86 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is best mac & cheese recipe I had ever made. I don't like the ones that are all cheddar cheese, and am usually stuck making a velveeta recipe, but never really loved that either. This is now the only mac & cheese I will make! It cooked up very casserole like, but still very gooey & cheesy - it was just great! I made half a recipe, and cut the butter and shredded cheese back a bit (maybe 3 T butter & 2 cups shredded cheese).

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy September 25, 2010

Just made this for dinner tonight- Yummo! The only thing that I did differently was: I didn't have two cans of cheddar cheese soup so instead I used 1 can of cheddar cheese soup and 1 can of nacho cheese flavored soup. It gave the mac and cheese and really good kick. Thanks for the great recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jasonlovesjenn September 09, 2010

Yummiest Ever! Best Mac and Cheese recipe I have tried, made it for a crowd and everyone wanted more. I made one small adjustment, mixed the cheese mixture with the cooked noodles and then topped with cheese. Made it a little easier, and was delicious!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kasieleeb January 12, 2011

I will never use another mac & cheese recipe. I made this for my daughter's grad party. It went so quickly, she didn't even get any. The pan was scraped clean. I used Cavatappi instead of elbows. They hold the sauce better. Never thought I'd use cheese soup in mac & cheese. This was rich, creamy & gooey.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Close July 24, 2012

I was skeptical about making this because I have a pretty tried and true mac & cheese recipe myself. However, I gave it shot because it seemed much easier than my own. I used 16 oz of elbow macaroni, 2 cans of soup, 1 can of evaporated milk, 2 cups of cheese, 1/2 a stick of butter, and I increased the spices just a bit. Wow! It came out so delicious! I only baked it for 20 minutes and it was bubbly, golden-brown, and awesome. I think I'll increase the spices a little bit more next time, but otherwise, it was great. One note: I'm not sure how on Earth this would be if it was made with the full amount of sauce and cheese. Mine was plenty cheesy/creamy and would have been insane if I'd used the full 6 cups of cheese.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kolleen1021 April 21, 2009

First reviewed 5/26/11. Very savory, and so easy! DH was very pleased. I made half a batch, which filled my smaller Pyrex casserole dish nicely. I used broccoli cheese soup and sharp cheddar cheese and adored this combination of spices. Next time I will make with fat-free evaporated milk and Olivio instead of butter. Thank you for posting this recipe, appleydapply! UPDATE: 5/07/12 - family has decided that this is the dish I must bring to every Pot Luck occasion; just don't go crazy just before checking your cholesterol...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL May 07, 2012

This was very bland, and not creamy at all. It's like a dense casserole.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelsea.nichole24 May 03, 2012

I didn't have the ingredients for my normal mac n cheese and figured I'd try this. I used Nacho cheese soup since that's what I had. SOOOOooo boring and just kind of bland tasting and that's WITH a more flavorful soup. I would have been better just swinging it on my own. Sorry. Just wasn't for me...but my dogs were happy they got all the leftovers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerly88 April 30, 2012

I wanted to like it, but it was awful. It tasted like plastic to me. I followed the recipe exactly and no one in my family would eat it. I have made lots of variations of mac and cheese, and this just didn't cut it. I really don't like using the combination of cheddar soup and the milk.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlwaysAl October 12, 2011

Decent, but yummiest ever is a really far stretch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muddyjake February 19, 2011
Yummiest Ever Baked Mac and Cheese