Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yogurt Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yogurt Cheese

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2002

      I have a similar recipe (#34119) where I use drained yogurt as a fruit dip, adding cinnamon and maple syrup. I tried your recipe today using 1/4 cup plain yogurt, and draining for 2 hours. A pinch of cinnamon and 2 drops of vanilla extract after draining made for a simply gorgeous dip for apples. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      This works great. I have several recipes that call for yogurt cheese and now I can make them. Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Mirj will be none too pleased when she gets word via Pony Express that I used a full fat plain yogurt to make the cheese. A coffee filter worked best for me. Yummy and thanks for posting! cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      This technique has really made a difference in my life! I LOATHE fat-free cream cheese---it tastes like spackling compound---but hate the thought of all the fat in the regular kind, so...Yogurt Cheese has solved the problem! I use it just like cream cheese, and love it. To drain, I use cheesecloth---can be washed and re-used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I use yogurt cheese when I am making yogurt ice cream. It comes out thick and tasty...the "tang" has been removed. I use a coffee filter instead of paper towels...(the filter holds better when it gets wet) It can be used in place of sour cream on baked potatoes. Wonderful condiment!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      I love the yogurt cheese. Thanks for the recipe. Does anyone know if there is any use for the liquid?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      How much yogurt cheese do you get from 1 1/2 cups of yogurt?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      Wonderful! Perfectly low fat sour cream. I used a cheese cloth instead of paper towel. Thanks Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      I also use this as a replacement for sour cream. Very versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      This worked great in my recipe calling for cream cheese. Thanks for saving me the fat cal. and the sodium grams...will be a keeper..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yogurt Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (46 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 28.9
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    22%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 32.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites