8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I served this still warm with dinner tonight for three of us. There is less than 1/2 loaf left! It's very light and tender. It rose very high, and the best part is that it has healthy ingredients. This will be a regular in our house.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan March 16, 2003

Excellent, soft texture. I used some past-due flavored yogurt, which maybe added a little extra sweetness, but not a distraction at all. This will be a keeper recipe for me for using leftover yogurt. Thanks, chia!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise April 19, 2004

This turned out really lovely, great texture and rose really nicely, one I'll make again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** June 28, 2011

06/21/07--If I could give this bread ten stars, I would do so. Today I made this for a second time in the bread machine. I used Greek Gods yogurt which is very thick, so I only used 3/4 cup yogurt and 1/4 cup milk to thin it. I also added a teaspoon of diastatic malt powder (from King Arthur). I baked it in a 9 x 5 pan at 375 degrees for 40 minutes. I tented it with foil the last 15 minutes in the oven. It was fabulous! It was light, with a great texture and made a huge, high loaf! This loaf turned out far superior to the loaf I made in the Kitchenaid in the first trial. I think this is going to be our new "house" bread. It has just the right balance of healthy, fiber-rich ingredients to "unhealthy", but much desired, white flour!!! Thank you again!.......... This was wonderful bread! I actually made it up in my Kitchenaid and baked it in the oven according to LonghornMama's instructions (375 degrees for about 35 minutes in my oven). I used King Arthur's white whole wheat flour, so it was a mellow color with a nice light taste and a lovely texture. The yogurt I used was very thick, so I ended up having to add a bit of extra water to make the dough come up to the right consistency. I also did not use all of the flour. Next time, I will probably thin the yogurt with milk before I start. So thank you Chia for posting your great recipe and thank you LonghornMama for your kind advice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose June 21, 2007

I had a lot of homemade yogurt to use up, so when I saw this recipe, I thought I'd give it a whirl. I have never made bread with yogurt before, so I was curious to find out how it would turn out. It was delicious, and so healthy, too! I will definitely be baking this again. Thanks for posting, Chia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit February 17, 2007

Fabulous light textured bread. I used my homemade yogurt and loved the wheat flour in it. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook May 01, 2006

Very good, made with healthy ingredients. I used the breadmaker for kneading and rising, then baked in a loaf pan. Tender loaf that keeps well, with a faint taste of yogurt that reminded me of sourdough. Thanks, chia, for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 03, 2006

I have to admit this was just okay to me, but my family is begging me to make it again. I will make it again because they are so insistent. It's a soft bread with a good crust. We had it with chicken soup one night. Thanks for making my family happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntMare February 13, 2005
Yogurt Bread