Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yogurt Cheese (Labneh) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yogurt Cheese (Labneh)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2008

      I did this with fat-free American yogurt. I had not heard of adding the salt either, but I agree that it is a great addition. I let mine drain for about 24 hours and from 3 cups of yogurt I got about 1 cup of yogurt cheese and about 1.75 cups of whey. I used most of the 'cheese' in stuffed mushrooms. I looked around for ways to use the whey and I'll definitely do some more experimenting, but this time I used it to make grits (with some added water, salt, and pepper; plus a tiny bit of parmesan at the end). They were amazing grits...they were soft and creamy and tasted cheesy and rich, when really they were quite light and healthy. I'll definitely be doing this frequently and trying out new uses and other types of yogurt. The labneh and whey are so much more interesting separate than they are together as yogurt!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2004

      i really loved this i made the cheese ball's and covered it with extra virgin olive oil, the was yummy spread over pumpernickle baguetts,with olives and garlic

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      I've made this yogurt cheese and it's really good, although I had to use just plain (not Greek) yogurt. I use it on crackers, instead of cream cheese. Very creamy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Awesome! I usually half the recipe, but it's great! I haven't made the labneh balls yet, but I will have to try that too. I have also used Homemade Yogurt to make my own yogurt first and it's fantastic, but requires a little longer straining time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Oh. Mah. Gawd. AMAZING. I made the cheese balls and ate a bunch with olives and sourdough and it ROCKED. So easy, so cheap and above all nutritious AND delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Made this with some homemade yogurt so I ended up having to drain it about two full days, then added spinch dip mix, and I have to say it is wonderful. It never got firm enough to make the cheese balls, so next time I will use some store bought yogurt as it is firmer to start out with. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Made this last night before going to bed using plain ordinary yogurt and it turned out great! I spread it over some toasted raisin bread for breakfast this morning

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Fantastic. Made a batch, rolled in Zatar and jarred with olive oil. Very pretty. Oil hasnt clouded and the colour of the herbs and sesame seeds pressed onto the cheese is very pretty. I will make little jars of them for Christmas gifts. My 3 and 5 year old kids have almost polished off this batch, I have had to hide the last of them for me and hubby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      This is so good. i can't have regular cheese, so this is a wonderful substitution. i used coffee filters and my colander instead of suspending it. Lovely. The consistency changes the longer you leave it sitting. It goes from sour cream texture to a cream cheese like texture. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Loved this cheese. I seasoned mine with cracked pepper and enjoyed snacking on the cheese balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I've made yogurt cheese before but I never thought about adding salt. Great touch! Makes a huge difference. I'm chilling the Yogurt cheese balls right now, but I had one with olive oil, lemon and cumin as a sample. Fantastic! I'm really trying to control myself and NOT get any more samples. Thanks Evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I've drained yogurt before to use like a cream cheese type spread but never thought to salt it first and was never introduced to the idea of making the "yoghurt cheese balls" - GREAT IDEA!!! I made a 1/2 batch with plain store brand Amer. yogurt (I want to try the Greek when I can find it) - I took the suggestion of a clean cotton cloth (a well worn tiny T-shirt)- in the past I have used paper towels...the T worked much better (and CAN be rinsed and re-used; much more enviro-friendly then my paper towel waste!!!) I added coarse pepper, rolled them in finely chopped walnuts and served them with spinach salad. Next time I will try different seasonings...as evelyn/athens stated "sky's the limit"!! A wonderfully versatile recipe - Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This is so cool! I love food science. It's fun, it's cool, and you get to eat your experiment afterward. I only made one cup of yogurt's worth, but it worked beautifully. And yummy! I spread it on a clementine. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      Loved this recipe! I made half of it and let it sit overnight in the fridge. Today I packed it away in lunches with pita chips. Very good! Made for zwt 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I've been making this even before I ever found recipezaar but I've never put salt in it. My mom puts it on as a base in lavash sandwiches for a snack for us. I usually suspend mine for about 3 days. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I make this all the time but just realized I'd not yet reviewed it. Five stars all the way! Easy, surprisingly flavorful, versatile, and popular with even the toddler...what more could I ask?! I try to keep a small jar in the fridge but it always goes so quickly that I have no idea how long it would really keep, lol. I can't get Greek yogurt here so have to settle for plain American style, but even so it's a wonderful addition to any meal. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      This is so easy and so good! I made a half recipe using plain grocery store non-fat yogurt. I love the tangy flavor and creamy texture - perfect on toasted bread. I will definately be making this again, and experimenting with different flavors. What a great way to sneak more yogurt into your diet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yogurt Cheese (Labneh)

    Serving Size: 1 (12 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2325.4 mg
    96%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Greek yogurt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites