Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yule Log (Buche De Noel) Mccall's Cooking School Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yule Log (Buche De Noel) Mccall's Cooking School

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2010

      I have been using this recipe from the McCall's Cooking School magazine cookbook since 1974. I make it every Christmas and it has become such a tradition that my nieces and nephews and daughters-in-law now include it in their holiday menus. Through the years I have collected decorations for the cake like little saws, little Christmas trees, holly leaves and berries and of course, a little 'logger'. My family usually can't wait to see it. The nice thing about this recipe is that I make it 2 days in advance of the big meal and then all I have to do is decorate and slice. MMMMMMMM! Goood! djointex ( a devoted McCall's cookbook fan)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      I cut this recipe out of McCalls in December 1973 and have made it almost every year since. It is now a holiday tradition. My family prefers it without the coffee, but either way it is a treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Have been making this for years and it is a family favorite! I drag fork times along the length of the log to look like the real thing, then "dust" with chocolate sprinkles. Make it--you will not be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      Fun to make. It light and airy great for after a big meal. I added French Meringue & Meringue Mushroom. Merry Christmas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      This cake was delicious. Followed exactly. Cake is very, very fragile, so treat it gently. Don't worry about using too much sugar on the towel, as it all absorbs. Plan to make this (including adding the filling) the day before because you need to chill it. The flavors absorb much better and the sugar in the filling gets less grainy the longer you leave it. It looks VERY cool after it's left for a few hours to chill. Like a young tree with cracks in the bark. If you want to add branches, you will need to use frosting to blend them together. I used meringue mushrooms with it and the whole thing was adorable! Quite a bit of work, but a very special treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I also have the original recipe from the McCall's December 1973 issue. It is a little dogeared but luckily I had made copies a few years ago. I have made it every Christmas since1973!! I even made it the Christmas of 1982 when my 4th child was born on December 22nd that year. It is a Christmas tradition. Everyone loves it. It is a classic. I trim with red maraschino cherries down the center (about 5 or 6 cut in half to lay flat) with a small curved sliver of the green candied cherries (to look like a leaf) on each side of each cherry. Just before serving I sprinkle with con- fectioners sugar to look like light snow on the log. It makes a beautiful presentation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Super fast and easy-I make a few of these each Christmas season.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      fabulous gluten free cake with nice spring yet strong enough to hold up to the filling and icing, great flavor and precise instructions! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I have made this for 25 years and lost my original page from the McCall's cooking school cookbook during remodeling. I am thrilled to have it again as it is a family favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I love this recipe. I have the original clipping and I make it almost every year for one party or another. It's always impressive and always yummy. I would not change a thing. Just sprinkle with confectioner sugar right before serving or it will soak in and not show up. This recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yule Log (Buche De Noel) Mccall's Cooking School

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.3
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    56%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 148.5 mg
    49%
    Sodium 67.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 21.2 g
    85%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites