Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Your Kids Time out Lunch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Your Kids Time out Lunch

    Average Rating:

    223 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 223

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2002

      COMEDIC GENIUS!!! hahahahahahaha. thanks for the laugh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      Sandy1 and 1Steve. With all due respect, you really need to lighten up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      Great sense of humor Blayke! We all have those frustrated days when kids are leaning on our last nerve! My kids thought it was funny when I read them the recipe. It's a hoot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      I think this is soooo funny!! I called my mom and she said she wished she had thought of it first for my brother and I. I have 4 little ones and sometimes their misbehaving drives me insane, maybe this would be a great shock back in to reality!! I loved it!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      I was terribly disappointed my first 2 tries at this recipe, it seemed I was missing a step, but 3rd time worked liked a charm!! This recipe is a keep for sure! Thanks for the laugh :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      Back in my day we would have been happy to have an entire slice of bread all to ourselves, and the warm water would have been especially welcome after trudging thru 4 feet of snow on our way back from cleaning the stables..... (bahahahahahaha) FUNNY STUFF, THANKS FOR THE LAUGH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2002

      This is a hoot! My mother DID do this to me as a kid, and I'm still here. But then again, if CPS only knew...(smile)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Good humor! With obesity a major problem in children (nearly everyone!), it would not hurt them to skip a meal now and then. A grateful child could be very pleasant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Works for the young and it works for the old geezers too.
      Joking all a side when we were kids (there was 8 of us kids) none of us would eat the crust from bread or toast. So mom would put the crust in a big tin box and keep it to use for making stuffing. Woe to her surprise, the box just never seemed to fill up. She was worried maybe mice somehow were getting into the box. Those little mice were 8 little kids who would not eat the crust while it was fresh but loved it when it was old and "crusty". It was one of the best treats we ever had. How many of you today eat croutons well we ate home made croutons when we were young. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      VERY APPROPRIATE meal for children who decide they aren't sharing in the family meal their parent worked hard to prepare! My husband and I will NOT serve separate meals to our children. I own up to recipes that fail; if I won't eat them no one else has to--but if it's delicious it's good enough for the whole family--the result for our family? People are always amazed at the variety & types of food our children are willing to sample and eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      I thought this was great. At first I was thinking that it was just funny, but then as I read the reviews I realized that there was more to this than just a joke. Even if the original poster was just out for a laugh. I am blessed, fortunate and sometimes ungrateful. My water is clean and I have more to eat than a slice of bread. This has triggered an idea for a homeschool project. And I thank you for that - but my kids probabyt won't!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Bwahahahahahaha.... *climbs back on chair and wipes tears from eyes* OMGosh, love it! Putting this one in my all time favourites cookbook for sure. I love the frugality and simplicity of this excellent recipe! For those with their undies in a bunch, take a chill pill and lighten up... and truthfully, sometimes our kids needs to be reminded that life is pretty darn good for the most part and nearly everything we have is both a blessing and a privilege.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      This is perfect for teenagers too! Diffinately a goto meal. Will add it to the regular rotation! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      recipe improvement: i let the bread set out for 24 hours before served...gave it a bit more "crispness" depends on how bad your kids have been...you may give them a side of mustard or ketchup dipping sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      This is actually a healthy snack! Low fat, high fiber...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      I'll remember this next time my husband complains! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      I love this! Budget friendly and easy to prepare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      So glad to have found this recipe again! My mom used to make this for me when I was a young scamp. Of course, I'd forgotten the proper ingredients and the sitting time for the water and bread. Never again now it's safely housed at Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      Great recipe, but don't just serve it to the kids, there are many adults who could benefit from the meal. It might make them appreciate the wonderful country we live in and stop their pity party's and "poor me" festivals. Life is good!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Hilarious!!! :D Anyone who is "offended" by this recipe needs to seriously get a life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Your Kids Time out Lunch

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.1
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    12%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 139.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes