1170 Reviews

I've been cooking for well over 35 years, and I had never made meat loaf. Strange, right? Mostly because all the meat loaf I had in my life tasted gamy or rotten in the middle. Only my grandmother's meat loaf was edible for me, and I was foolish enough not to get her recipe before she died. :( Fast forward to today, and my husband was craving meat loaf. We're also on a tight budget and I'm always looking for things to make that don't break the bank. Meatloaf has long had a reputation for budget friendliness, so I bit the bullet and I looked up some recipes online. This one just clicked for me as soon as I read it. I'm so glad I chose it, because my husband loves it so much that it's now in my regular repertoire of wallet-friendly meals.I used Whataburger spicy ketchup, which was all I had at the time, and that gives the loaf a terrific flavor. The recipe is solid.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AquariaTX April 27, 2014

We don't really have meatloaf in the UK, so I've never even tried it, let alone attempted to cook it. I went with this recipe because of all the fab reviews and because it appeared really easy. I followed the ingredients almost to the letter. The only change I made was to substitute mushroom soup for the cream as I didn't have any in (and I've not the first clue what half and half is! :0/)<br/>The result was very tasty, beautifully moist and so easy to prepare! I simmered the sauce before using it to make it richer and less acidic and it was the perfect combination to the meat. <br/>Quick, easy, tasty and cheap! Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Fitz November 28, 2013

This is a good meatloaf recipe, I just do not think it is the best I have had. I liked the sweet-tangy sauce on top, it is a nice change from just ketchup, but the meatloaf itself needed more flavor. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH May 29, 2013

Instead of mixed bread, i use *Ritz Crackers*..and top with thinnest slices of bacon/turkey or without. In a small bow mix together a combination of 1 tbsp brown sugar, 5 tbsp ketchup mix together and spread this topping all over the meat loaf before cooking. I always have great reviews with my meatloaf twist, so i decided to share with everyone else.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
6peaches April 21, 2013

I didn't care for the taste of this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative September 26, 2011

i hate to go against the majority, but DH and I did not care for this. too strong sweet and sour taste, we thought between all the additions and also the sauce, you could not taste the meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears September 13, 2011

Great! I used skim milk which worked fine. I would def double the sauce next time and maybe sweat the onions a bit before adding them to the meat mixture. Tx for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill April 11, 2011

For those who love ketchup with their meatloaf, this is an excellent recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pro home chef February 28, 2011

I used gluten-free bread, dairy-free creamer, and only 1/3 an onion. It was great! There was a lot of juice in the pan once it was done cooking, but the juice was delicious and made it very moist. Also, I put in the max of brown sugar so that the sauce wouldn't taste too much like vinegar and it worked great. Very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alexsummer123 January 19, 2011

This has been my picky 10 year old's favorite dish for years! I make it more low-carb friendly by substituting 1/4 cup of whipping cream, using lower carb wheat bread, and low-carb ketchup in the meatloaf, then low-carb ketchup and 1 tbsp of the Splenda/Brown Sugar blend in the sauce. I made the regular version for years and when I switched to lower carbs, the kids never noticed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather #6 September 22, 2010
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf