Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yoghurt Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yoghurt Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2013

      Great easy cake. I had some yoghurt that really needed to be used up and I had also accidently overcooked some apricots. What I did differently was I used 2 eggs, 1x double yolk egg and 1x egg white, probably meaning closer to 4 eggs, added vanilla, wish I'd added lemon like another reviewer mentioned and used raw sugar. I beat the eggs and then added the sugar, oil and vanilla and beat those for a couple of minutes until creamy than added the sifted flour in and mixed on low until all mixed. I was worried about overworking the gluten in the flour by mixing it all for 3 minutes. I poured it into my large rectangular tin that I had butter very well and then placed the apricots on top. Cooked for about 40 minutes but it did get a little browner on the top and bottom than I hoped, I will make sure to keep the temp low. I cooked till it was springing back in the middle. The cake came up beautifully over the apricots. Given that I was making it was a party I needed it to be right. It was very light and fluffy, next time I may try beating it all together, maybe it would be more dense, but today I made exactely what I had hoped for. About 15-16 serves. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Absolutely awesome recipe. Did same as some of the others and added vanilla essence. I also made mixture as muffins baking for 24 mins Thx for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This cake came out fabulous! I added a tsp vanilla and lemon zest. Fantastic! I made half a recipe in a loaf tin so had to adjust cooking time. I used plain greek yoghurt but I'm going to try flavoured yoghurt next time. Will definitely make it regularly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      This cake is great! I increased the recipe by doubling it and I added a little vanilla. However, other reviews said it took longer to cook than was mentioned, not so for me. I cooked mine in a sheet pan and it was slightly overdone at 40 minutes. But it tastes great. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      The first time I made this I found the cake was still uncooked in the centre. I added 20 minutes to the cooking time and it was perfect. I add grated lime zest and small pieces of mango to the mixture. It's a big favourite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      so very awesome.. I followed the recipe to a tee.... the only difference is that I served with whipped cream and a sprinkle of shaved chocolate... thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      I feel like I shouldn't rate this recipe because my attempt surely didn't do it justice. I didn't have self-raising flour so I added baking soda to all-purpose flour, but the cake just didn't rise. I also used raspberry yogurt that I had on hand. Although the cake didn't rise, the taste was great! I will try again using the right kind of flour and different yogurt flavours! Definetly worth another try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      Absolutely delicious cake - even better later on in the day. I subbed 1/2 the oil for apple sauce and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      How wonderful! This cake was really perfect in every way. Every time I bake a cake it turns into a disaster. But this cake came out the perfect shape, texture and taste. It looked beautiful and tasted so moist and could not have been easier to prepare. I dusted the top with icing sugar. My friends raved about it and want to cook it themselves. It was gone in 20 minutes before everyone got to try it! I used a circle tin and it turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      I had no butter but had some yoghurt and sour cream that needed to be used so searched for a muffin recipe and also searched under "cake" and I stumbled upon this one. I made a little bit less than half the recipe to just make 6 muffins. I just used 1 egg. I poured a little bit of batter in, then sprinkled on cinnamon sugar, then poured batter on top till it was 2/3 full in the muffin pan. I then sprinkled more cinnamon sugar on top and then used a toothpick and swirled it around. I baked it at 175C for 22 minutes. Since I didn't have any butter, while the muffins were baking I made a syrup (I make this all the time for my Middle-Eastern cakes)with 2 TBS water and 2 TBS sugar just by boiling it till the sugar dissolved. When the muffins were done I brushed the tops with the syrup (I normally would have used butter) and then sprinkled more cinnamon sugar on the tops. These came out soooo moist and sooo good!!! I was going to take a picture but I didn't grease the muffin pan good enough and they didn't come out very clean LOL... and then again, this recipe is for a cake and not a muffin like I did :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I made attempted to make this cake but failed ~:( To start off with I started making the recipe and then realised I didn't have any self-raising flour so used plain flour and added baking powder. Then I didn't know wot temperature to put the oven at as my oven goes by gas mark. So a bit of a disaster. No fault to the recipe though just to the baker concerned. I really want to attempt it again because I have tried ScarlettC's yoghurt cake and it was delicious!!! Anyone know what gas mark I would need to put my oven on?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2004

      A VERY EASY cake! I just added 1 teaspoon vanilla essence. The consistency is slightly different from a usual cake and maybe slightly heavier but VERY good! Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      This is how an artist must feel with a new white canvas: I immediately wanted to start adding things. But I didn't. I made this recipe EXACTLY as posted ;-). I added the ingredients to a large mixing bowl in the order given, beat at medium speed for 3 minutes and baked it for just over 1 hour at 350F. I am not a metric person, so I used the little calculation button to change the measurements to US-they were just right, because this cake came out perfect! It has a wonderful texture and a nice flavor-not bland. I did not even frost it, just served wedges with a sprinkling of Grand Marnier and a drizzle of chocolate syrup. My only problem was deciding what pan to use for baking. I am not sure what a "ring pan" is, so I used a 9 inch round cake pan, but I probably should have used a Bundt or angel food cake pan because the batter puffed way up over the top of the pan. Just a note: I used organic plain whole milk yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yoghurt Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 644.1
     
    Calories from Fat 276
    42%
    Total Fat 30.7 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 96.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 636.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 50.1 g
    200%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes