Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Youvarlakia Avgolemono (Greek Meatball-Egg/Lemon Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Youvarlakia Avgolemono (Greek Meatball-Egg/Lemon Soup)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2003

      This was really a good soup Evelyn. I hope you don't mind, but I just couldn't put 4oz butter in it. I reduced that to 1oz. This is a very easy to make and tasty recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This recipe was so easy to make! I really enjoyed the soup and I'm looking forward to sharing it with my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I'm a long term Ev fan and this recipe bears her traditional hallmark which, as a computer professional I really appreciate.. the directions are always crystal clear.. the algorithm is completely unambiguous.. thus the cook is never confused !! I was used to doing youvarlakia with dill.. This was an interesting change. Thanks Ev.. 6 dinner guests including my daughter are singing my ( your) praises..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      As usual Ev, a fabulous recipe! I really fancied some Avgolemono (my Greek friends parents used to bring it to me at uni!) and after finding your recipe I wasn't disappointed! Even DH, who at first turned his nose up at the thought of egg in a soup, is a total convert! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      This soup is fantastic !!!! LOVE the flavors. Made as written, minus the pork and mint, didn't have it. I will be making this alot in the future. Thank you, Evelyn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Very flavorful! The potatoes make it very thick and creamy. i used regular white flour and it came out just fine. next time i will use mint instead of dill. i dont care for dill. i think it needs a littlebit more lemon juice too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Very good soup! Much better on day 2 after the flavors had time to meld. Freezes well too! Thanks Evelyn:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      This was really delicious and creamy(despite being dairy free). A good comfort food meal. I added some extra rice with the veggies to make the soup heartier since it was the main course. Thanks for a keeper, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      this was great ev, but i made a few changes:) i made my usual meatballs, made the soup with 6 c chicken stock, used 1/3 c arborio rice, i was out of long grain. simmered it for 30 minutes, didn't use cornstarch, just the eggs and lemon, it was delicious! served with fresh parsley garnish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      Absolutely wonderful soup. The family has asked me to make this again this weekend. Very tasty and comforting. Thank you Evelyn for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      Delicious soup! Added the veggies along with the meatballs, and everything was done in abot 35 minutes. Loved the subtle lemon flavor (I used 2 lemons). Very comforting and refreshing soup on a rainy day. I served this with feta and fresh pear slices alongside. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      What a lovely soup. I added about 2 tablespoons more of lemon juice as I really love the flavor but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      Wonderful recipe!!! DH & I both loved this soup and it will be in my regular soup rotation. I did use 8 oz of frozen peas & carrots instead of fresh carrots. I added them towards the end of the vegetable cooking time. I garnished with pasley flakes and thin slices of a red pepper for color as you can see in my photo. I also found this very easy to prepare. Thank you Evelyn for sharing this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Evelyn, you've done it again! I made this without the pork (I didn't have any) and used more garlic than you indicated. Otherwise, I followed your instructions. One person who said "No lemon in my soup" had it before I added the egg/lemon mixture--he loved it. I thought that the lemon mixture was like magic--it made the soup so creamy and just the right thickness, without making it heavy. A lovely soup. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Youvarlakia Avgolemono (Greek Meatball-Egg/Lemon Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (547 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 570.1
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    43%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 237.0 mg
    79%
    Sodium 205.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 35.7 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites