34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good, and very easy. I am only giving it 4 stars tho, because when made as the recipe states, I too found it to be a bit bland. I added more basil, a tablespoon of sugar (needed it to balance the flavor, not to make it sweet) and a good handful of grated Romano cheese. I served it with Cheesecake Factory Romano Chicken Cheesecake Factory Romano Chicken, and a thick slice of a good roasted garlic bread. It was really good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueguitargirl1985 October 08, 2009

Very yummy sauce!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaMarieCooking September 26, 2009

We love this stuff! Usually double it so we have leftovers for lunches and sometimes add a pound of browned Italian sausage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bama Expat September 14, 2009

Excellent and easy recipe!! I however let the sauce simmer more so it thickens and I add some Parmesan Cheese for some extra flavor. Also, there is no need to use a 32 oz can, use a 28 oz can for a thicker and richer sauce!! Enjoy! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deejer12 October 21, 2012

I agree with other reviewers that this recipe was easy. I gave it 2 stars (fair) because we found it pretty bland. If you have to make a number of changes to pump up the flavor, I see this as a different recipe. I wouldn't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyinManvel March 03, 2012

I love this recipe, I've made it the past two years for Valentines Day. My kids love it!! I add shrimp to mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brame February 13, 2010

OMG!!My DD was licking the bowl. She is 8 so I am sure many people understand how happy this made me. She wants me to keep this recipe a family secret. I loved it too. Thanks for sharing * Pamela * !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Laurel August 13, 2009

We loved it, but I made it according to the notes I took from watching Racheal Ray on her 30 minutes meals show. The difference was that she only seemed to pour in a 1/2 cup of vodka on the show, and less basil, and it came out perfect for us. It is now a regular in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Genevieve H. May 11, 2009

Pretty good as is. I added quite a bit of salt and pepper for flavor, about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and topped with parmigiana cheese. The sauce was a bit thin so I may reduce the chicken stock and crushed tomatoes next time. It was very flavorful. The basil makes a huge difference. I would definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan_ways March 23, 2009

Excellent sauce- 'nuff said. Thanks for posting !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx February 24, 2009
You Won't Be Single for Long Vodka Cream Pasta