Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yogurt Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yogurt Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2003

      I served this still warm with dinner tonight for three of us. There is less than 1/2 loaf left! It's very light and tender. It rose very high, and the best part is that it has healthy ingredients. This will be a regular in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      Excellent, soft texture. I used some past-due flavored yogurt, which maybe added a little extra sweetness, but not a distraction at all. This will be a keeper recipe for me for using leftover yogurt. Thanks, chia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      This turned out really lovely, great texture and rose really nicely, one I'll make again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      06/21/07--If I could give this bread ten stars, I would do so. Today I made this for a second time in the bread machine. I used Greek Gods yogurt which is very thick, so I only used 3/4 cup yogurt and 1/4 cup milk to thin it. I also added a teaspoon of diastatic malt powder (from King Arthur). I baked it in a 9 x 5 pan at 375 degrees for 40 minutes. I tented it with foil the last 15 minutes in the oven. It was fabulous! It was light, with a great texture and made a huge, high loaf! This loaf turned out far superior to the loaf I made in the Kitchenaid in the first trial. I think this is going to be our new "house" bread. It has just the right balance of healthy, fiber-rich ingredients to "unhealthy", but much desired, white flour!!! Thank you again!.......... This was wonderful bread! I actually made it up in my Kitchenaid and baked it in the oven according to LonghornMama's instructions (375 degrees for about 35 minutes in my oven). I used King Arthur's white whole wheat flour, so it was a mellow color with a nice light taste and a lovely texture. The yogurt I used was very thick, so I ended up having to add a bit of extra water to make the dough come up to the right consistency. I also did not use all of the flour. Next time, I will probably thin the yogurt with milk before I start. So thank you Chia for posting your great recipe and thank you LonghornMama for your kind advice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I had a lot of homemade yogurt to use up, so when I saw this recipe, I thought I'd give it a whirl. I have never made bread with yogurt before, so I was curious to find out how it would turn out. It was delicious, and so healthy, too! I will definitely be baking this again. Thanks for posting, Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Fabulous light textured bread. I used my homemade yogurt and loved the wheat flour in it. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      Very good, made with healthy ingredients. I used the breadmaker for kneading and rising, then baked in a loaf pan. Tender loaf that keeps well, with a faint taste of yogurt that reminded me of sourdough. Thanks, chia, for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      I have to admit this was just okay to me, but my family is begging me to make it again. I will make it again because they are so insistent. It's a soft bread with a good crust. We had it with chicken soup one night. Thanks for making my family happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yogurt Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (912 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1073.6
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    15%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 1230.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 196.5 g
    65%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites