1103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow. Just...Wow.... I've been making meatloaf for years, eaten it in restaurants, had it a friends, even eaten Mom's. This was the best I've ever tasted. The whole family loved it, even my son, who won't eat anything. Great recipe. Already sharing it with friends, and planning to make again. Thanks very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fraserwag July 15, 2009

This meatloaf is awesome! After years of not eating meatloaf because I could never find a recipe that I liked and that didn't fall apart on me and after some constant nagging from by boyfriend I decided to try again. I ran across this recipe, I read through the reviews which were all good so I decided to give it a try. I now eat meatloaf again! THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitten caboodle July 14, 2009

I agree completely it's unique! I doubled the sauce so it was even more "saucy!" It has become one of my family favorite meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danilú July 10, 2009

I didn't think this would be good because of the milk. Boy was I wrong. This is the best I have ever made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bug975 July 09, 2009

What a delicious meatloaf! I threw in half of a green pepper VERY finely minced as well as 2 teaspoons of fresh minced garlic. As a substitution for the plain black pepper I used a ground peppercorn medley (as I always do). I used one half cup milk and slightly less than 4 tablespoons of ketchup inside the meatloaf. For the sauce I followed the recipe except substituted slightly less than 1 tablespoon of white balsamic vinegar for the 4 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. Also, I baked the loaf in a 9-inch pie pan lined with aluminum foil. It was incredibly delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drunk Chef July 06, 2009

I thought that the actual meatloaf here was EXCELLENT but the sauce was way too vinegary for us, and I only used 3 tbsp. I'll try 1.5 tbsp next time and see how that goes. In the loaf, I made it per recipe except for replacing the bread with 1/2c of italian breadcrumbs and the whole milk with 1/3c of 2%. As other reviewers suggested, I sauteed the onions with a little garlic powder, then mixed and patted it into an 8x8 baking dish. That worked great, it was finished right at an hour and was very, very moist. I drained off the excess fat with my turkey baster after it came out of the oven, and it sliced wonderfully after about 15 minutes of cooling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Lena* July 05, 2009

I did not tell DH I made a change to the meatloaf, but he noticed with the first bite. I will definintely do this again, and even next time take the suggestion to make an extra recipe of sauce to warm up and put over the meat. A#1 super delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sewing4Jesus July 01, 2009

I liked this but it was a little too vinegar-y for me. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 June 30, 2009

Amazing! I used half deer and half regular ground beef for mine and substituted Italian breadcrumbs instead of sliced bread and it was still excellent! I highly recommend this recipe in any variation! The vinegar makes it SO good! I served this with Oprah's Classic Mashed Potatoes and they have horseradish so the two dishes kinda battled for flavor but made a really good combo overall! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meri Beth June 24, 2009
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf