Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yogurt Fruit Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yogurt Fruit Bars

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2008

      Made these for my new sugar free diet. I followed directions exactly, and used dried apple and cranberry pieces. I didn't have it in the oven long -less than 30 min and they were already way too browned. They were overdone and dry, with a bland flouriness to them. I may try this again, with less cooking time, maybe more applesauce and some oatmeal, and some protein powder. We did eat them for breakfasts, but were not crazy about them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This is a great starter recipe or "idea recipe" as I call it. There are a lot of ways to change it and make it your own. I found it got a little too fluffy so next time I will half the soda and powder. This had a great taste and I can't wait to try different combinations of fruits! I'm already thinking of playing with the flour too maybe making it half oat flour - yum! I kept half fresh and froze half, I can see myself making several batches at a time to freeze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      I'll have to try these again another time and try to rate them higher. My main "issue" with these is that the recipe said to bake for 45-50 minutes. I checked on mine after 27 minutes and they were quite brown. Thus they ended up being quite dry whereas I had anticipated them being moist like other reviewers had described. I made these exactly as described using a tropical fruit mix, which was perfect since they came in small bits that worked out very nicely. I omitted the nuts since my kids don't really like nuts in their baked goods. They were okay straight from the oven, but I tossed the leftovers because they were just too dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This recipe makes a batch of fabulous little snack cakes, perfect for a breakfast or tea-time treat. I followed all the dry ingredient suggestions - using apricots and currents as my dried fruit mix because that's what I happened to have on hand. For me the nuts are a must, but the cake could certainly work just fine without them. I do not keep juice concentrate in the house as a norm, so I decided to juice an orange and add a bit of honey to thicken and sweeten it before adding it to the yogurt. I added 1 Tbsp of olive oil...it seemed sufficient to me. Because my oven heats unreliably I always begin to check any quick bread type of baking item at about 25 minutes and my cake needed only 35 minutes total (using basic toothpick method). The end result was moist, light and nicely golden colored. I enjoyed the blend of the yogurt, OJ and apricot flavors with "MommyMakes" suggested spices. This is a definite keeper recipe!! I look forward to making it again - planing ahead of time to mix different flavors of fruit, yogurt and juices together with the same recipe guidelines. It is a quick, easy and delightful treat with a no-guilt aftertaste!! THANKS.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      I messed these up. My oven was at 400 degrees and I forgot to put it down. Then I set the timer for 45 minutes and left them. So... they burned. The bottoms were ok but the tops were way too far gone. So I cut off the ends and sliced the tops off. Since the flavor is great I cubed it up and put it in a big ziploc to use as the base for bread pudding. I recommend these because the taste is lovely. But I'd recommend that you check your temp! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      I am sorry to say that these haven't worked very well for me. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used two egg whites instead of one egg, which had already been tried by another reviewer. They turned out quite bland and it seems (and tastes) like there's too much rising agents in the batter (and I am quite sure I have used the right amounts). 1 ts of baking soda seems a lot for only 1 1/2 c. flour, escecially if you also put in 1/2 ts of baking powder. And my bars were cooked after only 25 minutes, not the 45-50 indicated, but on top of the ingredient lists, it's written it takes 30 minutes counting 5 minutes prep, so is 45-50 minutes a typo? I am unfortunately not sure we 'll eat the whole batch

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      I made these last night and really liked them, but with the following changes: (MOST IMPORTANT - baking time in recipe is too long)<br/>1) I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain<br/>2) I used only raisins since my children don't like other dried fruit<br/>3) I used 2 tablespoons of honey and 2 tablespoons of water instead of apple juice concentrate, I was worried this would not make it moist enough so I added a few more spoons of yogurt too<br/>4) I checked the oven after 20 minutes, saw the top was browned and took it out, and it was baked perfectly<br/><br/>I will make these again and experiment with other changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      This recipe needed sugar. It was very bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      This is a lovely light snack or as suggested quick breakfast. My toddler liked it and my diabectic MIL loved it and asked for the recipe. I used grated, fresh, ginger because I feel that it gives better flavour than the powdered kind. The nuts, ginger and mixed peel flavours go so well together. Very quick to pull together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      I used dried cranberries and cherries. I also used white grape juice instead of apple juice concentrate. I used a little more than 1/4 cup. I also added some vanilla extract. I spread it into a 7x11-inch dish and baked it for 45 minutes and it came out perfect. The title is a bit deceptive, as you're expecting the "fruit & yogurt" bars like you get in the grocery store :) but it's like a cross between cake and a cookie bar (more solid than cake, but not as solid as bars) but healthier. I thought after trying it that it needed more flavor, but it seemed the next day it had more flavor?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      Thanks for posting this. My girls & I really like this for a great "on-the-go" breakfast. It's not too sweet, and is full of healthy stuff. I'll be making these lots!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      These were great! For my dried fruit, I used chopped Real Fruit fruit snacks! It was something different but delcious! They melted but then regained texture when they were back at room temperature! As a tip, I would grease the pan really well as mine didn't come to easily probaly because I didn't grease it enough. Other than that, it was great! Thanks for the recipe MommyMakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      These were pretty good. I think the amount of leavening tasted alright, but I had very sour yogurt. I used a cup of dried apples and 2/3 cup dried apricots. I recommend the apricots. It kind of stuck to the pan and was very coarsely grained, but as a breakfast food it was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      I made these tonight with good results. I only baked them for 30 min. as they were quite brown at that point. My husband thinks they are good. I also omitted the nuts (my daughter can't have them) and used dried blueberries and raisins. The real test will be to see if my daugther eats them for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      As we don't have juice concentrate in the UK, I subbed half apple juice and half honey. They remind me a lot of bread pudding - which is no bad thing! With 3 8.15am lectures this semester, breakfast doesn't necessarily happen but I'd prefer to have a homemade bar like this than buy two of the "breakfast" bars at the corner shop. I suspect that making 6 from the mixture will make a better breakfast though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I made these to freeze and pack in the kids lunches and they are so good. I used a tropical dried fruit mix with pineapple, mango and papaya for the fruit and banana yogurt instead of plain. I was also out of apple juice and used tangerine instead. it was easy to sub in the ingredients I had on hand for a yummy treat. Thanks for posting, I have added this to my OAMC collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      I made these today! I substituted applesauce for the oil and egg whites for the whole egg. It's a little dry this way, but my sister and I love them! I'm hoping my kids will eat them up too! But this is a "keeper" recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yogurt Fruit Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.9
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    20%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 27.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 219.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites