8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious tasting recipe. I too cut the recipe down and baked it in a square dish. I have to say, that when I pulled it out of the oven before I added the cream, it didn't look very appealing. However after adding the cream and letting it cook more and brown on top, the final dish looked great. The funny thing is I just read some of the other reviews and one of them says that it was great with the onions. I said to myself, what onions? So I checked the ingredients again and began to laugh, as there were no onions. Certainly I think onions and bacon could send this recipe to new heights of goodness! Made for LETS PARTY 2011 tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo December 31, 2011

Scaled back for 3 servings and cooked in an 8x8 pan, used hi-low milk (not as low in fat as skim but lower than whole) and heated up milk in the microwave and used thickened cream (double cream) as that was all had and half sweet potatoe (1/2 lb) and the other half Nadines as we don't get yukon gold and baked at 200C fan forced oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 11, 2011

Delicious! A tasty combination of potatoes! The onions added much flavor! We will certainly have this vegetable dish again since it will go with any entree possible! Prepared as a participant in the Aus/NZ #38 Swap March 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook March 10, 2010

Fantastic!! I cut down the cooking time by at least half by starting them off in the microwave for 10 min first (I used a round glass casserole with lid) I also skipped on the butter, I dont think it's required at all and who needs the extra calories. The thyme went lovely with the sweetness of the Kumera (red sweet pot) reviewed for Aussie Recipe Swap #32.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie September 30, 2009

I now have a new favorite gratin potato dish! This was very flavorful and was an excellent side with our lemon broiled salmon. I will definitely make this recipe again. Made and reviewed for the 28th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate May 17, 2009

We enjoyed this potato gratin very much and baked it for 100 minutes in total. The potatoes were perfect, tender, buttery and sweet. The spice & herb combination was excellant. Thank you for sharing a recipe that I will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 26, 2008

This was one of my PAC o8 choices and a good one at that ! very different way of preparing potatoes, but a wonderful comfort food at its best !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 March 31, 2008

Give me a break - this was a nothing recipe. Bland and will never make it again. It was like eating nothing. Very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joamm February 03, 2014
Yukon Gold and Sweet Potato Gratin