19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

soooo goooood. this is every low-carber's dream dinner, and no, i definitely did not miss the noodles, because everything else was so flavorful. i halfed the recipe, which seemed to work just fine, and threw in some chedder instead of parmesan, ground chicken instead of italian sausage links. wonderful, will be making again -- and often!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milla October 19, 2003

I've tried something similair but this one worked out much better for us. We enjoyed the spinach (threw in some chopped kale also) and mushrooms. The only small change I'd make next time is cut back the water abit cause the zucchini adds moisture to the dish already. I increased the beef 1/2 lb & used cottage vs ricotta. Excellent dish & great for carb counters, thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 April 14, 2010

I really enjoy the flavor of this recipe. I cooked the meat and sauce until it was very very very thick to and sauted the zucchini before making the caserole to prevent it from running

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvdaizeys June 27, 2006

This was quite good--everyone went back for seconds. I did take heed of the other reviewers and took a few precautions to guard against runniness. I pre-roasted the zucchini; I also added sliced eggplant and pre-roasted that, too. I used thawed frozen spinach (2 10-oz pkgs) and squeezed all the liquid out before adding to the casserole. I omitted the 1/2 cup water altogether. Other changes were that I added 1/2 tsp of thyme, I used part-skim ricotta and mozzarella and I used 2 lbs hamburger, omitting the sausage. I really did NOT miss the noodles. A keeper. UPDATE: I gave this 4 stars after eating it for the first time, but then I ate the leftovers last night. After sitting in my fridge for a day, what had been a pleasant casserole became absolutely delectable. From now on I'm cooking this one day ahead, because the flavors really seem to meld overnight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo August 27, 2005

My DH and I ate this last night for supper, and we thought it was very good. We did not miss the noodles, as the zucchini and mushrooms gave the dish a nice texture. We had no problem with the dish being runny. The only thing we did different was to sauté the spinach in olive oil, as opposed to steaming as the recipe states. We will definitely be making this again. Thank you so much Leslie in Texas for a fabulous recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar³ August 14, 2004

This was pretty good - a little runny. But I liked that it wasn't as heavy as traditional lasange. Think next time I'll use cottage cheese instead of ricotta just bc I prefer the texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedWonder October 28, 2003

This was excellent! I finally got my husband to eat spinach...in fact he didn't even notice that it was in there until I told him! This one is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaime63 April 12, 2009

Thanks a bunch for this recipe. The whole family enjoyed it. The only thing I changed was I used hot Italian sausage from the butcher. He makes a wonderful sausage and with all the rest of the combo..well I love lasagna so for me it's a keeper no doubt! The plus is I get to use my fresh zucchinis when in season. I love all the herbs as well..Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glitter October 17, 2007

Thank you Chill for recommending this recipe - We used 2 lbs ground beef, cottage cheeze and frozen spinach that we squeezed dry. I made this in a larger pan and did not find this to be as runny as most zuke dishes. It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay September 05, 2007

The whole family enjoyed it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae Lin December 18, 2006
"you'll Never Miss the Noodles" Lasagna