1115 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hands down the best meatloaf. The sauce really makes this recipe a cut above the rest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dorisfarrar October 20, 2009

This is absolutely the best meatloaf I have ever eaten (sorry, Mom). Love the onion flavor. And the sauce is awesome. You can sweeten to your taste. Wouldn't change anything in this recipe. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gail e. October 20, 2009

I absolutely love this recipe. I have made it quite a few times, and it is excellent. I did not use the sauce this time only because I ran out of ketchup. I did substitute wine for the apple cider vinegar one of the times I made it and it was a nice change, but I still like the original also. Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Permon1980 October 18, 2009

Absolutely delicious! The first time ever making meatloaf. So flavorful and the sauce was to die for!! Must've done something wrong since my meatloaf was falling apart but am going to try it again so see if I messed up a step. Even when it was falling apart, my boyfriend and I ate it all up! Thanks for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dusarahbear October 17, 2009

This was a great meatloaf.Very moist.The Sauce was a little overpowering but good at the same time ! I'll have to mess around with it..... Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman October 17, 2009

Very good. The meatloaf was nice and moist using 1/4 cup milk. The sauce was very different but tasty. I used the 4 Tbs. of brown sugar as one reader suggested but it was way to sweet. Next time I'll cut it down to 2 or 2 1/2 Tbs. and maybe cut the vinegar down to 3 Tbs. All in all a very nice flavorful meatloaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 16, 2009

Delicious! I didn't have any apple cider vinegar so I just used ketchup, brown sugar and a touch of powdered mustard and it turned out great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staci.spass October 16, 2009

We love it, especially how I always seem to have the ingredients on hand!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamainurbana October 15, 2009

We loved this meatloaf, so simple just the way meatloaf should be!! I left out the onion because DH hates them and added some garlic powder to make up the flavor. I also only added about a 1/4 cup milk, thanks to previous reviewer. I think the sauce makes this recipe special. I will be making this again and again. Thanks Nita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jake ryley'smommy October 13, 2009

First, I love the title of this recipe!!!! And 600 reviewers all ready told me that it had to be GREAT! I agree, this is the Classic 1950's style meat loaf that I grew up with and loved in meatloaf sandwiches as a kid. It's amazing how screwed up some meatloaf recipes can become! Cajun and Creole seasoning??? Four different types of ground meat??? Come on! Meatloaf is supposed to be an economy-based dinner, not a substitute for filet mignon. I love the sauce; it set up beautifully and was so tasty. And rather than adding a fresh onion, I did what my Prairie grandma did: I used dried onion bits instead, providing even more memories of the past. SO glad that out of all the Zaar recipes, I found this one! :) Served with mashed potatoes and steamed green beans; fresh apple crisp for dessert. Thanks, Nita, for adding to the quality of our lives and tummys.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef October 13, 2009
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf