the cinnamon. Delicious! Even my daughter (now 23 mos) loves this nice hot (and healthy!) breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2002

      Nice to wake up and switch on the coffee pot and have nice hot oatmeal already ready to eat. This recipe is great. It is easy to prepare, inexpensive, and healthy. I like my oatmeal with rasins or sometimes I will slice a bananna, add some chopped walnuts, and brown sugar. The dried cranberries, I will be trying next time. I have heard of people making bread pudding with leftover oatmeal too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      Yup, this was as easy as she said. I added dates to mine, about 3/4 C. Tasted yummy and extremely creamy. I do think though that it was probably done at least 2 hours sooner than the recipe suggested. Got leftovers in the fridge for tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      I found this recipe very quick and easy to make, however I did not like the texture. I found the oatmeal to be too creamy, so much so I could no longer taste the oats themselves. Maybe if I reduced the cooking time or added less water my results would be different. Thanks for the good idea though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      I did not care for the texture of this oatmeal. However, my kids did like it. I found it to be too creamy, I like my oatmeal a bit more chewy. Maybe if I didn't let it cook so long it would turn our differently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      I've tried this recipe with both 3 minute and regular oatmeal, and have been very happy with the results. I've got a tiny 1 qt slowcooker that makes half the recipe perfectly and it's wonderful to get up first thing in the morning and have your porridge ready. I like to toss in a handful or so of chopped dried fruit (I like a mix) and it's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      This is such a basic recipe and concept but i would have never thought of it! It can be so versitale, i've already made it a few times and making another one 2nite. I put in whatever sounds good, i'm thinking of putting in dried peaches, almond extract and cinnamon in 2nite. Also when i serve it i have to add alittle brown sugar 2 it just 2 sweeten it up (my own prefrence). Great recipe and soooo simple!!! It cuts down on my time in making breakfast in the morning b4 going off 2 school!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I'm sorry to say that the creamy texture you described came out to be just gloopy. I don't know if it's because I cooked it in such a large crock pot or if the low setting on mine is hotter than yours, but the bottom was liquefied and the top had a cracked and hardened skin. It may just be my preference; I like a denser, thicker oatmeal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Just wasn't a favorite, smelled wonderful all night and I was craving a heartier oatmeal. I think my crock pot may have cooked it faster than older models. The sides were also crusty and hard.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I used steel cut oats and used one cup oats to 4 cups of water. I have a small slow cooker and maybe its too hot but if I leave it on overnight even on low it is overcooked. So I put it on high for a couple of hours before I go to bed, then unplug it in the morning it is perfectly cooked and I just plug it in again to heat it up. I put some frozen peaches as well as cinnamon in it and that was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      We thought this was just okay, although we are not big oatmeal fans to begin with. I did use 3 cups milk and 3 cups water, I think the milk gives it a better flavor. I got a hard crust on top which was were all the cinnamon was. It was also very difficult to clean up, even though I sprayed the pot. Maybe those crock pot liners would make it easier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      My toddler LOVES crockpot porridge and this is a particularly creamy version. I love walking into the kitchen and being able to access "instant" breakfast. This recipe is a hit in this household!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2003

      Absolutely wonderful! I have a nasty cold and put it in the crockpot late at night and had warm comforting hot oatmeal to wake up to with some orange juice.I sprinkled some brown sugar on it and let it cook with the oatmeal. It actually made me feel better! Now thats true comfort food! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Love it!!!! We are keeping this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      I wanted to like this recipe because we always make up a big batch of oatmeal at the beginning of the week, and this would have been so easy. But in the morning I found the oatmeal to be more like very thick oat soup. Quite a lot of it had stuck to the sides of the pot, and when I tried to stir it to even out the texture (it appeared to be thinner at the top and thicker at the bottom) that just made it lumpy. Because you have to use so much extra water to account for the long cooking time, you lose a lot of "oat" flavor. It is very bland, even though we added cinnamon and sugar. (It might actually be great as baby food, though!) I really wanted this recipe to work. My son very much did NOT like it, though. Perhaps it works better in a different brand of slow cooker than the one I'm using.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      I found this pretty mushy after only cooking it for 5 hours on low. I used steel cut oats which usually take alot longer to cook. It was still ok with some brown sugar on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This recipe is really simple! I used half apple juice/half water as another reviewer suggested, and it turned out great that way! Next time, I might even use JUST 5 cups of apple juice, since it did turn out slightly watery. I also added cut up fresh apple pieces, which gave it an excellent flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was an ok recipe. I always use milk when I make oatmeal so it tasted really plain and watery made with water. It was also really slimy and goopy so I had to add a lot of whipping cream to it to give it a smoother texture. We ate it all, but it wasn't nearly as good as it is when made with milk which is unfortunate because it was so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      So easy and the kids love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Strange, but mine was pure liquid :( The oatmeal had dissolved or something. We couldn't even eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy and Super Easy Crock Pot Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (396 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.5
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    15%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes