13 Reviews

Really good coffee cake, but needs a little more filling. Took a little while to make, but was very tasty. I added some chopped pecans to the topping and left out the extra 2 Tbsp of flour. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 January 23, 2010

I didn't have any yogurt so substituted my FF sour cream. Didn't have the cranberry sauce either so substituted 2 cans, (20 0z each) of Wilderness Cherry Pie filling. It smelt SO good while baking and was a very pretty presentation. I followed everything else to the tee! The taste was WONDERFUL. Can't wait to try some variations of this same theme of coffeecake. Well done kittycatmom ! Thanks for posting !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mantarae April 20, 2014

For those who found the filling lacking, cans of cranberries have shrunk from 16 oz. to 14.5 oz or less. I liked the coffeecake I ended up with since I had to make a few changes. I only had a 6 oz cup of FF yogurt so I made up the balance with low fat sour cream. I worked but I think 2% or full fat yogurt would be a better choice. I loved the addition of vanilla to the topping. It really added a new dimension to streusel. Since my 9 x 13 pan was in use, I made my cake in an 11 x 7 pan and made 3 nice size muffins with the rest of the batter. I used all the cranberries in the cake and just the streusel on the muffins. This was well received and I can see many variations in my future. Nice recipe, kittycatmom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigShotsMom October 06, 2012

M'lady, would you like some cake and coffee? Yes, that would be quite nice. M'lady would like some cream? Yes, thank you. Anything else, M'lady? Hmmmm, yes, perhaps you could rub my back? Yes, M'lady. Husband baked and serviced.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 25, 2012

Yummy! I used an entire can of organic whole berry cranberry sauce and Stoneyfield French vanilla yogurt. Everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 19, 2011

I used some leftover Cranberry-Orange sauce as the filling for this coffee cake and it came out delicious! I made it a bit healthier by using half wheat pastry flour for the cake and only 3/4 cup sugar. For the streusel I used only 1/3 cup sugar, cut the cinnamon by half, and added in 1/4 cup of ground walnuts. Wonderful. Thanks, kittycatmom [Made for The I Recommend Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird December 02, 2011

I had gotten this recipe in an email from King Arthur many moons ago and had never tried it. I had a can of whole berry cranberry sauce that needed using up and decided to give it a go. I substituted full fat sour cream for the yogurt, used the whole can of cranberry sauce (both need using up) and I could not believe how wonderful it turned out! I also cut the baking soda and baking powder in half and yes, in case you are wondering, it raised up high and mighty. Most recipes have WAY too much leavening. I also just mixed the topping with my fingers! This has got to be one of the best coffeecakes I have ever made! Kittycatmom, Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose November 15, 2011

What a fantastic coffeecake! The streusel was delicious. I used blueberries instead of the cranberry sauce. Everyone loves this moist, flavourful coffeecake. :) Definitely a make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain September 28, 2009

Made this for my other half to take to a special work-related get-together last Saturday & it was well received! I still have bags of frozen cranberries on hand so made my own much-thickened, citrus-flavored cranberry sauce to use here, but other than that, I followed the recipe! Definitely a keeper recipe, & thanks for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 29, 2009

Love this one! Since DH is the only one who likes cranberries here (though he would have been happy to eat the whole thing) I used a fancy whole cherry jam as the filling. On note of another review I made a half batch of the streusel and it was perfect for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 May 16, 2009
Yogurt-Cranberry Coffeecake