Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / You've Got to Be Kidding Me Restaurant Rolls (or Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    You've Got to Be Kidding Me Restaurant Rolls (or Bread)

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2002

      Great! These are just like those yeasty rolls in the restaurant. Talk about an easy way to make bread. Unless I need agression therapy I will never knead another loaf of bread! I have an electric kitchen, so I get out the old heating pad. Put a hand towel on top of the heat pad and a tea towel on top of the bread and place the bread on top of the heat pad to rise. Works perfectly every time. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2002

      BINGO!! You've nailed it. There is a fairly "fancy" restaurant I have been to a few times and they serve these crossiants that have this sweet/sticky glaze. As you suggested I used the frozen dinner roll dough and as soon as I bit into one of these I knew this was the "secret" to those fancified crossiants!!! Not only does it taste wonderful, but they look so nice with that glistening glaze over them. I will be using this on both the frozen dinner roll dough as well as crossiants!! Thanks for sharing this GREAT recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      I put this on a loaf of Harvest Wheat Bread that had just come out of my bread machine last night. We'd had such a big dinner that I didn't even offer it to anyone. When my youngest daughter came home from school this afternoon, she sliced the bread and proceeded to prepare her afternoon snack. She came to me and said, "Mom what did you put on top of this bread? It's so shiny and pretty and it tastes delicious!" I told her I'd made a honey and butter glaze and used it rather than the traditional butter. Now she wants me to use this method for all of my homemade breads in the future. Thanks for sharing Heather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      these were GREAT! i made them for our christmas dinner. because i had so much to cook i needed an easy roll recipe. this fit the bill perfectly. i did use butter instead of margarine but only because i didn't have any in the house. the glaze keeps the rolls very soft and it taste so yummy. these are so good that among the tons of leftovers i had there was not a single roll left. i will definitely make these as a regular addition to our table. thanks for sharing the recipe! tt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Made these for Easter yesterday and wow-they are even better than the ones you get in a restaurant.I used Rhodes frozen rollls for this recipe. These rose in about 4 1/2 hours which was about an hour before dinner so I went ahead and baked them. Right before dinner I put them back in the oven for about 5 minutes and they were just as good as they were when I first took them out of the oven. I melted the margerine and honey and used a pastry brush to put on the rolls. I used 2 1/2 TBSP margerine and 1 1/4 TSP honey. I brushed one with the honey mixture to make sure that I liked it and my sister shoved the whole thing in her mouth-my mom was saying "don't put anything on them in case I don't like them". Then she tasted one and said "Put it on all of them" LOL. I literally had to hide them from my sister (this is a girl who only weighs 108 pounds, and when we go out to eat, she eats about 7 or 8 rolls first before dinner even arrives). Thank you so much for sharing this-I can't wait to make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      So very yummy and so easy. mY husband and boys could not get enough. I used the smaller amount of honey and the larger amount of butter, which suited us fine. Just a hint of sweetness was all that was necessary. Oh, and DO use real butter. I never buy margarine, so wasn't going to get any special for this. But the butter is very tasty and although the studies go back and forth constantly.....the margarine is likely no better for you.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      This is a great trick, HeatherFeather! I love the rolls from a local steakhouse and these tasted just like it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      Do not make this recipe!! It is way too good! I topped my homemade buns Homemade Buns with this little trick and it was so incredibly delicious! My kids thought the honey was a very special treat too. The problem was that I couldn't control myself and promptly ate 3 buns right on the spot! So I repeat, do not make this recipe unless you want to eat yourself crazy! So much for watching my food intake right before Christmas ;) Off to eat other bun right now. . . . .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2003

      I thawed the frozen bread dough in the fridge overnight, and layed it out to rise in the morning. It took about 4 hours and it was ready to go. I cut the loaves into roll-size peices using kitchen shears and placed them on a lightly oil-sprayed cookie sheet. The margarine was a little difficult to spread without slipping off the hot rolls and into the pan, so I let them cool until they were cool enough to handle, but still warm, and I dipped the tops in the mixture. I got a more even coat, and there was less mess. My only complaint is that the dough was kinda chewy instead of fluffy like in the restaurants, but still very good. I am adding pictures of the rolls and the 1 loaf I made soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      Thank you HeatherFeather for this wonderful tip! I used this to make Parkerhouse rolls and they came out fantastic...just like rolls in one of my favorite steakhouses! No more rolling out dough...no more kneading. This will be my main recipe for breads and rolls from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      These were really good and easy to make. I used butter and thicker, natural honey - it turned out great! I also used the tips from other chefs to turn the rolls upside down and dip into the honey mixture - this worked great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      These were an awesome addition to our Thanksgiving table!! Rolls really complete the meal menu and these were delicious and so easy to make! I used Rhodes frozen bread dough for mine! Tony

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      These were good. I have never had them before in a resaurant or otherwise. My son said mom you have to make these again. I think he ate four to himself. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Mouthful of Love! so yummy and sinful, but they are terrific! I used this on a frozen yeast parkerhouse roll tin. Will make again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      i used this on crecent rolls instead. soooooooooo goooooooooooood! thanks for sharing such a great tip! will go into my favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Thanks for revealing "the secret" Heather! I used Rhodes frozen dinner rolls and they were perfect! My kids devoured these up! I am making them again today! Thanks so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2004

      Fantastic!!! My family didn't realize they were from frozen dought! Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      Oh Heather, what have you done to us? I can't believe how delicious these were. I almost ate them all by myself the day they were made, but my son fought me for them, and managed to grab a few for himself. I can't wait to start making other style rolls out of these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      super easy and a big hit when I served them alongside a poppyseed chicken casserole. I always have frozen dough on hand I just need to remember to take it out earlier to give it enough time to thaw. Thanks for a great new way to serve rolls.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      Thanks for the tip! It didn't quite draw 5 star raves, but it's a great idea for perking up the rolls and we'll be using it again. :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for You've Got to Be Kidding Me Restaurant Rolls (or Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.4
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    83%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 133.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen bread dough

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites