100 Reviews

Update 5/31/10 - I've been using this recipe for over a year now, to accompany "To Die For Crock Pot Roast To Die for Crock Pot Roast. I use the broth from the roast to make Kittenkal's Gravy Kittencal's Easy No-Fail Make Anytime Turkey Gravy and pour it over these puddings. It is a family favorite. I like to mix some dried thyme and rosemary into the pudding batter for added flavor. **Important recipe notes:***In order to get these to really rise, you MUST mix up the batter ahead of time and let it sit out on your counter to get to room temperature. If the batter is too cold it doesn't have as much of a chance to rise, and you will end up with little flat hockey pucks! Also, do NOT fill your muffin tins with batter..in fact I use only about 3/4 inch of batter in each muffin tin, to get the highest rising Yorkshire puddings.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyKatarina May 31, 2010

I wish I could give this more stars. And I forgot to rate it when I made it a couple of months ago. I've never made yorkshire pudding before and we were having a dinner party where I was making a prime rib roast. One of the guys is very English so I thought I would give it a try. Again I go and make a new recipe with company coming. To make sure it wasn't a real flop, I researched Yorkshire Pudding and read a number of different recipes. I chose this one because it has the most basic ingredients in it. I also made it in the morning and let it sit at room temperature all day until I was ready to use it. My English girlfriend makes it all the time and that what she told me to do. I doubled the recipe and used 2 muffin tins. Well I'll tell you, I have never seen such poofy Y.P. before. They were huge and tasted oh so good with my homemade gravy. I got the thumbs up from everyone and I was one proud hostess. I can't wait to make these again. Thanks for such an easy and yummy recipe

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee March 31, 2010

My family loves this recipe! I followed a reviewers advice and used three eggs instead of a cup and it was PERFECT! They rose beautifully and tasted fabulous!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starkitten April 12, 2010

Very nice. My only concern is that everyone thought it a bit eggy. Otherwise a very good recipe. I made 12 full size muffin cup yorkshires with 3 eggs, 3/4 cup milk and flour. My mother used to turn the oven off after the 20 minutes and then leave them in the oven to "cure" while the dinner prep finished and I think that was a good idea. i didn't do that and most of mine fell after they came out of the oven. Updated: this time I made it with 3 eggs and a full cup of each milk and flour. It still made 12 muffin cup sized puddings, It was less eggy that way.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir February 14, 2010

My first attempt at Yorkshire Pudding is a Hit !
Cut recipe to 2/3 C each (which was 3 large eggs). Importantly, whisked eggs and milk first, then slowly added sieved flour, then let batter sit for 1 hour to let bubbles escape. Mixed gently before filling smoking muffin tins 2/3 full (I also used beef fat from roast). The results ? Well take a look at the photo and you decide !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScottFreeYYZ December 28, 2012

I once had Yorkshire Pudding at a restauant in Portland, Oregon, and had no idea what it was, but I loved it! I had to ask the waiter what it was! That was years ago, and I have been wanting to see if I could make it at home. Well, today is Christmas 2012, and my husband made an amazing prime rib roast (salt encrusted. A first for him too), so I thought I would try and make Yorkshire Pudding, and I picked this recipe, and am so happy I did! It's amazing! I used my large muffin tin which holds 6 muffins. We had bacon for breakfast, so I used a scant teaspoon of bacon grease in each muffin hole. I didn't leave my batter out all day like I should have, but the stove was hot, so I just set the bowl on top and stirred it once in awhile for about 45 minutes. I added a tiny bit of salt and some pepper to the batter, filled them about 1/3 full, and they rose beautifully. I posted my first pictures ever on a recipe site of the puddings because I was so pleased with them! I wish I could give it 10 stars, and thank you SO much for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary December 25, 2012

I have tried and failed with previous Yorkshire pudding recipes. This one is so easy to remember and easy to make. I think it is worth noting that 1 cup of eggs is 4 large eggs. Also, I use about 1/4 cup of batter per cupcake tin. It took less than 15 minutes though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
just_casey January 13, 2008

These are wonderful! I followed the recipe the way it was written and loved them. I will be making these often. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orangetoamber January 02, 2015

First try with very few ingredients and it was to die for! It rose perfectly and was so delicious! Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynthia C. November 23, 2014

I've never had this made by a pro so I wasn't sure what to expect. I wasn't making a roast so I had no drippings and used EVOO instead. I also used an extra large muffin pan so I only got six muffins. They were crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside, i made some brown gravy and had them with that and a strip steak. Delicious and I'll be making them again. One caveat, I only used three eggs per many reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach December 29, 2013
Yorkshire Pudding