Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    1,078 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 1,078

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2013

      I did as the other reviewers suggested and added bread crumbs and cut back on the apple cider. My Family LOVED THIS, THEY ESPECIALLY ENJOYED THE SUGARY SWEET SAUCE ON TOP ;) I will definitly be making this dish much more often, thanks for posting a meatloaf that my family will actually eat ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      I was quietly excited when I found this receipe as the base meatloaf recipe is very similar to what I usually mix up myself. I thought the sauce would make a nice addition. It did not work. Not at all. Not even a little bit. The sauce is WAY too sweet and vinegary. There was no lovely meaty smell in my house as it was cooking, all I could smell was vinegar. My eyes watered when I opened the oven to remove the meatloaf. The flavour is so overpowering that I couldnt even remotely taste meatloaf anymore. It was just very sweet and sour. I will not be making this receipe again. If I was going to give advice here, it would be to just top it with BBQ sauce which would give it some acidity and some sweetness without being overpowering. Also to add some herbs and mustard to the meatloaf base to give it more flavour. The sauce totally stole the identity of the meatloaf here. If I wanted to eat something tasting of vinegar, sugar and ketchup, I would just spread that mix onto a slice of bread and not waste a pound and a half of meat which you wont be able to taste once you cooked it with that sauce. Very disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      This is probably the best tasting meatloaf I've ever had! I did have a little trouble with the texture, however, but it was probably my own fault. I found it to be a bit crumbly, but I'm suspecting it is because I didn't blend the mixture well enough and because I used gluten-free (gf) bread. I would probably recommend using gf bread crumbs instead of bread to make this gf. I used regular white vinegar instead of apple cider and green onions due to some food intolerances.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      I used a heavy pound of beef (maybe 1.25?), 1/3 c half and half, sautéed my onion in oil, added a 2 green onions that I had on hand, and used a crushed VERY dry piece of whole wheat bread. I mixed the sauce with 3.5 T brown sugar in it 2 hrs early, then just used half of it...the other half is in the freezer for next time. Loved it!!!<br/>***remove the meatloaf from the pan as soon as you take it out of the oven, otherwise it will suck up all of the fat and juices from the pan, making it very soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      10 stars if I could. Absolutely my favorite meatloaf, exactly as written (including FINELY chopping the onions - it doesn't fall apart). I bake mine in my broiler pan (both pieces), so that the juices drain to the bottom, and the sides brown nicely since they're exposed to the heat. The sauce is to die for. I've been making this recipe for years, and thought I'd already rated it. Everyone that has tried it just loves it. Thank you so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      This was very tasty, but a bit too sweet for my taste. I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly. It was very good, but next time I'll use less brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Meatloaf is not on my top 10 list, but this one can change that! HOLY COW! Not only is it easy it tastes fantastic. I was a little iffy on making the sauce, but gave it a chance and it's perfect. I originally made it for someone else - but making for me this next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      This was delicious! Next time I will follow the recipe to the t, I was in a hurry to make dinner that I failed to chop the onion finely, which I'm sure will make a huge difference, and the amount of meat I used was 1lb12oz only because I had previously packaged my groung meat before freezing. But my bf and I really liked it, especially the sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      I don't like meatloaf but my family does, so I gave this a try. It was good! Even I thought so!<br/>I did have a lot of liquid to drain off even though I added less liquid than the recipe called for (based on the reviews). I also used crunched up croutons for the bread for flavor and mixed the<br/>Sauce for the top up early and let it sit on the counter to mellow a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      While the taste was ok this loaf did NOT stay together and was very runny and liquidy. Will not add milk next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      This was my first time making a meatloaf and it was very tasty! I also substitued the slice of bread with 1/4c of bread crumbs. For the sauce I just added more brown sugar because I love sweet flavors. It turned out great! Will defiantly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      Made this last night, following the recipe religiously. Excellent! And the three-ingredient sauce was a revelation; can't wait to try it as a glaze for baked chicken thighs! (Surprised re: the absence of traditional seasonings--e.g., sage--for meatloaf; but the results were terrific.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      Very easy to make. This is my go to recipe for meatloaf. Everyone loves it. I have used ground turkey and extra lean ground beef with excellent results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      This was delicious. I didn't change a thing. My first time to make meatloaf, the whole family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      on't cook at all, I tried this recipe bc I know my bf loves meatloaf. So I thought it would be nice jester to make this for him. This recipe is fantastic!! It turned out very delicious best of all my boyfriend said this was the best meatloaf he has ever eaten! :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

    • on October 06, 2013

      Excellent!!! My husband is a diabetic and I'm doing weight watchers so I used 90/10 ground beef, fat free half and half and Italian bread crumbs. We both can have brown sugar so I was pretty excited about that. Great flavor and texture. Made with skinny mashed potatoes, green beans and a dinner roll. Since we both have crazy schedules I froze the leftovers in individual freezer containers so we mini frozen dinners when no one wants to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      Really yummy ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      I've made this a few times now, and quite frankly is delicious, either hot or cold (is great cold in sandwiches) Anyone who is a bit ho-hum about meatloaf should really try this, and they will fall in love with it all over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      Meat loaf is usually a little boring but this recipe is the best I've ever made! I added garlic to the meat but it really did not need it because it was so flavorful. My 3 year old grandson even raved about it. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 54

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.0
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    51%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 165.2 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1260.5 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites