Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "you'll Never Miss the Noodles" Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "you'll Never Miss the Noodles" Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2003

      soooo goooood. this is every low-carber's dream dinner, and no, i definitely did not miss the noodles, because everything else was so flavorful. i halfed the recipe, which seemed to work just fine, and threw in some chedder instead of parmesan, ground chicken instead of italian sausage links. wonderful, will be making again -- and often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I've tried something similair but this one worked out much better for us. We enjoyed the spinach (threw in some chopped kale also) and mushrooms. The only small change I'd make next time is cut back the water abit cause the zucchini adds moisture to the dish already. I increased the beef 1/2 lb & used cottage vs ricotta. Excellent dish & great for carb counters, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      I really enjoy the flavor of this recipe. I cooked the meat and sauce until it was very very very thick to and sauted the zucchini before making the caserole to prevent it from running

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      This was quite good--everyone went back for seconds. I did take heed of the other reviewers and took a few precautions to guard against runniness. I pre-roasted the zucchini; I also added sliced eggplant and pre-roasted that, too. I used thawed frozen spinach (2 10-oz pkgs) and squeezed all the liquid out before adding to the casserole. I omitted the 1/2 cup water altogether. Other changes were that I added 1/2 tsp of thyme, I used part-skim ricotta and mozzarella and I used 2 lbs hamburger, omitting the sausage. I really did NOT miss the noodles. A keeper. UPDATE: I gave this 4 stars after eating it for the first time, but then I ate the leftovers last night. After sitting in my fridge for a day, what had been a pleasant casserole became absolutely delectable. From now on I'm cooking this one day ahead, because the flavors really seem to meld overnight!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2004

      My DH and I ate this last night for supper, and we thought it was very good. We did not miss the noodles, as the zucchini and mushrooms gave the dish a nice texture. We had no problem with the dish being runny. The only thing we did different was to sauté the spinach in olive oil, as opposed to steaming as the recipe states. We will definitely be making this again. Thank you so much Leslie in Texas for a fabulous recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      This was pretty good - a little runny. But I liked that it wasn't as heavy as traditional lasange. Think next time I'll use cottage cheese instead of ricotta just bc I prefer the texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This was excellent! I finally got my husband to eat spinach...in fact he didn't even notice that it was in there until I told him! This one is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Thanks a bunch for this recipe. The whole family enjoyed it. The only thing I changed was I used hot Italian sausage from the butcher. He makes a wonderful sausage and with all the rest of the combo..well I love lasagna so for me it's a keeper no doubt! The plus is I get to use my fresh zucchinis when in season. I love all the herbs as well..Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Thank you Chill for recommending this recipe - We used 2 lbs ground beef, cottage cheeze and frozen spinach that we squeezed dry. I made this in a larger pan and did not find this to be as runny as most zuke dishes. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      The whole family enjoyed it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      Great recipe. Have made similare a lot. Solve the water problem by roasting zuchini slices. I also sometimes add roasted egg plant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      the recipe sounded wonderful be we were dissapointed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      Made this for dinner and it was very good. I used sweet 'chicken sausage' to keep it South Beach friendly, however, next time I'll use hot chicken sausage as I found it needed an extra kick, and perhaps add some red pepper flakes. We found it also needed salt and pepper. There was a bit of confusion (on my part) with the ingredients. The steps listed were following the exact order of the ingredients, however, when I got to the parsley I wasn't quite sure when to put it in so I sprinkled it over the ricotta/egg mixture. Next time I'll add it with the other seasonings or mix it with the ricotta/egg mixture. Thanks for sharing this recipe Leslie. I'll definately be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      My family loved this they said to definitely make it again. I read the other reviews about this being runny so I only added 6oz of water.Season everything as you go. It needed more salt for us..Enjoy I will make this again..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      Very good.I used cottage cheese and only ground beef. A very good south beach diet meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      Great recipe!Turned out perfect,froze some for another meal.thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      I've made this once and I've given the recipe to a friend and she made it. Both times it has been delicious and well-received. I added red wine to the sauce and used more mushrooms than called for (about 8 oz). I also defrosted some frozen spinach, squeezed the liquid out and used that. It was a little runny, but I used my turkey baster and squeegied out the liquid. I refrigerated it overnight, cooked it about an hour and ten minutes and still the zucchini in the middle could've used more cooking. All in all, I thought this was a GREAT recipe for people on Atkins/South Beach Diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This was a very good & tasty lasagna dish & we did not miss the noodles. It was slightly runny so next time I will drain the fat once the meat is browned. Also found it lacked some seasonings (especially salt/pepper) so I will add s&p, some red pepper flakes & will also add a bay leaf or 2 to the meat/vegetable mix. I will also incorporate the spinach with the ricotta & layer the mixture on top of the zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2003

      I absolutely loved this recipe. I did not find it runny. It was so favorful. Definitely a low carber's dream!!! I made a caesar salad and garlic bread with low carb bread. An excellent meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "you'll Never Miss the Noodles" Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 569.1
     
    Calories from Fat 340
    59%
    Total Fat 37.7 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 183.4 mg
    61%
    Sodium 1107.9 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 42.1 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites