17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these for my new sugar free diet. I followed directions exactly, and used dried apple and cranberry pieces. I didn't have it in the oven long -less than 30 min and they were already way too browned. They were overdone and dry, with a bland flouriness to them. I may try this again, with less cooking time, maybe more applesauce and some oatmeal, and some protein powder. We did eat them for breakfasts, but were not crazy about them.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyceJoann January 28, 2008

This is a great starter recipe or "idea recipe" as I call it. There are a lot of ways to change it and make it your own. I found it got a little too fluffy so next time I will half the soda and powder. This had a great taste and I can't wait to try different combinations of fruits! I'm already thinking of playing with the flour too maybe making it half oat flour - yum! I kept half fresh and froze half, I can see myself making several batches at a time to freeze!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokedownrage December 27, 2007

I'll have to try these again another time and try to rate them higher. My main "issue" with these is that the recipe said to bake for 45-50 minutes. I checked on mine after 27 minutes and they were quite brown. Thus they ended up being quite dry whereas I had anticipated them being moist like other reviewers had described. I made these exactly as described using a tropical fruit mix, which was perfect since they came in small bits that worked out very nicely. I omitted the nuts since my kids don't really like nuts in their baked goods. They were okay straight from the oven, but I tossed the leftovers because they were just too dry.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers September 30, 2007

This recipe makes a batch of fabulous little snack cakes, perfect for a breakfast or tea-time treat. I followed all the dry ingredient suggestions - using apricots and currents as my dried fruit mix because that's what I happened to have on hand. For me the nuts are a must, but the cake could certainly work just fine without them. I do not keep juice concentrate in the house as a norm, so I decided to juice an orange and add a bit of honey to thicken and sweeten it before adding it to the yogurt. I added 1 Tbsp of olive oil...it seemed sufficient to me. Because my oven heats unreliably I always begin to check any quick bread type of baking item at about 25 minutes and my cake needed only 35 minutes total (using basic toothpick method). The end result was moist, light and nicely golden colored. I enjoyed the blend of the yogurt, OJ and apricot flavors with "MommyMakes" suggested spices. This is a definite keeper recipe!! I look forward to making it again - planing ahead of time to mix different flavors of fruit, yogurt and juices together with the same recipe guidelines. It is a quick, easy and delightful treat with a no-guilt aftertaste!! THANKS.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free April 29, 2007

I messed these up. My oven was at 400 degrees and I forgot to put it down. Then I set the timer for 45 minutes and left them. So... they burned. The bottoms were ok but the tops were way too far gone. So I cut off the ends and sliced the tops off. Since the flavor is great I cubed it up and put it in a big ziploc to use as the base for bread pudding. I recommend these because the taste is lovely. But I'd recommend that you check your temp! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 09, 2007

I am sorry to say that these haven't worked very well for me. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used two egg whites instead of one egg, which had already been tried by another reviewer. They turned out quite bland and it seems (and tastes) like there's too much rising agents in the batter (and I am quite sure I have used the right amounts). 1 ts of baking soda seems a lot for only 1 1/2 c. flour, escecially if you also put in 1/2 ts of baking powder. And my bars were cooked after only 25 minutes, not the 45-50 indicated, but on top of the ingredient lists, it's written it takes 30 minutes counting 5 minutes prep, so is 45-50 minutes a typo? I am unfortunately not sure we 'll eat the whole batch

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne La Quebecoise November 09, 2005

I made these last night and really liked them, but with the following changes: (MOST IMPORTANT - baking time in recipe is too long)<br/>1) I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain<br/>2) I used only raisins since my children don't like other dried fruit<br/>3) I used 2 tablespoons of honey and 2 tablespoons of water instead of apple juice concentrate, I was worried this would not make it moist enough so I added a few more spoons of yogurt too<br/>4) I checked the oven after 20 minutes, saw the top was browned and took it out, and it was baked perfectly<br/><br/>I will make these again and experiment with other changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbljbl September 24, 2013

This recipe needed sugar. It was very bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vitat August 04, 2013

This is a lovely light snack or as suggested quick breakfast. My toddler liked it and my diabectic MIL loved it and asked for the recipe. I used grated, fresh, ginger because I feel that it gives better flavour than the powdered kind. The nuts, ginger and mixed peel flavours go so well together. Very quick to pull together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WizzyTheStick March 29, 2007

I used dried cranberries and cherries. I also used white grape juice instead of apple juice concentrate. I used a little more than 1/4 cup. I also added some vanilla extract. I spread it into a 7x11-inch dish and baked it for 45 minutes and it came out perfect. The title is a bit deceptive, as you're expecting the "fruit & yogurt" bars like you get in the grocery store :) but it's like a cross between cake and a cookie bar (more solid than cake, but not as solid as bars) but healthier. I thought after trying it that it needed more flavor, but it seemed the next day it had more flavor?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead October 28, 2006
Yogurt Fruit Bars