Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yucca With Garlic Sauce (Yuca Con Mojo) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yucca With Garlic Sauce (Yuca Con Mojo)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2010

      This is the real McCoy. It turns out that it's identical to a recipe in "Three Guys from Miami Cook Cuban," as I discovered when I found this when I couldn't find my book temporarily. I made it for our Christmas dinner and we had no leftovers. It's VERY important not to overcook the yuca or it gets very mushy. I also don't bother with the browning. Frozen yuca is easiest if you can find it where you live (the carry it in regular grocery stores in Miami where my parents live, but can't find it in DC where I live unless I go to a latin grocery store). I've also used this sauce on potatoes (skipping the browning) and it works just as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      It would probably have come out better if only cooked 20 minutes so the texture not so mushy. Also this is too much lemon although some cooked off during the browning process. If I made again I would brown in a separate skillet since preparing this way they stuck to the pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Success! I had never tasted this dish, and made it straight off of the instructions for a cuban friend of mine's 50th birdthday dinner. He said it was exactly like mama used to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I prepared the yucca as a side dish for dinner with friends. It was very easy to make. My friends loved it. The recipe yields 8-10 servings; we were 3 people and for the leftovers I barely had 1 portion left.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      I had less than 1.5 lbs so mine came out a bit too lemony. I thought it was alright, but my parents liked it a lot. I'll make it again for them if I come across another yucca root.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

    • on January 28, 2013

      Instead of lime juice the original mojo it is Bitter orange.
      Flavor it's better, more delicate, subtle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

    • on October 17, 2007

      This would be a Four Star recipe in my book (please see how I rate). Texture is great, and I really liked the yuca flavor. It maybe turned out a bit lemony, but in a good way. I liked it all, the smell, the taste, and and the texture. Then, I liked it so much, I looked up some general information about yuca. It turns out there are different varieties, generally classified "sweet" and "bitter". I am pretty sure you can only get the "sweet" kind in stores, as the "bitter" ones contain cyanogenic glucosides, and are poisonous (this is removed by processing and cooking). I wish I had found that out before taking a few bites of the raw root (kind of like coconut meat, but I was fine, hence my conclusion about what can be found in stores). To sum up, a great recipe, and I will definitively be on the lookout for some more recipes with yuca. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      Really good alternative for a meat and potatoes dinner with a little bit of an exotic touch. These were so delicious. I'll post a photo of our lamb and mashed yucca dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yucca With Garlic Sauce (Yuca Con Mojo)

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 536.7
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    46%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1189.1 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes