10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fresh and refreshing - this is a great salad. I made some changes but kept the integrity of the dish. I used long English cucumber, so I didn't bother peeling or seeding it and it looks nicer if you don't! I also made 1/2 of the dressing with only 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, which was perfect for me. Made for wc's Football Pool win for week 3. Thanks weekend cooker! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif September 23, 2012

This is a very refreshing salad with bright flavours and the yogurt dressing really cuts the fat from my normal mayonnaise-based dressings. For me, there was possibly a touch too much cumin but that's just personal taste. I could see using this dressing for all sorts of recipes but next I'll try it with turkey burgers. Thanks for a lovely salad recipe! Made for PAC 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud March 25, 2012

This was a little too creamy for me....I halved the sauce as suggested by other posters, but it was still too much for me. I thought it overpowered the flavor of the cucumber and tomatoes. I did use fresh parsley and cilantro. I also salted and drained the cucumbers. The cumin added an unexpected element in the sauce, which accompanied the cucumber and tomato very well. I could see adding some diced avocado as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 03, 2011

It's amazing what the cumin does for this salad. I very much liked the sound of this salad with one exception, the cucumber!. Not being a great fan of them I almost passed it up but then decided to make it with zucchini instead. It was wonderful, everything worked together perfectly and lunch was very much enjoyed. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 23, 2011

What a wonderful, refreshing salad!!!! I luved the simplicity and great taste of this recipe! The cumin and parsley added great flavour and everything blended nicely together. The veggies were crisp and yummy just perfect for a hot summers day. I did not deseed or peel my cuc and tomatoes as they were organic and I was planning on eating the salad right away anyways. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your recipe with us, weekend cooker! Ill make it again. Made and reviwed for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #42 July 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 04, 2010

DH loves this kind of salad. I usually leave out the parsley because he doesn't really care for it. Reviewed for Gimmie 5 Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh December 20, 2009

We really enjoyed this salad! Very easy to assemble. I used a seedless cucumber and red onion, otherwise, made as directed. Thanks, weekend cooker! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees July 04, 2009

Lovely salad, made for lunch today. I chunked the cukes and didn't bother with salting them. Delish, nice crunch and refreshing, loved the cumin flavor. Made for 123 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby May 31, 2009

I made and enjoyed this recipe for lunch today. I did not de-seed the cucumbers as I really enjoy the seeds. The taste of the salad was good, but there was too much of the yogurt dressing for the amount of vegetables I had. I even used a large cucumber and 3 medium tomatoes. Next time I think I would half the amount of dressing. The fresh cilantro and parsley added a great flavor though. Made for Potluck tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 January 21, 2009

I doubled the recipe, and served this today as one of several salads for a casual family lunch. Because the cucumbers I always buy (generally known in Australia as Lebanese cucumbers, although I've no idea how Lebanese they actually are!) have a very thin skin and minimal or barely discernible seeds, I skipped steps one to three. I did make the salad close to the time it was served. I also did drain the tomatoes, by squeezing out excess juice. I used a red onion and Greek yoghurt - so divinely creamy! Loved the blend of flavours, and particularly liked the cumin in this. Thanks for sharing this recipe, weekend cooker. It's one I'll defintely be making again: so refreshing and flavoursome, and can it really be only 1.1 g fat per serve? I guess so, when you check over the ingredients! Made for EVERY DAY IS A HOLIDAY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder September 07, 2008
Yogurt Tomato Salad