13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great easy cake. I had some yoghurt that really needed to be used up and I had also accidently overcooked some apricots. What I did differently was I used 2 eggs, 1x double yolk egg and 1x egg white, probably meaning closer to 4 eggs, added vanilla, wish I'd added lemon like another reviewer mentioned and used raw sugar. I beat the eggs and then added the sugar, oil and vanilla and beat those for a couple of minutes until creamy than added the sifted flour in and mixed on low until all mixed. I was worried about overworking the gluten in the flour by mixing it all for 3 minutes. I poured it into my large rectangular tin that I had butter very well and then placed the apricots on top. Cooked for about 40 minutes but it did get a little browner on the top and bottom than I hoped, I will make sure to keep the temp low. I cooked till it was springing back in the middle. The cake came up beautifully over the apricots. Given that I was making it was a party I needed it to be right. It was very light and fluffy, next time I may try beating it all together, maybe it would be more dense, but today I made exactely what I had hoped for. About 15-16 serves. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself January 10, 2013

Absolutely awesome recipe. Did same as some of the others and added vanilla essence. I also made mixture as muffins baking for 24 mins Thx for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl Pollock April 29, 2012

This cake came out fabulous! I added a tsp vanilla and lemon zest. Fantastic! I made half a recipe in a loaf tin so had to adjust cooking time. I used plain greek yoghurt but I'm going to try flavoured yoghurt next time. Will definitely make it regularly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Qu33nb33 May 26, 2008

This cake is great! I increased the recipe by doubling it and I added a little vanilla. However, other reviews said it took longer to cook than was mentioned, not so for me. I cooked mine in a sheet pan and it was slightly overdone at 40 minutes. But it tastes great. I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skronberg July 15, 2007

The first time I made this I found the cake was still uncooked in the centre. I added 20 minutes to the cooking time and it was perfect. I add grated lime zest and small pieces of mango to the mixture. It's a big favourite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glaswegian Robert May 12, 2007

so very awesome.. I followed the recipe to a tee.... the only difference is that I served with whipped cream and a sprinkle of shaved chocolate... thank you for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iluv2cook59 November 15, 2006

I feel like I shouldn't rate this recipe because my attempt surely didn't do it justice. I didn't have self-raising flour so I added baking soda to all-purpose flour, but the cake just didn't rise. I also used raspberry yogurt that I had on hand. Although the cake didn't rise, the taste was great! I will try again using the right kind of flour and different yogurt flavours! Definetly worth another try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy Canuck Cook August 19, 2006

Absolutely delicious cake - even better later on in the day. I subbed 1/2 the oil for apple sauce and it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy's Kitchen May 16, 2006

How wonderful! This cake was really perfect in every way. Every time I bake a cake it turns into a disaster. But this cake came out the perfect shape, texture and taste. It looked beautiful and tasted so moist and could not have been easier to prepare. I dusted the top with icing sugar. My friends raved about it and want to cook it themselves. It was gone in 20 minutes before everyone got to try it! I used a circle tin and it turned out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zainab23 March 30, 2006

I had no butter but had some yoghurt and sour cream that needed to be used so searched for a muffin recipe and also searched under "cake" and I stumbled upon this one. I made a little bit less than half the recipe to just make 6 muffins. I just used 1 egg. I poured a little bit of batter in, then sprinkled on cinnamon sugar, then poured batter on top till it was 2/3 full in the muffin pan. I then sprinkled more cinnamon sugar on top and then used a toothpick and swirled it around. I baked it at 175C for 22 minutes. Since I didn't have any butter, while the muffins were baking I made a syrup (I make this all the time for my Middle-Eastern cakes)with 2 TBS water and 2 TBS sugar just by boiling it till the sugar dissolved. When the muffins were done I brushed the tops with the syrup (I normally would have used butter) and then sprinkled more cinnamon sugar on the tops. These came out soooo moist and sooo good!!! I was going to take a picture but I didn't grease the muffin pan good enough and they didn't come out very clean LOL... and then again, this recipe is for a cake and not a muffin like I did :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
' =^..^= 'Ameera' =^..^= ' June 23, 2005
Yoghurt Cake