Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yummy 7 Layer Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy 7 Layer Salad

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2009

      OMG. This was so easy to make. I used my mandolin for all the veggies. I thought the dressing tasted a little funny as I made it, but once I had it WITH the salad....WOW. No one could stop eating this and I was more than happy to take what little leftovers of it we had, home. I made it about 24 hours ago, and just had another bowl and was happy to find out that it really WASN'T soggy and just as good! Definitely a keeper!! THANK YOU for submitting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I've made this recipe a few times now and it turned out great every times. I made just a few adjustments - exchanged a can of sliced water chestnuts, coarsely chopped for the cucumber and omitted the hard boiled egg. The seasoned salt really makes the dressing, although I cut back a bit since 2t. is pretty salty. I also always use Hellman's mayo w/olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      I made this for a gathering and it was a big hit. I was worried that it might make too much dressing for the greens, but that wasn't the case. I added one chopped tomato over the dressing -around the edge for color. I removed about half of the tomato pulp before adding, as I didn't want to water down the dressing. The red really popped against the trifle bowl. This salad is not only delicious, but makes for a gorgeous display.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      I love, love, love this recipe! My mom made this a lot when I was younger but always felt that there was too much mayo in hers. She lost her recipe so this one has taken it's place. This 7 layer salad turned out absolutely amazing! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Everyone thought the salad was wonderful...my friend who does not like peas ate it. She said that it was the best salad she every had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      This ia a good salad but when i make it i use bacon bits instead of regular bacon and for the dressing i use hellmans mayo and mix lemon juice,and sugar,also fresh dill in it and omit the hard boiled everyone always loves it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I added some thinly diced green and red sweet pepper and also some small diced smoked turkey along with small pieces of cooked bacon. I grated the hardboiled eggs to go on top. I used shredded mozzarella cheese. I also used red onion instead of scallions. I guess I had 10 layers.I did use less dressing and a very large oval glass bowl. Beautiful and great tasting! Thanks. I served with marinated salmon steaks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      I have been making this forever and it has always been a family favorite. The only difference is I don't add the cheddar and use sliced tomatoes or grape tomatoes instead of the cheese. I also add a can of drained sliced water chestnuts on top of the peas for added crunch. GREAT salad. The red onion gives it great flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      The foil pan that I brought this in to a small pot luck gathering was scraped clean! It is a beautiful salad. The use of seasoned salt was different from the traditional 7 layer salad. I omitted the cucumber, used the thinly sliced red onion rather than the scallions, used sour cream rather than yogurt in the dressing and included the optional chopped hard-boiled eggs. Made it the night before and refrigerated it until the following day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      This is a classic salad that makes a great presentation. I subbed shredded carrots for the celery and finely diced ham for the bacon. I also included the ham layer under the dressing instead of on top. I agree with another poster that said that mayo is the key, and not Miracle Whip. I prepared this for a Labor Day weekend cookout and came home with an empty bowl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      The first time I made this was in college about 24 years ago. I was the most popular girl in the complex, because I feed everyone a decent meal. I still make it to this day, and now my kids love it. One thing, I never use Miracle Whip for the dressing. I have seen others use it and it is too sweet. You know how some people grew up with Miracle Whip an some on Hellman's/Best Foods? We were a Hellman's family! I also like to add thin sliced carrots and green onions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      This salad is wonderful! I usually use spinach rather than iceberg lettuce and it's very good that way, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      I grew up in the South eating this salad at every barbecue or family get together. That being said, I moved away from home 25 years ago at it had probably been 20 years since I had this salad. Recently we were invited to a

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      This is best the second day but then after that it gets a little bit runny. But it is soooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      I LOVE LOVE this salad. It is so easy to put together and it travels and holds up well. I have made this for a lot of party. It is really a great salad for summer.
      Rita you really know your stuff. Keep giving us more recipes like this.
      Thank you for a great and easy put together salad.

      Dolly K

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Sooooooo good! A huge hit at the party - people had seconds! Followed the recipe exactly, but did add a little extra bacon and used 4 finely chopped eggs (it was a big bowl). I'm already craving this salad again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

    • on June 27, 2010

      Very, very yummy. Served it at a birthday party, got really many compliments for it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I brought this salad to a potluck last night and everyone loved it. I made it just like the recipe said. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Excellent salad! I've had plenty of these types of salads at showers, church potlucks, etc. I was always turned off because these salads were drenched in heavy mayo. This salad is different. The dressing is light and compliments the salad. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy 7 Layer Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.2
     
    Calories from Fat 382
    73%
    Total Fat 42.5 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 64.3 mg
    21%
    Sodium 838.9 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    44%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites