1116 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this! I've made it twice in one week. Here are my "improvements". Minced Garlic: 1 tblsp or more to taste Tomatoes: we love sun-dried tomatoes but can use diced canned. 1/2 cup or more to taste Mushrooms: the "asian" ones are most healthy - I use shitake - 1/2 cup or more to taste. We use ground venison (deer) so I saute onion, garlic, sliced mushrooms and chopped sun-dried tomatoes (comes in jar in seasoned olive oil - yum!) in olive oil before combining with rest of ingredients - that adds the (healthy) oil that the venison lacks. I decrease the ketchup to allow for the tomatoes. I also add 1/4 cup or more of flax seed - not detectable in final result but very good for your heart! Adjust amount of milk as needed. And I substitute BBQ sauce for some or all of the ketchup in the meatloaf and sauce. Thanks for great recipe Nita - Now we love meatloaf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greensouth August 30, 2009

I made this meatloaf and loved it..However during the summer I always cook my meatloaf in a halved zuchinni..I cut the zuchinni in half and core out the middle. Then put the meatloaf in the halved zuchinni! soo good keeps it nice and moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joyandreas August 29, 2009

Wow, what an amazing meatloaf. Normally I like to use a lot of ketchup to eat my meatloaf, but this was the first time I really didn't want to! Followed the recipe to a T for the most part using organic grass-fed beef (the only beef you should use!) and slightly more than 1/2c of half-and-half. I also used breadcrumbs (1/2c) instead of a slice of bread. The only thing I would change is slightly less apple cider vinegar for the sauce - maybe just 3 tbsp next time for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrongChef August 28, 2009

I have hated meatloaf my entire life as my mother made the most disgusting meatloaf EVER. My Husband loves meatloaf and I SO wanted to make it for him. I found this recipe and it is SOOOOOOOO gooooood!!!!! I LOVE it! I usually make 6 at a time, have one that night and freeze 5 for future dinners. I just make them as the recipe suggests, wrap tightly in foil, and freeze. Then defrost and reheat in the oven, and make more of the sauce the night we're going to eat it! Thank you for giving me a meatloaf my husband AND I love!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Samantha Pelch August 26, 2009

Oh my goodness this meatloaf is awesome! I am not a big fan of meatloaf and neither is my husband but we both loved it. My stepson went back for three servings and said it was outstanding. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp August 17, 2009

Ive been a member for 1 year and have a binder of absolutely my favorite meals and have never done a review. THIS MEATLOAF IS OVER THE TOP. I now keep all the ingredients in my cupboard just in case I'm craving the sweet Tang for my palette.If you stick with the exact measurements it will come out perfect every time. I did try to double the recipe and well wasn't the same. And dont try a regular onion you will be missing the best part.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfua August 15, 2009

My family really liked this! I did prepare it in 4 mini-loaves on a broiling pan so that the grease would drip off. I then spread the meatloaf with the sauce several times. I'll definitely prepare this again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glenajo August 14, 2009

I LOVE meatloaf and I have been super excited about every reciepe I have tried on reciepezaar. So with 575 rates of almost 5 stars I thought I was in for killer meatloaf. I was really dissapointed, it was ok, not great by any means. My hubby who always takes 2nds of my meatloaf said no 2nds, it just wasn't that good. Then said publish yours, your is better. It is ok, easy to follow, but could be much better in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawn_eyes888 August 13, 2009

We liked the meatloaf itself but my husband didn't care for the sauce. He is more of a plain ketchup guy. I will be using the meatloaf part again just topped differantly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmrehm99 August 11, 2009

The sauce was five stars; the meatloaf itself was three. I'll compromise with a rating of four. I will definitely use the sauce again, but I'll use my own meatloaf recipe. I'll probably try the sauce on other meats, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW August 04, 2009
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf